This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs L from Basingstoke

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Another superb trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 20 Jul 2019 and 3 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"There were a few problems but nothing serious enough to spoil the holiday which was superb.

We keep going back to the Kwando Camps because, whilst they are very comfortable, their emphasis is still on wildlife and they still use both a guide and a tracker, drive off-road and after dark. This makes the holiday much more exciting and much more interesting because it is a fascinating to watch the interaction between the guide and the tracker and see how they work together. As a consequence there are some amazing sightings, although some are as a result of communication between jeeps.

We keep coming back and each time we have a fantastic time with many new experiences and sightings of animals we have not seen before, particularly on night drives. We will be back!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No as I have always found Expert Africa's staff very knowledgeable and helpful but Lucy, who I worked with to sort out this trip, was particularly helpful and a delight to deal with.

I have, and will continue to recommend Expert Africa."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge closest hotel to Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Lovely hotel with excellent rooms, very convenient for visiting Victoria Falls but rather disorganised.

There was some confusion as their records of the rooms occupants had not been updated but this was sorted out. However, there were no reservations for dinner in spite of receiving an email from one of the Managers confirming that a table had been reserved for both evenings which caused a problem for the restaurant staff.

They were very apologetic and helpful and managed to find a suitable table for us. Apart from this confusion we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay there again. The food was excellent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Superb tracking at Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2019
"As ever, a lovely camp with very friendly, welcoming staff, good food and the personal touches which make the Kwando camps so special and keep us coming back.

We had some amazing sightings thanks in part to the excellent and sustained collaboration between our guide and our tracker. It was wonderful to watch the way they worked together to find wild dogs and older pups which were no longer denning, as well as two different prides of lions.

We very much enjoyed the staff's singing and dancing one evening before dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Beautiful riverside Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Lagoon is as always a wonderful camp with lovely, friendly, helpful staff, noisy hippos, good food and again the personal touches which make it so special. Nothing is too much trouble.

As our trip was a special celebration, one evening we returned to find a card and present on the bed and at dinner some of the staff appeared singing “Happy Birthday” and carrying a delicious, decorated cake with candles. It was a wonderful surprise and much appreciated.

Again we had some amazing sightings both during the day and at night when spot-lighting thanks to some excellent work by both the guide and the tracker. Among the highlights were the tracking down of two cheetah brothers, as well as sightings of sable, roan and porcupine."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

"Pelo, a lovely island camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Pelo Camp is an island camp surrounded by water but because of the lack of rains there was far less than usual. This meant that whilst mokoro trips were still possible, boat trips were not and had to be substituted by game drives.

The camp is very small and intimate with only five tents. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful, one evening providing some excellent singing and dancing prior to dinner which took place outside in their boma.

The only downside were the clouds of mosquitoes which are prevalent at this time of year."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash, a beautiful new camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"Splash is a lovely new camp overlooking a lagoon which unfortunately due to lack of rains is virtually dry. As fans of the old Kwara Camp, which is being rebuilt we found Splash, which is larger, to be more impersonal than the other Kwando Camps and lacking their personal touches which make them so special.

There were more jeeps than at other camps which caused some problems with another jeep blocking our view a couple of times or not being able to go to a sighting because other jeeps had already arranged to go. At times it got frustrating and seemed to inhibit the tracking of animals.

Having said that, we did have some amazing sightings both during the day and during night drives, although the emphasis was on finding the big 5 to the detriment of other species. The highlights were probably hunting with the wild dogs, going to their den to watch their young pups and then at night the highlight was seeing the young leopard trying to get its kill up a tree away from predators."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Another exceptional trip to Botswana

Botswana between 5 Sep 2016 and 17 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Each time we return we can't believe it can get any better but it does.

Whilst we did not see so many of some of the big cats we saw things which we have never seen before, such as a lion climbing a tree as well as a cheetah climbing a tree. We have never seen so many large herds of elephants. The numbers were exceptionally large.

We also had excellent sightings of various wild dog packs, some with pups as well as some of the smaller mammals, such as a bushbaby and a honey badger trying to dig out a mouse. What makes Kwando camps special is that they use a tracker as well as a guide and seeing them work together is fascinating, adding an extra dimension to the experience.

For many reasons it was a holiday to remember.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, your brochure and website have a lot of helpful information and your staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. They are able to fill in any information gaps and knowing the various camps are able to advise on the best options.

