This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Bucks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Best Safari Yet

Botswana between 15 Nov 2018 and 25 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our fifteenth safari and every time we go, we wonder whether we can top the previous trip. Once again, the answer was yes, we can.

Expert Africa's organisation is always impeccable. The camps were excellent - fantastic wildlife, great people.

We had some amazing, unique sightings that included a number of "firsts" for us of the rarer animals."

Arranged By Megan Green


Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Excellent Safari at Splash Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"Splash is a new camp, and it shows. More modern than many we have visited, the camp offers a number of conveniences such as being able to charge electrical devices in your room. One of us has mobility challenges, and the staff could not have been more helpful, finding ways to make it easier to get and out of the vehicle and negotiate steps and ramps within the camp.

The wildlife is fantastic. We were awoken one morning by lions roaring just outside the camp, having stolen a kill from wild dogs. We had a great team in our guide David and tracker KB. Highlights on game drives included seeing a cheetah at full speed catching a baby lechwe; wild dogs; two lionesses with ten cubs; and our first sighting of a side-striped jackal. Numerous species of antelope were abundant, with the baby boom just beginning as the rains are in sight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Great Traditional Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2018
"Lebala is a lovely tented camp with a traditional feel. One of us has mobility challenges, and the staff could not have been more helpful, finding ways to make it easier to get and out of the vehicle and negotiate steps and ramps within the camp.

We had a great team in our guide Bate and tracker Simo and every game drive was full of fascinating encounters. Numerous species of antelope were plentiful, plus zebra, hippo, buffalo, and giraffe. Predators included lion, leopard , wild dog and hyena.

The highlight was being able to get really close to leopards - one a large male, the other his mother - on three occasions and spend time just observing these beautiful cats."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lovely Camp in a Beautiful Setting"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"Lagoon Camp has large, beautifully furnished tents facing the river, each with a verandah that makes the perfect spot for viewing the numerous animals that visit the river. The location enables Lagoon to offer boat trips, which make a peaceful and relaxing alternative to a game drive.

One of us has mobility challenges, and the staff could not have been more helpful, finding ways to make it easier to get and out of the vehicle and negotiate steps and ramps within the camp.

We had a great team in our guide and tracker, Poster and KT. The wildlife was amazing: numerous antelope species, including roan; zebra, elephant, giraffe, hippo, baboon. We had wonderful close-up encounters with two magnificent male lions; witnessed lions mating; found a beautiful female leopard lounging in a tree; and after a hectic chase through the bush, saw a wild dog kill.

We also saw, for the first time, brown hyena."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great Safari in Southern Tanzania

Tanzania between 4 Oct 2015 and 12 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are seasoned safari goers, and each time we embark upon a new trip, there is always the question of whether it will be as good as our previous trips. Unfailingly, it is and this time was no exception. Every aspect of the trip was great and once again we had sightings of animals we'd not seen before, memorable new experiences and met some amazing people.

We would highly recommend this trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We cannot think of anything. We've been very happy with Expert Africa for a number of years now and this year was no exception."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Fantastic time at Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Our key criteria for camps is the quality of the guiding, and we had an outstanding experience with Ezra (guide) and Aridi (driver/spotter). Both have an incredible ability to spot wildlife that to our eyes - even with binoculars - is very well hidden. Ezra is highly knowledgeable about every aspect of flora and fauna and showed us things we've never seen before, including the beautiful Impala Lily.

It's a very stylish camp, with the main communal areas and tents on wooden raised decks. Our tent overlooked a spot in the river occupied by a very large hippopotamous, and from our verandah we also saw buffalo and watched a goliath heron catch an enormous fish.

The food is excellent. Unusually (from our experience), dining is at invidual tables rather than communal. Guests are rotated around the tables, which at night are spread across the verandah, lower down on decking and beside the river. We had breakfast out in the bush on our game drives and the camp produced an amazing spread every morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Great Traditional Bush Camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"Kwihala is a proper bush camp, with tents on the ground, bucket showers and very local wildlife that includes a pair of large lizards that live in the mess tent.

Saidi is an excellent guide and together with Ayube, our trainee guide, gave us some wonderful game viewing. For the first time, we saw black and white colobus monkeys - a truly memorable experience - and a family of seven very young lion cubs with their mothers.

Dining at Kwihala is communal, preceded by drinks around the fire, which adds to the intimate feel of the camp. The food is excellent. For "bake-off" fans, the cakes produced for afternoon tea are wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Botswana October 2013

Botswana between 1 Oct 2013 and 10 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"As long-time travellers to Southern Africa, we are amazed that each trip seems to be more incredible than the last and keep thinking that our good fortune must end at some time.

Not yet - this was our most enjoyable safari in every way.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nothing - our experience with Expert Africa is always excellent"

Arranged By Megan Green


Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"An amazing time at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Little Vumbrua is a lovely camp run by a superb team of staff. Our tent was comfortable, spacious and immaculately maintained. The food was excellent, with variety at choice at every meal. We particularly enjoyed the pre-dinner singing from the staff each evening, which made for a lovely atmosphere.

The game was incredible - we had lenghty encounters with leopards, wild dogs and sable (which we've not seen in Southern Africa for many years). On our first evening drive, we were lucky to witness a very rare and unusual battle between a leopard and her cub and honey badgers - the mother leopard dived into they honey badger sett, dragged the youngster out and ran up a tree, closely followed by the mother honey badget. A fight ensued in the tree in which both honey badgers escaped and bolted back into their sett. The guides were as excited and astounded as we were, never having seen such behaviour before.

