This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge

Reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

67 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Frans Indongo Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Frans Indongo Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

White Rhino

100% success

Oryx

67% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 67
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2022
"This was a very nice little surprise on our way back to the airport. The property is just beautiful, with lush landscaping and water features flowing throughout the property. The restaurant and lounge area was gorgeous and comfortable–decorated in the classic, vintage safari lodge style that we love.

It was a wonderful place for children – they had a large bin of toys available in the lounge for kids. At meals they had kids placemats and cups (Spiderman) which I thought was thoughtful. The food was good overall. The deck area is a nice place to watch the antelope visit the waterhole at sunset. The room was very comfortable and they had a nice setup for our son, with a pullout sofa bed with mosquito netting for our son. The staff was very nice and welcoming.

We did one game drive – it is a different feel after Etosha as the land is much smaller than the other reserves we visited, but we still had fun tracking rhinos and were able to get out of the vehicle for a bush walk in which we got very close on foot to three white rhino. This was really incredible and a very pleasant surprise. The guide was not the most knowledgable in that he couldn't answer any history questions about the property but he was very nice and did a great job finding rhino for us and sharing the knowledge he had.

We would definitely recommend Frans Indongo as a wonderful stopping point on the way to or from Etosha." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

3 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"pleasant lodge "

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Nice interior decoration, a lodge with charm" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Nice finish at Indongo"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"The room was a bit of a challenge with the four of us (including a 2 and 4 year old) and no separate bedrooms.

Otherwise, everything was great." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss G
Thetford

"Pleasant place to say"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"Nice place to stay with very friendly staff. Well decorated rooms and facilities.

Did not see much on evening game drive despite plenty of searching, but that is the luck of going out game viewing.

Food was very good but portions sizes were very large so difficult to finish 3 course meal." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Glasgow

"Frans Indongo - "

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"We stayed at Fans Indongo with the idea of visiting the cheetah reserve. Unfortunately we didn't realise that driving from Windhoek you pass the cut-off for the reserve many miles before you reach the Lodge.

Thinking there must be a route directly from the lodge, we ignored the cut-off and carried on to the lodge. By the time we got there it was going to be too late to visit the cheetah reserve and we were travelling north the following morning and couldn't afford the time to double back the 60km or so back to the reserve, so we didn't get to see the cheetahs there.

The lodge was good but unusually they charged for everything form water to a cup of coffee. Just something epope should eb aware of that didn't happen elsewhere." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Chatteris

"Frans Indongo Lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"A very comfortable and beautifully designed lodge.

We enjoyed the African songs that the dining-room & kitchen staff serenaded us with after dinner.

The animal viewing is safari-park type." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms S
BL

"Frans Indongo Lodge and its rare antilopes"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"Excellent opportunity to observe some of the rarest antelopes in the private game reserve just in front of the lodge!

Very nice camp, very comfortable lodge and excellent meals.

In the evening during dinner it was very cold as the dining room was not heated and all doors were kept open." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Wonderful lodge after a long days drive"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"Beautiful lodge, beautiful rooms, beautiful setting, excellent food, excellent service. Plus the extra of a nearby waterhole. Wish we could have stayed here for a couple of days." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Toronto

"A reluxing place with beautiful scenery "

1 night Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"Frans Indongo Lodge was an excellent accommodation.

We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the food, the game drive, the sunset, the sunrise, the Cheetah conservation, the walks, and the many antelopes grazing on the property." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Frans Indongo Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Perfect for a one-night stop-over to break the journey from Windhoek to Etosha.

Pleasant, but not a place you could stay at for more than one night." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 67
93%
67 reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (76 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (26 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (20 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa