This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp
Gomoti Plains Camp

Reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gomoti Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gomoti Plains Camp.
Lion

93% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

39% success

Wild dog

28% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

93% success

White Rhino

32% success

Spotted Hyena

30% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Eland

19% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

8% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 11-20 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B.
Cambridge

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"This was the last place we stayed on our safari in Botswana. It’s a relatively new camp, and the accommodations reflected that: large, modern and comfortable; not what we’re used to, having usually stayed in bush camps or the like, but a nice, luxurious way to end our trip.

The food and service were great, but what made this camp particularly notable was our guide, Carl. In addition to being a genuinely nice, somewhat shy guy, he was a tracker extraordinaire. We stayed at Gomoti Plains for 3 nights and, during that time, had the most amazing sightings: a lioness with 4 tiny cubs, trying to teach them not to be afraid of our vehicle; a black rhino that we were able to get very close to; a leopard posing for us in the early morning light and then leaving to hunt impala; multiple male lion sightings; and a wild dog hunt and catch that happened right in front of our vehicle. Truly amazing." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Two Nights at Gomoti Plains in June"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Part of the camp's consignment is beautiful open grassland with large groups of various antelope species and zebras. Late one afternoon, we tracked a rhino for several miles but couldn't find him/her.

The camp put on an enjoyable outdoor music and dance program, and a wonderful dinner one evening about 3 km from the camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs R.
London

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2019
"Apart from the wine and contacting the central area points made in relation to Little Vumbura above, we ate dinner outside each night. It was very cold. Having a drink round the fire before dinner was fine. But why could we not dine under the tent and be warm?

And food and service was a long way below Little Vumbura.

And on drives, too much loud chat on the radio, most of which seemed to be idle chat and/ or repetitive. Radio transmissions should be kept to a minimum. See Lagoon camp below.

We also had five jeeps round and chasing a single leapard for about 20 minutes, which seemed excessive.." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
AS.
Northwood

"Well-run camp in attractive setting"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2019
"All the staff were hard-working and efficient. The atmosphere could have been more relaxed if the staff had been a little less reserved. The food was interesting and tasty, and we enjoyed the special dinner in the bush, which had been beautifully set up.

Our guide, Karl, was very professional and worked hard to find as much wildlife for us as possible. He was very knowledgeable, but could have shared more before being asked. We enjoyed our sun-downers, especially the one at the waterhole near the buffalo fence at the edge of the concession.

Although the camp is by its own river, there was unfortunately no water in it at the time of our visit. So there were no boat or mekoro trips available. However, we did enjoy the behind the scenes trip." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

T&B
Birmingham

"great camp, exceptional guide"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our guide (Mott) was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the area and went out of his way to mmake sure our stay was good.

Camp v comfortable with excellent service and food." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mr J.
Tring

"super staff"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2019
"Sadly no water around camp on our visit, we wonder if even in a year of more rain that May is too early to expect ?" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Wilmslow

"Gomoti Plains was dry!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2019
"Pity they had not seen rain for months and the river outside the camp was non-existent. Therefore no water activities.

The terrain was dry and relatively lifeless. Game sighting was below average.

Staff were good though, which compensated." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr H
California

"Beautiful setting."

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"The managers were present, friendly but not intrusive.

Our guide was not fun at all. Very serious, couldn't joke around, woke us up an hour early for no reason (he forgot we were not going with the others despite telling us our new wake up time).

Absolutely stunningly gorgeous beautiful room! Over the top! Made you want to stay all day!

Again, we were on a shared safari and the folks were very nice but NEVER stopped talking :)

The guides on the boat were awesome, fun and knowledgeable. Very reassuring! Even chased off a hippo!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mrs J
uk

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2018
"Another first class camp, with plenty of wildlife seen on our drives as well as from our very spacious & comfortable tent (on returning to our tent one night we surprised a hippo right up by the deck of our tent) The staff were very friendly and efficient and food was excellent. Mitre our guide was knowledgeable and showed us a great variety of animals and birds." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs J.
Basingstoke

"Great safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 29
92%
29 reviews of Gomoti Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
6
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa