This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pelo Camp
Pelo Camp
Pelo Camp
Pelo Camp
Pelo Camp
Pelo Camp

Reviews of Pelo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pelo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Pelo Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Sitatunga

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Dr&Mrs B
Wensleydale

"Pelo a lovely small camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"We chose Pelo as it was a very small camp and usually surrounded by water, concentrating on water based activities.

We liked the small size of the camp and the staff were all very friendly. Due to the lack of water, game drives were on offer and again we had game drives to ourselves with Lech(?). He was very good at making sure I had my binoculars lined up for animal sightings. We saw 2 leopards, a sitatunga. wild dogs as well as many elephants, buffalo etc. We enjoyed a couple of mokoro trips and saw the rare Pels fishing owl, wattled crane and slatey egret.

Although there was wifi in the rooms this was not working whilst we were there.

The only concern was the lack of co-ordination for boat transfers to and from the lodge. When we arrived from the airport and arrived at the water one of the managers had just arrived and after introducing himself he said to Lech there was no petrol in one of the boats so he would have to transfer some from the other boat At the end of the trip we were ready 30 mins before departure and then heard the helicopter, for our return to Maun arrive, admittedly a bit early. However the lodge then realised there was no boat available for our transfer. Lech took us by mokoro so far and then we transferred to the boat which was returning with guests from their game drive. this was therefore a much slower journey and the helicopter pilot had to wait for our arrival and the other guests had longer in the boat." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Pelo, a lovely island camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Pelo Camp is an island camp surrounded by water but because of the lack of rains there was far less than usual. This meant that whilst mokoro trips were still possible, boat trips were not and had to be substituted by game drives.

The camp is very small and intimate with only five tents. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful, one evening providing some excellent singing and dancing prior to dinner which took place outside in their boma.

The only downside were the clouds of mosquitoes which are prevalent at this time of year." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr C
Knaresborough

"Pelo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"A good alternative to the land-based camps as the boat trips were more relaxing than game drives (but less exciting!).

We were there for 3 days and we were a bit surprised that we only had one mokoro trip in that time. With hindsight 2 nights here would probably have sufficed.

We really enjoyed our 'traditional' evening in the boma with the attendant choir." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The Diplomat
USA

"A world apart at Pelo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Pelo Camp was different from any of my previous 15 safari locations. It is an island and all all the activities that we took were on boats. We shared the motor boat with one other couple twice and had it to ourselves once. Unlike land safaris, boats leave no tracks. So, for the first time in Africa, I felt that i was in total wilderness. It felt as if we were the first people in the places we went, although, of course, we weren't.

David, our guide, was superb. We saw lots of animals of antelopes and elephants and, of course, many wondrous birds. It was a thrill to encounter elephants hidden among the bush on the shore, but also crossing from island to island. The watery scenery with all its plant types--and the compete absence of any sign of humans--was essential to the experience.

The camp is intimate with just five tents so this is a personalized experience, not a group one. I rate the room as average because the toilet is not very private, separated by a curtain from the room. I prefer it to be in its own room as was the case at Sable Alley. However, the views, size and privacy were outstanding. The food was good but nothing special. This is not to complain as Pelo is, after all, a camp in a wilderness. All were excellent considering where we were." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Pelo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"Wilderness has spent a substantial amount of money in upgrading this Lodge. The dining and lounge sitting areas have been repositioned with large decks overlooking the Delta. Tents have been replaced with new tents which have sliding full length doors and side panels and larger decks. The electrical supply has been upgraded with increased new photovoltaic panels.
The management team is well on top of everything and they are charming. Nothing was too much trouble. The guide who we had was very knowledgable and took great trouble to find out what we wanted to do and see." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr p
Southend On Sea

"Pelo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"This camp was every thing I had hoped it would be, calm and relaxed.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The guides were interesting and informative and the managers Newman and Rauve' were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

I would thoroughly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Arlington

"Pelo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"This is a very friendly camp that is extremely well run. We arrived during the low water season, which meant taking a boat ride through tall weeds and shallow water to get the camp from the airport. That is great part of the overall experience in visiting the Delta region. Along the way we got a chance to see some wildlife and take in the scenery. The camp is very isolated, but because of the attentiveness of the camp staff, really does not feel so primitive.

The camp tents are very nice and feel luxurious in many ways. The beds were really comfortable and placement of the bucket showers outside looking out on the water was a nice touch. All of the electricity is supplied by solar power and batteries, and is more than adequate for all the basic services.

The food and meals were very nice. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The staff was able to join us for lunch and dinner which we appreciated. We were able to enjoy many good conversations and really learn about the area that way.

Our guide John took us out for our boating safaris and did a great job explaining about the area and providing perspective on things. The wildlife viewing was quite good, especially for birds. And we got to do some fishing and take a mokoro trip, which is highly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Pelo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa