This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Northwood

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Serengeti Infinity

Tanzania between 25 Feb 2019 and 11 Mar 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"The four of us have now done several safaris and always enjoy that special experience. Expert Africa are generally a big part of the process and have always delivered. The camps they direct us towards are always of the highest standard.

The brief this time was to experience the calving of the Wildebeest and to see some cats. These boxes were both ticked. I am a keen photographer and would offer this observation. The plains of the Southern Serengeti are so vast that the majority of the time, no matter what lens, my focal point was generally 'infinity'. We have been able to have more intimate sightings in other places.

The trip taught us to never take things for granted. One becomes so use to regular sightings of Elephant in Africa that the paucity on this trip was a surprise and slightly disappointing. I would be interested to know if this was just a seasonal thing or indicative of the areas visited. A definitive answer wasn't really forthcoming at either camp."

Olakira

Olakira

"Wildebeest Calving in Ndutu"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2019
"We came to see the calving of the wildebeest and Olakira was a great camp at which to base ourselves. The staff were extremely friendly and for a seasonal camp the facilities were above expectation.

Due to the popularity of the calving event as a spectacle there were far more vehicles from lots of other camps and lodges."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Privacy on the Plains"

4 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2019
"Tucked away on the Plains, Namiri Camp was another excellent spot from which to experience the wide open vastness of the Southern Serengeti and the Kopjes which lie within. We were rewarded with good sightings of Lion and Cheetah. The grasses were high in anticipation of the arrival of wildebeest and zebra from further south. Where Olakiri sightings could be busy the seclusion of Namiri Plains made for very private viewings. An old guide friend of ours from Nairobi describes this are as his 'church'. I can see what he means.

If you head west toward Seronara and the Western Serengeti the sightings are 'radioed' in and so get extremely busy, a bit of a mud bath after any rains.

Nice to have both indoor and outdoor showers, the latter being a double."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"The perfect wind down after safari"

7 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2019
"It was towards the end of the season when we arrived so it felt like the four of us had booked the whole place out. Ras Kutani is not a beach resort - thank goodness. It is a bush lodge on a very deserted stretch of coast backed by a lagoon. It is about as chilled and relaxed as you could wish for with the friendliest and most attentive staff. We were travelling with friends and had opted to have suites with private plunge pools. These are accessed by a winding sandy path and many steps. It is the only exercise you will get in this laid back environment which revolves around three full meals a day, so we think they are worth the extra. The other rooms looked very spacious as well. The lagoon rooms get good views but are maybe a little shy of natural light while the beach rooms ( I believe they are changing the nomenclature to 'garden' rooms) do not really have views or access to the beach.

Simon and Julia run the whole show with remarkable confidence and an ease which belies their youth."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

The Plains of Botswana

Botswana between 6 Nov 2014 and 18 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The scenic quality of the Duba and Vumbura Plains make for exceptional photographic opportunities. Lion were in abundance as were buffalo, red lechwe and elephant. Sadly leopard and cheetah proved elusive this time round.

Everything was seamlessly put together by Expert Africa and all our requests taken care of. It is debatable whether the short two night break in Maun is necessary. So much of the journey has been accomplished by the time you make it to Maun you may as well do the last leg and get stuck into the main course.

Many thanks HUGH & CAROLE

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really."

Arranged By Megan Green


Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"A starter to the main course"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"As well as breaking up the long journey to the major safari areas of Botswana, one good thing about Royal Tree Lodge is that you can safely embark on your own walking safari within their extensive grounds. No predators, obviously, but is great to be on foot amongst the impala and giraffe"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

"Nothing plain about Duba"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"Antoinette and Pierre run an excellent camp and Pierre's culinary skills give you really well balanced dietary options. Sited overlooking the reeds and swamp the camp has a lovely relaxed feel. Large quantities of rice were on hand to fill camera bean bags and no request was too much.

The game viewing is understandably geared to lion and buffalo, of which there were plenty. During our time the whole of Duba Plains was 'up for grabs' and it was both interesting to witness the power struggle between various prides and the confusion and uncertainty caused by the two brothers who had returned.

Be prepared for each day to follow the same pattern. First locate the buffalo, then see if any lions are nearby. If so follow the lions, if not, set off in another direction. Fascinating stuff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura, big heart."

4 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"A short three minute boat ride takes you to and from Little Vumbura. It really is the most beautifully located camp. Steve, Mandy and their entire team are always on hand and the welcome back lavender towels were heaven.

The only reasons for the scores on Rooms is that they could do with more drawer space. There is plenty of opportunity at the desk and under the wash hand basins.

For dinner at Duba Plains we received plated food which had been ordered beforehand from Pierre's red meat, white meat and vegetarian options, which he described perfectly before we left for our afternoon game drive. At Little Vumbura it was buffet style. Also, heaven forbid - no marmalade here!

Brand new Land Rovers were very quiet and comfortable.

A final word. Sevara was an exceptional guide both in knowledge and personality. Even if he was a Chelsea supporter."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2011 trip

Zimbabwe between 30 Sep 2011 and 12 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Average
"As covered on previous pages"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Lovely Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Glad we chose this over Vic Falls Hotel. Much quieter and more personal. Friendly and helpful staff. Even tried Warthog Fillet which was excellent.

We were more than happy with our experience of Ilala Lodge. 'Excellent' is a difficult box to tick as there is always room for improvement."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"So So Somalisa"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2011
"Somalisa Acacia is a new addition to the main camp and we were lucky to have it to ourselves along with the Baileys. This made for a very private experience. However it is some distance from the main camp kitchen which has its own problems. Food was often luke warm and service was somewhat slow. We were looked after by Betha who we feel requires more training. Dudley was good guide but as he was also camp manager his duties meant he had no time to recharge himself between game drives.

The brand new tents were excellent but our bathroom area needed further screening for complete privacy. The wasbasin and wc could be seen from the mess tent. This was mentioned to Dudley but was not resolved during our stay.

It was great to see huge herds of elephant, buffalo and zebra. Big cat viewing was limited to one brief and distant sighting at dusk. As the concession is quite small the game drives were routine and repetitive. Not much guiding was required."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

"Kwality Kanga Kamp"

5 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Richard and Gilly were exceptional hosts. As our guide Fisher was excellent and all the staff were very efficient and friendly. The whole atmosphere within Kanga is what one would hope for in a luxury tented camp. The siting, with it's waterhole, was a delight and we appreciated the opportunity for nightime viewing with the infra red searchlight.

However, Claire, as you well know the animals within the small concession were very skittish as the camp is adjacent to a hunting area. We saw hardly any game whilst on game drives within the concession. Consequently we did two full days at Mana Pools. There we had an exciting viewing of hippo and some gentle safari walks to view waterbuck, elephant eating water hyacinth and a flock of carmine bee eaters.

We realise from past experience that game viewing on safari can be hit and miss but we really felt that Kanga was more miss than hit. Kanga is a camp to stay a maximum of three nights. A great camp in the wrong place.

In our responses to the three places we stayed we are unsure what is meant by Activities and Facilities, thus the no comment."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team