We would thororghly recommend Little Vumburu to other travellers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Different - and better than ever"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"We had stayed twice before at Savuti when the channel was dry. so it was with interest and a little trepidation that we returned, wondering if it would live up to our prevous wonderful experiences. Happily, it far exceeded them. The camp has been refurbished, with the tents now covered by thached structures (no more baboons bouncing up and down on the tent) and now looks down upon a flowing river. We were warmly welcomed, our previous visits having been noted, and began what has to be our best experience ever.

The area around Savuti abounded with wildlife - elephants, large herds of giraffe, hippos unexpectedly wandering around the bush, leopards and wiid dogs. We also saw lion, cheetah and two antelope that had not been seen the area for four years - eland and roan.

Highlights of the camp included an unexepected and magical dinner in bush one evening, lunch in the bush on an all-day trip; the birthday party - complete with cake - laid on for my husand and another guest; and our final dinner in camp, set in a private area by the pool, decorated with lanterns and tealights. The food at Savuti is the best we have ever had - and that is exceeding a very high standard.

Abbie and the team have created a very special place and atmosphere and we cannot wait to return to Savuti."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A great return to Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe between 3 Oct 2011 and 14 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The political situation in Zimbabwe had kept us away from the country for 11 years, but after conferring with Expert Africa, now seemed the right time to go back.

On our previous visits, we loved the country and the people and had amazing wildlife encounters. We therefore had a certain fear that this viist would not live up to our previous experiences. Happily, these fears proved unfounded and we had one of our best trips ever to Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. We have been very happy with Expert Africa for a number of years now and this is also reflected in what the camp owners and managers tell us about their experiences with you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"A great camp.

Excellent guides and "front of house" team, good food and clean, well-maintained camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Kanga is without doubt one of the best camps we have visited in our many trips around southern Africa. As the camp is effectively less than a year old, everything is impressively clean and sparkling, yet it manages to feel like a well-established little camp that sits perfectly in its forest clearing around the pan.

Our hosts Richard and Gilly manage a perfect balance of warmth, professionalism and relaxed style in the way the camp operates and we came away - reluctanctly, having enjoyed our stay so much - feeling that we had spent a happy few days with old friends. The beauty of Kanga is that one can spend a day relaxing in camp and still see great wildlife right in front of you. With no need to move on, it is possible to watch fascinating behaviours that one would not see from a vehicle or possibly even on foot.

We saw, for first time, a beautiful male bushbuck hesitantly make his way to the water, alert to every sight and sound and easily spooked even by the baboons who spent their days at the pan.

The most unforgettable experience was seeing a leopard family - a mother and three large cubs - come down to drink one night as we sat on deck, whilst other nights saw the visits of lions and hyenas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Vundu was a great experience from a wildlife and guiding point of view. Having not visited Zimbabwe for 11 years, it was amazing to find that our guide at Vundu was Mark, who we had last met when he had guided us at Musango camp on Lake Kariba. We had a great few days in Mark's company, which included a hilarious encounter with a male elephant which is definitely worth sharing on YouTube; an amazing sighting of a female leopard and her cub; lions eating a young elephant (gory but fascinating); and close-up, on-foot viewings of the local pack of wild dogs.

As a camp, Vundu is functional rather than comfortable and it feels tired and in need of some TLC. Some "sprucing up" would make Vundu feel more cared for, without losing the real bush camp feel.

The layout of the camp along the river left no space for any "sitting out" area in front the of the tents and little to see in camp, although the antics of the vervet monkeys around the dining area were always entertaiing."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Fabulous Selous

Tanzania between 25 Sep 2010 and 3 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"For us this was a short trip - 6 nights in the bush - but without doubt one of the best we have ever had."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"We stayed in Suite 3, which used to be called the Rhino House, and it is absolutely superb. Sited a the far end of the camp, it's quite a walk but it really is worth it: we felt as if we were in our own private little corner of Africa.

Without exception, the camp staff were wonderful -very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Mike and Carol , the managers are new in post, this being their first month at Sand Rivers, but they were excellent hosts. Having been to Sand Rivers previously, our expectations were high and were exceeded: it felt more like a sharing the camp with friends than being "guests".

Our guide, Iyan, was superb, as was the variety of game that we saw, the highlight being wild dogs (fantastic!). Our time with Iyan was shared with other experienced "Africa hands" and he really listened to what we were interested in and tailored the game drives to the best opportunities for the things we wanted to see.

Going back to a camp we have previously enjoyed is always a risk: we know that teams change and the question is always "will it be as good as it was before?". In the case of Sand Rivers, the answer emphatically not just yes, but even better against a standard that was already exceptional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We chose to visit Beho Beho on the recommendatoin of a friend. Having just come from a fabulous experience at Sand Rivers, we were wondering if it could possibly match up. From the point at which we handed over at the hot springs, it became clear that we would have a wonderful time at Beho Beho.

The site of the camp, high up on a hill, gives fabulous views over the surrounding landscape. Our room, at the far end of the camp, was lovely. The team were welcoming, friendly and hospitable at every level. Having been to Zimbabwe several times, we discovered acquaintances in common with Tam and Sasha which was a real delight.

The highlight of the camp had to be seeing a civet wandering around late at night; a visit during dinner one evening from Bond, a regular elephant visitor; and encountering a mother elephant and her youngsters one morning munching their way through the trees, shrubs and flower beds.

The food at Beho Beho is out of this world - how do they do it?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Oyster Bay is on a par with the best boutique hotels in the UK - beautiful, spacious rooms, excellent food and a great front of house team.

As a stopover before the flight back to London, there couldn't be a better place."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team