This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

20% success

Wild dog

43% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Eland

88% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Essex

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2023
"The purpose of my trip was to return to Sand Rivers after 20 years. It was where my late wife and I honeymooned and planned to return on our 20th wedding anniversary. It’s a lovely camp in a wonderful location. The room was wonderful.

The camp was just at the end of the season and preparing to close. There was only one other couple there when I arrived and I even had the whole camp to myself for one night when they left and before another guest came in.

My guide was Johnny by sheer chance. It was the same Johnny who also guided my wife and I in Katavi back in 2018.

Days mostly consisted of long early morning game drives with breakfast in the bush and late afternoon drives with a sundowner in search of elusive predators. The area is very remote and you won’t really bump into any other vehicles unless they are from the same camp. The scenery is spectacular at this time of the year (my previous visit was in October 2003 when it was parched dry).

I did a morning river cruise which broke the monotony of banging around in a vehicle and gave a fresh view of the wilderness I was in. With plenty of crocodiles, hippos and birds to see. You can no longer travel as far up the river as the rapids as there is now a big dam with a hydroelectric generation plant currently being installed.

A night drive also gave a new slant on what was becoming familiar territory after 5 days. We finally caught up with the small local pack of wild dogs that Johnny had seen on the way to meeting me on my transfer day. First time I have seen dogs on a night drive, unfortunately they were gone in the morning. Possibly due to the lions calling in the night.

Food was of the high standard you would expect from a lodge of Sand River’s standing. With plenty of wine to accompany. Staff were very attentive and are always looking for ways to improve in the already excellent service.

The room was immaculate with a large comfortable bed and an open view of the river. I had bats visit me every morning to clean up the insects while I was having a wash." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs ST
Cambridge

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2023
"Fantastic welcome and attention from the staff. Above average food quality and plenty of drinks available. A really nice relaxed vibe in the main dining area.

Good wifi although a pity this was limited to the pool area.

Our room was very comfortable and had a great view of the river. We especially appreciated the good size of the room and the bathroom facilities worked well.

The game drives were longer than other camps we had been to but much appreciated and we were absolutely thrilled to have such a good leopard sighting along the river.

We took the chance to do the walking safari, night safari and fishing on the river trip to emphasise the range of camp activities we were able to enjoy." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"We loved our hillside suites with the plunge pools. Stunning location overlooking the river.

Staff very friendly, good balance of interaction and time on our own. Bernadette very attentive and our guide Hussain was very friendly and knowledgable.

We feel they got the food just right, quantities and quality. Especially loved the high quality packed breakfasts which Hussain set up for us on our morning drives. The breakfast sandwiches, pancakes, and the fresh fruit juice were particular favourites.

Buffet lunches were spot on and quick to serve ourselves before getting back to our rooms for a siesta.

Pool area was lovely, Wi-Fi in that area was a bonus if you wanted it!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"We liked the camp a lot. It has a nice view on the river and the terrace is always a good place to meet someone. The staff was very nice and the food good (not as good as in Ikukka Lodge).
The rooms are in an open banda. You can hear the noise of the hippos at night. The interior isn't luxurios, but you have everything you need." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms K.
United Kingdom

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2022
"Sand Rivers was fantastic. The camp is beautiful and the staff made us feel very welcome. The fly camping experience was phenomenal! We were particularly impressed with our guiding by Hamza and Hussein. The variety of activities available was also brilliant - we really enjoyed the boat trips and walking safaris, in addition to the game drives. We also enjoyed how remote the camp was - we rarely saw another car in the 5 days we were there. And the food was notably excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Utah

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2021
"What a very special place. The entire staff came out and greeted us with a song and ice cool drinks to welcome us in the driveway as we arrived to camp on our first day. Nice touch!

The guiding was excellent. Haamza (sp?), our guide, took us on a boat safari and 2 safari walks. We learned about everything from spear grass, termites and millipedes to Hippos and Bao Bab trees and the roles they play in the ecosystem. Haamza also helped us a lot with our birding as well. Some very large crocodiles in the Rufigi. We saw a Black Mamba near the Beho Beho air strip as we were leaving Sand Rivers.

I loved this part of the Rufiji river and the camp sits right on it. It felt very wild and alive here. Some of the best pictures I took during the whole trip were from when we stayed here.

We made new friends with some of the staff and they were great. Thank you to Sara, Reggie and Good Luck for taking such good care of us. The rooms were luxurious and the food was Over the Top First Class." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms W
Austria

"Amazing camp in an amazing place"

5 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2021
"Sand Rivers was a great choice for our honeymoon. The rooms are just wonderful - we enjoyed the honeymoon suite (room no. 2): The room was open and breezy with a great view from the hill over the landscape and river. Not to forget the pool, which was cool and refreshing after the safari activities. Also the food was fantastic, prepared by Bernadetta with a lot of love and passion (her carrot baclava is particularly famous). We loved our bush breakfasts with the homemade cereals and fresh fruit, which we enjoyed on the game drives or during the boat safari on the river.

Wildlife was great, even though our trip was during the green season. We saw wilddog three times and even while hunting.

The highlight of our stay definitely was the fly camping, which was truly fantastic. The location at lake Tagalala is so beautiful and you can listen to the sound of the hippos in the lake while having a 5star dinner and after that sitting at the camp fire. We would have loved to stay longer to do more fly camping!

Nick and Jana are great managers, and we enjoyed their company and had very meaningful and interesting conversations with them over dinner. We felt so well taken care of by all of the staff!

Our guides Godfrey and Simba are very experienced and knowledgeable, we had a great time with them on safari!

And - last but not least - we felt very privileged to be the only guests at the lodge during our entire stay and to have this wonderful place and wilderness all to ourselves." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr G
California

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2020
"They did a great job, very good staff but we could have hiked more and further on our walks." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Steve
Hope Valley

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"4 nights at sand Rivers, different again to the others, but equally as good." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs J
Taunton

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Nice people, unbeatable location.

Bedroom was spacious and camp-like with relatively basic features but who cares when you are out in the middle of the park with stunning views." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 74
96%
74 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (277 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (219 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (166 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (80 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (7 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa