This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Oct 2019 safari

Botswana between 3 Oct 2019 and 14 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant time. All the arrangements ran perfectly, the accommodation, food and service was superb. The guiding at all three camps was really excellent, the guides and trackers are all very knowledgable and informative about the wildlife in their areas.They really do make the experience special.

The team member who dealt with our trip was Richard Ball. He spent a lot of time finding camps and flights to suit us. Richard's name isn't in the selection list below, so I put Megan, who helped us when we went in 2017, as there is no option to put Richard's name."

Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Excellent stay at Gomoti Plains camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"We had a brilliant time at Gomoti Plains, seeing plentiful wildlife. We were lucky to have Lister and the safari vehicle to ourselves.

The bush dinner was a lovely surprise. The back of house tour with Natasha was very interesting.

We had many sightings of cheetah, leopard and lion, and also 2 honey badgers early in the morning running across the path on our way to breakfast, and 2 porcupine"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Exellent stay at Laggon camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"We had 3 nights at Lagoon camp, where we had sightings of lion, cheetah and wild dogs. Also a glimpse of a civet and honey badger and 2 bush babies.

I almost stepped on a black scorpion on my back to the tent at night, saved by the prompt warning from our guide, Gee.

One night we had a most impressive storm, and next morning the camp was running as normal, The boat trip was great, so close to such very large elephants!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"brilliant time at Splash camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"This was our last camp, and gave us some more wonderful sightings, of lions climbing trees, a large pack of wild dogs, a cheetah on a kill, an aardwolf family peeping out of their burrow.

The accommodation and facilities were first class as were all the people who looked after us so well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our Botswana safari

Botswana between 6 Sep 2015 and 17 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our safari holiday was brilliant, the camps were all excellent, we saw a lot of wildlife with knowledgable, informative and patient guides. There was plenty of room on the safari vehicles and the coffee breaks and sundowners were wonderful. The staff at all the camps could not have done more to make us welcome and comfortable.

From start to finish, everything ran perfectly - it was an exciting, most memorable holiday."

Arranged By Megan Green


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Excellent stay at Muchenje Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"We had a great time at Muchenje. From the welcome to the goodbyes, it felt as if we were staying with friends. Robert and Joy, Natasha and John run everything perfectly.

Our room was very comfortable and well-equipped, with wonderful views. The dining room and bar were very welcoming and comfortable, again with the views across the river. Our guide, Synack, made our stay memorable, finding hordes of animals and birds. He was very knowledgable and informative. The boat-trip, the village visit and the walk were all as interesting as the game drives.

The food was excellent and the shared meals very convivial. Joy had noted that we were to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary later during our holiday and presented us with a card and a bottle of bubbly to mark the occasion, a lovely gesture, much appreciated.

Would definitely love to return, and would recommend to anyone visiting Chobe area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Brilliant stay at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Our first experience of such a remote location - exhilarating. Game drives found lion, buffalo and elephant in numbers and one evening followed two lions chasing a large herd of buffalo. Our guide, Bait, was excellent and made the game drives varied and interesting, ably assisted by his tracker, TT.

Jessica, BK, Mox and Peggy and all the staff were marvellous, really made us welcome and comfortable. One night we had elephants sleeping next to our tent, very noisy and somewhat alarming. But exciting!
Jessica presented us with a card and a gift for our 30th wedding anniversary, which wasn't until the day after we were to leave Lebala. a lovely thought, I shall treasure the book with happy memories.
The food at Lebala was top-class, can't say how much we enjoyed it.

One disappointment is that on our first night the generator ran all night, and at night in the African bush a generator makes a mighty noise, blotting out all you might expect to hear from night time noises, and keeping us awake. We were told it was for a guest who needed to run breathing apparatus all night. Jessica was in an unenviable position of facing complaints from some guests or potentially a dead guest in the morning. Fortunately for us this guest left the next day. But I was surprised to find that such an arrangement had been made, which meant everyone in the camp was disturbed all night. It is not what one goes to remote sites for. Kwando Safaris, please note."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Wonderful stay at Shinde camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"We had a brilliant time at Shinde. The camp is just delightful, our tent superb. The guides, Bee, Banolo and Aubrey, never failed to make each outing fascinating. The game drives, boat trip and walk were all excellent, plenty of wildlife to watch, sometimes to track, which is amazing.

The food at shared mealtimes was very good, and conversation never faltered. Really enjoyed the staff singing.

We had a surprise romantic meal in Shinde enclave on our anniversary, just perfect. Won't forget that! Thank you, Angela and Benny."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team