We are very happy with the service we have received and would certainly recommend Expert Africa."

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Jacana Camp is in a beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"A special camp, surrounded by and accessible only by water.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A beautifully decorated birthday cake was made for my husband and accompanied by staff singing Happy Birthday which was very much appreciated.

Our guide, Mr. Bee, was excellent and very knowledgeable. We had really enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Beautifully situated Lagoon Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"A lovely camp situated on the side of the river with constant comings-and-goings of hippos and dozens of elephants as well as numerous birds.

The staff were charming and friendly, the tents large and well furnished.

We had many fantastic sightings including a large pack of wild dogs with pups and two male lions feeding on a dead elephant. Due to the low level of the river boat rides were impossible but the game drives with our excellent guide, Hopps, and tracker, Justice, were exceptional. Some of the areas visited had been ravaged by fires but the new grass provided excellent food for an unusual selection of antelope."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Great Safaris at Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"A lovely camp in a dryer part, but nevertheless, interesting part of the concession.

Lovely, friendly staff who, together with the Managers, Action and Violet, went out of their way to make our wedding anniversary a wonderful and very special evening which we will always remember.

Our thanks also go to our guide, Bate, and tracker Ngarko, who provided us with some excellent game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Wonderful Kwara Camp"

5 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"A wonderful camp in a beautiful situation overlooking a lagoon, with hippos, elephants, baboons, impala and warthogs moving around and through the camp during the day and night.

The staff were friendly and helpful but a special mention must be made of our outstanding guide, Dux, and our excellent tracker, AT, who together provided us with some exceptional game drives. It was wonderful to see how they worked together to read the animal tracks, deciding on the animals' movements and deciding where to go next.

Thanks to their skills we were provided with some fantastic sightings including wild dogs on a kill, a pride of two lionesses and four cubs who were extremely hungry one day but the next replete having killed and consumed most of a zebra and a cheetah stalking a reedbuck."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our February 2014 trip to Botswana

Botswana between 15 Feb 2014 and 1 Mar 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent and very enjoyable trip. Everything was extremely well organised and went without any hitches. Mack Air was efficient and always arrived on time, the only scary moment being on our last flight to Maun when the pilot had to take very rapid avoiding action to prevent us from hitting a stork flying at 4,500 ft! All the Guides were attuned to the requirements of photographers and did their utmost to position their vehicles in the best position. The green season is a wonderful time to go but made their jobs all the harder so their efforts were very much appreciated."

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Fantastic Meerkats at Jack's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2014
"The third bed provided in the family tent was merely a mattress pulled out from under one of the beds and placed on the floor. Although it was acceptable for a few nights, for a camp of this quality something less basic and more comfortable should have be provided.

Our guide, Fanuel, was excellent particularly, having no tracker to help, he had both to drive and track or spotlight at the same time which with only one pair of eyes could mean fewer sightings particularly during the green season when the grasses are high and the trees are in full leaf. The Meerkats were probably the highlight of the visit but we enjoyed walking and talking to the San Bushmen."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Magnificent Lions at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2014
"Excellent camp in beautiful position overlooking the salt pan, lovely staff and superb food. The green season is a wonderful time to visit and although long grass can make game viewing difficult, we saw hundreds of Gemsbok and a considerable number of black-manned Kalahari Lions. In addition to hundreds of Falcons, White Storks appeared on the Pan one morning alongside the Gemsbok, Giraffes and Springboks which was an amazing sight. In addition our guide, Timber, and our tracker, PK, gave us a lot of information about wild foods and how to eat them as well as identifying a considerable number of flowers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Great Safaris and Boat trip at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2014
"An excellent camp, lovely staff and superb food in a beautiful situation. Being able to go off road and out at night made the safaris all the more exciting and although the high grasses and their density made it difficult when spotlighting, the green season is a wonderful time to go and shows a different aspect of the country.

Our guide, Carlos, and tracker, PD, worked very hard and gave us some excellent sightings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Great Safaris at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2014
"Lovely, traditional camp although the tents are smaller and little more cramped especially with the additional bed. Lovely staff and good food. Our guide, Russ, and tracker, Master, worked very well together especially when driving through the bush and provided some wonderful sightings including two young Leopards up a tree, a Lioness with an eight week old cub and an African Wild Cat in daylight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team