This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H & Family from Roke

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Our Easter 2014 trip

South Africa between 4 Apr 2014 and 17 Apr 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was even better than our last one - and we are already hoping to go again next year.

South Africa is perfect for families - the people are so friendly, the food and accommodation outstanding and the activities amazing. Driving around is easy and its great value for money. It just gets better on every visit."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Kwandwe is excellent for families"

3 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2014
"We had a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our lodge was amazing (huge with separate rooms for us and the children, an immense bathroom and a lovely plunge pool on the deck).

The staff were very hospitable, the food great and the drives spot on (we saw lion cubs, cheetah cubs, rhino, elephant, lion roaring, and lots of other animals). Our guide and tracker were a brilliant team and we learned a huge amount.

We wouldn't hesitate to go back (our youngest asked if we could before we had even left!). Really fabulous family-friendly place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Happy to be back at Hog Hollow"

4 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2014
"This is our second visit and just as wonderful as the last year. We stayed a little longer (4 nights) as there is just so much to do in the area and the lodge is so friendly. Room was delightful, staff are brilliant and the food delicious. Carmen, the manager, was ever so helpful sorting out bookings for us. It is a great place to stay with kids as they have lots of nice touches for them - cookies and milk, beach towels and toys, etc. We didn't go horse riding this year but did last year and it was great.

What we love about this area is there is so much to do - The Elephant Sanctuary, The Monkey Sanctuary and the Bird Park. Storm River is a great day out (try a short walk along the Otter Trail - the views are awesome). We also spent some time at Robberg which was stunning. The highlight was a walk with a cheetah for those of us taller than 1.5 meters. Incredible experience.

So Hog Hollow plus the activities make for a truly great stay. We will be back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House stay"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2014
"This was our first visit and we loved it. The team were really friendly, our family suite delightful and the pool refreshing (it was over 35 degrees centigrade in early April.....). The food was delicious - and the afternoon tea a treat.

Its located right near the excellent Drotsky museum (fascinating insights into the history of the area. We'd have liked to spend more time here (we only had 2 nights)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Fabulous stay at Grootbos Private Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2014
"We LOVE Grootbos! It's a stunning place. This was our second visit and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

It's one of the top lodges in South Africa - even though it doesn't have a single one of the big five. What is does have is a fabulous setting above Walker Bay, lovely fynbos surrounding it, fantastic guides and staff and some of the best food we have ever eaten in the whole world (and we have been to lots of places). The Garden Lodge we stayed in was huge (two floors, two bathrooms, kitchenette, two sun decks, open fire....). We just loved it all.

We did lots of the same things we did on our last visit - horse riding, fynbos safari, visiting the caves, walk along the beach. We also did the social responsibility tour which was truly inspiring. Jo, Dickson, Anecke and Princess were all fabulous. And the kids activities were great (its not why we go but our youngest loved it this year). Definitely a top place to stay.

If there was a six star rating for such places they would get it easily."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Mar 2013 trip

South Africa between 28 Mar 2013 and 11 Apr 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant time - none of us wanted to come home!

It was really easy to travel around, all the hotels were good or brilliant and easy to find and we managed to do everything but Table Mountain (long queue on Easter Monday that the children couldn't have handled).

We found everyone we met really helpful and friendly and can't wait to go back. 12 out of 10 for a holiday (and we have had some pretty great ones in the past).

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - its all be great. Thanks for all your help!"

Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"We had two rooms looking out on Table Mountain - both rooms were well-appointed and good for both the children and adults - we had two rooms next door to each other.

Meals were excellent - only challenge was on Easter Monday when the hotel was clearly the place to have brunch. It would have helped us if the hotel has warned us that it was likely to be busy as it was hard to get a table and the service was really poor (the staff found it hard to cope with so many people)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Grootbos Private Nature Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2013
"We thought Grootbos was FABULOUS! From are Garden Lodge which was huge to the activities which were well-organised to the great meals.

All the staff were really helpful and hospitable and the activities were brilliant - even our youngest loved the Fynbos safari with Jo as our guide (she was great).We could have stayed longer! If we go again we would spend less time in Cape Town (2 nights rather than 4) and more time here (4 nights rather than 2).Had to be one of the highlights of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2013
"It was the middle of an arts fesitival and the road the Rosenhof was one was closed which was a bit of a challenge but solved by a friendly traffic officer (who escorted us direct to the gate).

Lovely room, great food and wonderful breakfasts."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2013
"Another highlight of the trip - we loved Hogs Hollow.

The room wasn't as swish as Grootbos but still great and the staff were wonderful. Food was also great and lots of brilliant activities on the doorstep. Horse riding was a highlight as was the Elephant Sanctury, Birds of Eden and Monkey Sancutary.

Could have stayed longer here too! Very family friendly and relaxed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant House

Elephant House

"Elephant House review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2013
"This was our last hotel - beautiful place. Room was huge and perfect for a family. Well located for Addo.

We didn't eat in each evening but went to a local restaurant and then to the Schotia Safari (which came with dinner).

Elephant House was a bit deserted (very few guests) and staff hard to track down. Lack of tea and coffee in the room was a bit disappointing - it was provided when asked but it would have been nice to have it in the room. Breakfasts were nice but not as extensive as the other places we stayed (all the others had a buffet option). We also had to cross over to another site - which was fine but felt a bit odd. We asked for laundry service but they forgot. Check out was also odd - took ages to find someone so we could pay!

Safari organised by Elephant House was great and they recommended we did the Schotia evening safari which was tremendous."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team