This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Elephant House
Elephant House
Elephant House
Elephant House

Reviews of Elephant House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elephant House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elephant House.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & family
Dublin

"Elephant House review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Great location near the entrance to Addo.

It was excellent with the only exception being that it would be good if there was a better choice on the evening meal; especially for children" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Not the best part of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"This was certainly the 'worst' of the places we stayed at during our trip, but still fine for a few nights. It's actually more or less what we expected all stops to be like, but the rest just exceeded our expectations (in some cases by a lot).

The location of the lodge is fine and the room was big enough as well. We liked that there were a lot of toys for the kids to play with. This was the only stop where we encountered any bugs, but there were no mosquito nets for the kids. Our boy was stung several times on his face due to this.

The service at the lodge also has room for improvement. With the exception of Charlene at breakfast, none of the staff seemed interested in the guests. Diner was often very chaotic, whereby we once received two courses at once and nothing for the kids. Management was never around." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Mis R
Scotland

"Great Location"

5 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Elephant House was an amazing place. We stayed here for 5 nights. Excellent staff and service. If you needed anything someone was available to help you. The room was very clean, spacious and everything you would want was there. The meals were very very good, the set 3 course evening meal was excellent. We never looked at the menu we just waited to see what was served to us. All meals were all home cooked, no fancy trimmings, excellent. The area around Elephant House was well kept and very quiet.

Every morning when we went to go to our car, someone had the exterior cleaned for us. There were plenty of seating areas around the hotel if you wanted to sit down, chill out and have a beer or read a book.

Absolutely amazing place, quiet, relaxing. The place looked and felt really old and colonial, but the owner told me he started the build process 16 years ago, and it is an ongoing process. I advised him not to change anything about the hotel, it was amazing. I would love to go back and stay there again. Thank you so much for our excellent 5 night stay." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Crewe

"Elephant House review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"Colonial setting - very convenient for the park. Good quality large room .Staff appeared a little 'at sea' with customer service but were trying hard - it felt like they needed a manager.

Limited menu but tasty enough.

Recommend Crisscross tours for the safari visit." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Elephant House review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2013
"This was our last hotel - beautiful place. Room was huge and perfect for a family. Well located for Addo.

We didn't eat in each evening but went to a local restaurant and then to the Schotia Safari (which came with dinner).

Elephant House was a bit deserted (very few guests) and staff hard to track down. Lack of tea and coffee in the room was a bit disappointing - it was provided when asked but it would have been nice to have it in the room. Breakfasts were nice but not as extensive as the other places we stayed (all the others had a buffet option). We also had to cross over to another site - which was fine but felt a bit odd. We asked for laundry service but they forgot. Check out was also odd - took ages to find someone so we could pay!

Safari organised by Elephant House was great and they recommended we did the Schotia evening safari which was tremendous." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Aberdeen

"Elephant House review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2010
"We stayed at the Elephant house on our last night in South Africa. The rooms were great and the breakfast the next morning was also good.

Unfortunately we did not have enough time to fully enjoy the facilities." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs P
UK

"Elephant House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2007
"Bathroom needs refurbishment - shower head broken, lights not working, no shampoo. generally a bit shabby and run down.

Rushed to order and choose dinner immediately on arrival after 10 hours on the road. Service at dinner was haphazard by local staff, management not very evident - food not particularly good.

Stuggled to get a packed breakfast - but succeeded after three attempts. Did not seem geared up to people wanting an early start and to be out all day.

Other guests seemed to like the hotel as a place to relax and do nothing." See all these reviews: 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Showing 1-7 of 7
80%
7 reviews of Elephant House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Addo Elephant National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


River Bend Lodge

River Bend Lodge

Located on a private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park Riverbend Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to discover Addo.


92% (5 reviews)
Gorah Elephant Camp

Gorah Elephant Camp

A beautiful safari camp set within Addo Elephant Park. Lovely tented suites and great game viewing make this a great stop along South Africa's glorious Garden Route.


100% (4 reviews)
Addo Main Camp

Addo Main Camp

Addo Rest Camp offers a variety of self-catering accommodation types to suit all tastes. Overlooking a floodlit waterhole, the camp allows guests to get a closer view of the elephants in the park.


93% (3 reviews)
Camp Matyholweni

Camp Matyholweni

An easily accessible safari camp in Addo Elephant Park, Matyholweni offers self-catering family cottages, as well as access to the nearby town of Colchester.


100% (1 review)
Camp Fig Tree

Camp Fig Tree

Camp Fig Tree is a luxurious lodge located just outside Addo Elephant Park. It is well situated for visits to the park itself.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa