This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P & family from Dublin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Family trip to SA in June/July 2019

South Africa between 22 Jun 2019 and 14 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time in SA. it is a truly beautiful and spectacular country.

In hindsight, we regret not spending longer in Plettenberg Bay and would also have loved to spend a night or two in Prince Albert. At the expense of either Swellendam or Oudtshoorn; both of which towns were not as memorable.

Tracy was very helpful and gave great advice. If we travel to Africa again, we plan to use Expert Africa and have recommended it to several friends.
This was our second time to use Expert Africa. We travelled to Namibia in 2016.

Thank again"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Lovely guesthouse in a pleasant town."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Mooiplaas Guesthouse

"Mooiplaas Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"It was very quiet staying in June. Near the bustling town of Oudtshoorn.

Good launch pad to the Caves and to travel via Schwartzberg to Prince Albert on a day trip"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Elephant House

Elephant House

"Elephant House review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Great location near the entrance to Addo.

It was excellent with the only exception being that it would be good if there was a better choice on the evening meal; especially for children"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Fynbos Ridge Country House

Fynbos Ridge Country House

"Fynbos Ridge Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"We loved this place: it felt very much like home.

Friendly understated service. Lovely gardens; peaceful and close to Plennenberg.

We regret not spending more time there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"This is a very remote location; about 50km drive on a dirt road from a main road.

The night sky was amazing and we saw whales in the ocean. The cottages themselves are a bit run down but clean and the food options for dinner limited to one restaurant with no children's menu and one price that was relatively expensive (c. R2000 for 3 adults plus 2 children).

It is important to plan a visit to de Hoop better than we did and bring provisions."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"This place was beautiful with gorgeous ocean views.

Our only issue was that we ( 2 parents plus 3 children) were given a huge honeymoon style room for us plus a 2 bedroom family suite for the 3 children. We could all have easily fitted into the suite at a saving of the cost of one room and we cannot understand why this was not offered.

The town was lovely and the location of the Guesthouse is spectacular. I would totally recommend this to anyone to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team