This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp
Duba Plains Camp

Reviews of Duba Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Duba Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Duba Plains Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

67% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P
Netherlands

"A truly superb wildlife experience"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"If in life I would be given only one opportunity to go on a safari for a few days then Duba Plains - Botswana is the place I would go to.

I had an amazing 4 nights stay there; the wildlife is superb, the sightings are superb, the guiding is superb, the Camp is superb and the area where the Camp is situated is really magic. The place is full of animals. Moreover - they have a PACK OF WILD DOGS denning there !!!! I did not expect that but boy, was I happy . And I did have some amazing dog sightings. I am no so much into Rhino's, but had plenty of sightings.

I have been very privileged and spoiled rotten to be sharing a vehicle with only Spike and Joshua, the guides. It was a fantastic experience to see and get to know the area and its animals and their behavior through their eyes. It is amazing to hear and learn more about the world behind guiding and all these factors being taken into consideration in order to offer you with the best possibility to have an amazing sighting. Well, I had plenty. Thank you for that Spike and Joshua !

Besides a binocular Great Plains also provides you with a super Canon EOS camera with a 400 mm lens. At Duba Plains Spike was so kind to make some beautiful pics with this.

While staying at Duba Plains I had some health issues because of the Malerone and they took care of me very well. Veronica and Justin took care of me very well any how. Thank you guides and staff of Duba Plains, I will cherish my memories for a long long time." See all these reviews: 20n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Wiltshire

"Duba Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Duba Plains is our favourite camp. This was our 6th visit and as usual we had special sightings. A mother lion leading her 2 cubs across the flood plain to a kill she had made in the night, a wild dog hunt on the floodplains, 4 adult porcupine with 1 youngster in good view, but even without these the area is stunning and not to be missed.
The staff were again outstanding. There was a staff member who was visiting the camp and it was her job to assess the camp and introduce improvements, and I did feel very sorry for her because I genuinely failed to see what she could come up with!" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Duba Plains"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2018
"By far the best variety and density of animals

In addition to those listed, rhinos 4 sightings and pangolin 1" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"Total luxury at Duba Plains Suites"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2018
"We were upgraded to The Suites and were totally spoiled.

Very impressed with all aspects of the camp which is very well run.

Our guide Mots was excellent. He put himself out to show us as much as possible." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Netherlands

"Great Safari at Duba Plains Camp."

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"Service at a very high standard, beautiful tents. Great game viewing with lechwe running through the water. Saw the smallest lion cubs ever (only 5 weeks old). Excellent food, great guide (Spike)." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs FP
London

"Duba Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"A fabulous and intimate camp with marvellous hosting and delicious food. Our guide Vundi was exceptionally knowledgeable. The food and its presentation was delicious and stylishly presented.

The problem they have now is, that the buffalo have moved on.... and consequently there is no Duba.. The lion are in short supply because of pride feuding and lack of buffalo.
I can see this is going to be a big problem for this camp.. viewing masses of Lechwe, Tsetsebe, Warthog and the odd elephant is not going to do it for most people.

Consequently, though we loved our time there, it is just as well it was our first camp.

With the absence of real game (and the Duba) it is with regret that I wouldn't recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"Nothing plain about Duba"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"Antoinette and Pierre run an excellent camp and Pierre's culinary skills give you really well balanced dietary options. Sited overlooking the reeds and swamp the camp has a lovely relaxed feel. Large quantities of rice were on hand to fill camera bean bags and no request was too much.

The game viewing is understandably geared to lion and buffalo, of which there were plenty. During our time the whole of Duba Plains was 'up for grabs' and it was both interesting to witness the power struggle between various prides and the confusion and uncertainty caused by the two brothers who had returned.

Be prepared for each day to follow the same pattern. First locate the buffalo, then see if any lions are nearby. If so follow the lions, if not, set off in another direction. Fascinating stuff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs P
London

"Another great stay at Duba"

5 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"Our second time there and even better than the first.

Always a warm welcome and very friendly staff who seem capable and willing to accomodate any specific requests. Food is outstanding and a reason to go on its own. Very high quality guiding and whilst the variety of game is more limited than other camps there is always something unexpected to observe.

The native lion prides are a bit disjointed at the current time so although the lion buffalo interaction still occurs it is less consistent than previously. Alternative activities such as boat trip/fishing are well worth undertaking. Needless to say we will return." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Wonderful Duba Plains"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"This was my favourite camp. We stayed in Tent 6 (the Honeymoon tent) which was the furthest from the main camp areas (a plus in my book as I like a walk) and had a great view over the plains. The camp is managed by Antoinette and her partner Pierre (the superb chef). Our guide was James 007 who has a long history of working with Dereck Joubert. Lovely tent, delicious food and expert guide!

During afternoon tea Pierre gave us details of the dinner choices; and recorded our starter, main course and dessert so that it could be individually prepared to our liking. Driving thru' water was a real experience here. On the call of 'deep water' we had to lift our legs up onto the seat in front to avoid the water coming into the Land Cruiser!

We were hoping to see some lion and buffalo interaction and we weren't disappointed. On our second day we watched as 4 siblings from the Skimmer pride chased and were pushed back by a large buffalo herd. As the buffalo herd moved on the lions followed. Eventually they reached the deep channel to Paradise Island, with strong currents and crocodile, which is sadly where our Land Cruiser had to turn back. However we got some great film of the buffalo and lions swimming thru' treacherous waters.

During our 3 days at Duba we saw 4 members of the Skimmer pride and 8 members of the Tsaro pride (which has now split into three). Sadly the mother of the Skimmer siblings had not been seen for well over a week and James believed she may have been killed by crocodiles. During our last dinner a leopard was spotted by the camp shop and we watched as it disappeared into the bush. The guides patrolled the camp to make sure we were safe to go back to our tents and tracks were spotted outside Tent 6!

Another special moment was watching a troop of baboons crossing a stretch of water; some swam, some walked on all fours, but the little ones weren't too sure what to do and ran on their back legs waving their arms (front legs) in the air!" See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"buffalo and lions drama at Duba Plains Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"Duba Plains was probably the best safari camp we stayed at during our two week vacation in Botswana. The dedication and passion of our guides, Kops and James, plus the standard of food and service back at camp, organised by Pierre and Antionette, were exceptional.

After two days tracking a pride of lions, we were fortunate enough to witness them attacking and killing a buffalo in the water followed by intensely dramatic interaction between the two species as the Buffalo herd attempted, without success, to drive the predators from their prey.

We also saw a huge variety of other wildlife on safari, ranging from elephants to Lilac Breasted Rollers, and have many great photos to prove it.
Overall, a memorable safari experience," See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 18
94%
18 reviews of Duba Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (202 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (127 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (94 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (74 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (66 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (59 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (36 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa