This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Wimbledon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

trip to Rwanda

Rwanda between 27 Oct 2018 and 17 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa surpassed themselves yet again"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"This is the second time I have stayed at the Lodge. IT provides good accommodation and service.

It has been expanded and now only provides buffet style meals. The choice and quality are pretty good.

The proximity to trekking points for gorilla viewing is very good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

29 Oct 2018 • Morning excursion

Excellent gorilla sightings.

The daily licence fee is now so high that most groups are mainly from the US.

Access to the gorilla families is generally much easier than in Bwindi, Uganda.
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"Just a little tired around the edges!

As usual staff are very attentive and service is impeccable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

30 Oct 2018 • Morning excursion

Excellent - see earlier comment

[Ed: This traveller's comments were:

"Excellent gorilla sightings.

The daily licence fee is now so high that most groups are mainly from the US.

Access to the gorilla families is generally much easier than in Bwindi, Uganda.
"
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"See earlier comment . [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good

My August 14 - 23 trip to Kenya

Kenya between 14 Aug 2016 and 23 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic, great

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nope - you provide an excellent friendly service from people who really care and know about Africa. Thank you."

Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka Hotel Review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"The traffic noise in the rooms rooms facing the motorway is too noisy. The the hotel lies on part of the main road from Mombassa to Uganda. The sound of heavy traffic continues throughout the night. When I checked in I asked for a quiet room. When I went to the room I was concerned by the noise of the traffic. I telephoned reception to ask for a room change. No other room was available."
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Service
Average
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2016
"Fantastic. The managers, Darren & Emma are very personable and go out of their way to make sure that guests are looked after.

Nothing is too much trouble.The food and wine are first class. The guides all hold silver qualifications under the Kenya Professional Guide scheme. All of them regularly accompany professional photographers and as a result they instinctively put guests in the best position to view animals and to take photographs. They explain what animals have been sighted in the conservancy over the last few days and which are with cubs. They will then plan game drives which suit what the guest wants to view. You have the option to have packed breakfasts or lunches depending on what you want to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"We stayed at 2 kicheche camps, the Kicheche Bush Camp and the Kicheche Mara. This is what I said about the Kicheche Bush Camp

"Fantastic. The managers, Darren & Emma are very personable and go out of their way to make sure that guests are looked after.
Nothing is too much trouble.The food and wine are first class. The guides all hold silver qualifications under the Kenya Professional Guide scheme. All of them regularly accompany professional photographers and as a result they instinctively put guests in the best position to view animals and to take photographs. They explain what animals have been sighted in the conservancy over the last few days and which are with cubs. They will then plan game drives which suit what the guest wants to view. You have the option to have packed breakfasts or lunches depending on what you want to see."

After staying at Bush Camp we stayed in the Mara Camp. Everything I wrote about the Bush Camp applies to the Mara camp where Andreas and Manuela are the managers. They are Italian and bring a delightful Italian influence to some of the dishes at this camp. They are both charming and knowledgeable about Kenya it's wildlife and people.

The mara camp is in an area which is ideal for sightings of lions, cheetah and leopards."
Excellent

September trip to Botswana

Botswana between 20 Sep 2015 and 1 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip. The only part which was not excellent was our short stay in Linyanti."

Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

"Pelo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"Wilderness has spent a substantial amount of money in upgrading this Lodge. The dining and lounge sitting areas have been repositioned with large decks overlooking the Delta. Tents have been replaced with new tents which have sliding full length doors and side panels and larger decks. The electrical supply has been upgraded with increased new photovoltaic panels.
The management team is well on top of everything and they are charming. Nothing was too much trouble. The guide who we had was very knowledgable and took great trouble to find out what we wanted to do and see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"I was a little concerned about the quad biking. Why would I want to quad bike I asked myself? My fears were completely unfounded. It is the only way to get into the centre of the salt pans. Without this you wouldn't for example see the pans themselves or have the opportunity to look for arrowheads used by ancient man. There are literally dozens of these lying barely covered in the pans. There has been reference to the lack of helmets. Helmets are provided for all guests.
The guide was a specialist zoologist with extraordinary knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble for him to explain. he was simply one of the best guides I have come across anywhere in the world.
Our encounter with bushmen was a fabulous experience. It was all so natural and not a "Disney type" staged outing
The Lodge was very well managed and hosted"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team