This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Wiljo from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Zimbabwe/Botswana Sept/Oct 2019

Botswana and 1 other country between 25 Sep 2019 and 23 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Spectacular! Feel hugely privileged to have seen and experienced all that we did during our time in these 2 countries.

Variety is the spice of life and every day on the trip brought some new highlight, be it a particular wildlife sighting or interaction, a scenic location or an activity. The trip has re-kindled our addiction for Africa and has only served to convince us to seek more! We would happily return to any of the locations we visited and on each occasion, when it was time to move on, we wished we could linger on at each place - a sure sign of our appreciation.

We are especially indebted to Tracy Lederer for her knowledgeable guidance and patience during the planning and booking process. We acknowledge that we were not the easiest clients to deal with but only because of the need to "get it right" for these once in a lifetime trips and Tracy was spot on with her recommendations and reassurances. It was obvious that her advice was informed by her personal experiences of the various locations.

Logistically, pretty much everything went without hitch. (Even a trekking pole which was left at Muchenje somehow found its way back to us at Maun airport on the way home - don't know how, but Tracy located it and engineered its reunion!!). Appreciating the remote locations reinforces our admiration for the efficiency of your operation, working with the local teams.

We would fully recommend your services and would have no hesitation in approaching you ourselves for future trips in Africa. Till next time..."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Little Vundu

Little Vundu

"Little Vundu review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"We only had 2 nights and one full day based at Little Vundu at the beginning of our stay in Mana Pools, but it was our favourite accommodation of the options we experienced (main Vundu camp and a mobile camp).

It has a spectacular setting on the banks of the Zambezi, looking directly out onto the mountains in Zambia on the other side of the valley. It is small and intimate and the accommodation, catering and guiding were excellent. The camp is open for wildlife to wander through which provided some unique encounters in addition to the sightings on the game drives and walking safari. Our one full day included a couple of game drives as well as a walk and night drive. We saw a good range of wildlife, including birds.

It was a good introduction to our Zimbabwe safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Pools Canoe Trail

"Mana Pools Canoe Trail review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"This feedback has been dealt with separately in an email to Tracy Lederer. I have allocated "activities" no comment for this questionnaire but Tracy will have the full report. I have ticked the box below about "concerns" which have already been discussed with Tracy, so, we do not need to be contacted again by Expert Africa.

The categories graded below are presumably for the mobile camp which was set up at Chessa and which was excellent all round."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"The accommodation, catering and guiding were all excellent.

We had morning and afternoon game drives and the latter incorporated night drives in the final hour driving back to camp after dark. There is an elevated hide overlooking a waterhole behind the Camp which afforded some great animal and bird sightings in between game drives.

Being able to walk from the vehicle provided a unique perspective and we were privileged to see a couple of "tree climbing" elephants "performing" and the local wild dog pack with their pups. The area was parched and at least 2 of the 4 Pools were long since dry. The wildlife was clearly struggling which made for some interesting interactions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"As claimed, Ilala was indeed the nearest accommodation to the Victoria Falls Rainforest Park, making it an ideal location for viewing the Falls themselves and accessing the Bridge.

Both of these activities we undertook unguided but supervised activities could easily have been arranged by the Lodge, if wanted. Ilala was also very convenient for the facilities in town, although we found the street vendors to be too attentive to permit us to venture far! Despite this, within the confines of the Lodge, the ambience was peaceful, the staff welcoming and helpful and the facilities (including swimming pool) and catering excellent.

We did book a helicopter viewing of the Falls and a Zambezi sunset cruise through the Lodge, both of which are highly recommended and provided additional perspectives of the natural phenomena."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

4 Oct 2019 • All-day excursion

Highly recommended to give an additional perspective to a stay in Victoria Falls and to experience the environment upstream of the Falls themselves.

Surprising amount of wildlife to be seen during the cruise (both animals and birds). There were a number of other boats on the same stretch of river but this was not overly intrusive.

The boat itself was stylish and the catering excellent, as was the running commentary from the crew. A spectacular sunset was the "icing on the cake".
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Friendly and efficient staff with hands on input from the owners. A spectacular and peaceful setting on an escarpment overlooking the Chobe river and across into Namibia. The river itself was dry at this location during our stay which is almost unprecedented although a few miles "downstream" in the Park itself, there was flowing water which obviously attracted the game. The game was possibly more concentrated than normal along the river because of the drought.

We opted for vehicle and boat safari full day combos for our 2 full days at the Lodge which gave us the opportunity for early morning game drive or walking safari, returning for breakfast before setting off for Kasane to pick up the boat for game viewing on the river and lunch on board and then, a game drive back to the Lodge through the afternoon and early evening. Additional optional night drives were also on offer after dinner each day in the vicinity of the Lodge.

The accommodation, catering, guiding and ambience were all excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round. Staff at Camp were especially warm and welcoming, creating a very pleasing ambience and the Kwando formula of driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives worked very well and made for some very interesting sightings.

We subsequently stayed at the sister camp in this concession (Lagoon) which was equally as impressive but quite different in character with its waterside setting. Lebala is set in an area of more open grassland and the opportunity to experience both locations back to back made for an interesting and varied programme and we felt it maximised the wildlife viewing opportunities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round and spectacular setting overlooking the lagoon, fed by the Kwando river.

Staff at Camp were especially warm and welcoming, creating a very pleasing ambience and the Kwando formula of driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives worked very well and made for some very interesting sightings. In particular, on one drive, the team tracked wild dogs for 3 hours before finally locating the pack resting by the river. Their patience and persistence was truly impressive. On another occasion, similar teamwork resulted in an encounter with 2 male cheetahs. The guides in different vehicles communicated well with each other, alerting and directing their colleagues to interesting sightings.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. There were opportunities to fish from the lagoon directly from the deck in Camp as well as from the Camp's boat. Because of the unprecedented dry conditions, the boat was moored some distance from Camp but we were given the opportunity to undertake a boat safari which provided some wonderful bird sightings and a fresh perspective on the location.

We also stayed at the sister camp in this concession (Lebala) which was equally as impressive but quite different in character with its setting within open grassland. The opportunity to experience both locations back to back made for an interesting and varied programme and we felt it maximised the wildlife viewing opportunities in the concession, although of course, nothing is guaranteed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round - accommodation, catering (too much food!) and guiding. Staff at Camp were especially hospitable.

Unfortunately, a wildfire which swept through the area earlier in the season has destroyed many of the trees (although regeneration is evident) and the lagoon in front of Camp had long since dried up as a result of the unprecedented dry conditions. This possibly affected the amount of wildlife activity directly around the Camp itself although quiet observation with binoculars revealed a fair bit of game passing through, including a family of kudu coming to the swimming pool to drink! The Gomoti river, although low was still flowing and inevitably, there was much more of interest around the water, both plains game and birds. It was still possible to experience the river by mokoro and we would highly recommend this activity to experience the different perspective offered.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. Guides in different vehicles were in constant communication with one another to alert colleagues to interesting sightings. One one occasion, this enabled us to locate a pair of cheetahs and later on, we watched them hunting impala (unsuccessfully)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round - accommodation, catering (too much food though) and guiding. Staff at Camp were very hospitable. The Kwando formula of off roading and a driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives, worked very well and made for some very interesting encounters and interactions, especially of predators.

Our team seemed to go the extra mile to follow wild dogs and lions hunting. The guides in different vehicles communicated well with each other, alerting and directing their colleagues to interesting sightings. On our last game drive, on the way to the airstrip, we located a lone male lion, a leopard and a cheetah in separate sightings.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. We were given the opportunity to undertake a boat safari as far as the Godikwe Lagoon one morning which provided some wonderful bird sightings and a fresh perspective on the location. We were also offered a short mokoro session."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round - accommodation, catering (too much food!) and guiding. The Camp staff were extremely hospitable and our guide highly entertaining but knowledgeable too. The Camp swimming pool provided welcome respite in the heat of the day and was a great birding spot!

The activities were varied so, in addition to wildlife viewing, there were opportunities to drive out on to the salt pans by quad bike (an experience in itself) and we were privileged to spend some time with San bushmen.

There was much more wildlife than was anticipated, especially around the waterholes and the habituated wild meerkats were a real highlight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team