This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P M from Derbyshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Namibia trip Sept 2017

Namibia between 1 Sep 2017 and 16 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"My overall feeling about the trip is very positive, notwithstanding the occasional (probably inevitable) minor niggle, referred to in individual sections.

Everything was organised extremely well, with no problems of logistics, and the experience I obtained of Namibia was varied and consistently interesting. All the lodges were of a very good standard, with comfortable facilities and good quality food - as, indeed, I would have expected, given the overall cost.

The constant moving around was, inevitably, somewhat wearing by the latter stages, but this was an unavoidable element of this type of trip which attempts to cover a significant amount of ground. And, by the end, I felt I had acquired some satisfying insight into the country and its cultures, even if a trip of this nature can never hope to do much more than scratch the surface."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Wonderful scenery"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Everything done very efficiently"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Very smart hotel"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"The hotel is very well-located and equipped, though restaurants are a little limited in range. Swakopmund is an interesting contrast to other parts of Namibia, despite the lingering greyness and consequent cool temperatures.

I took an excursion to Walvis Bay and boat trip which was well-run and worthwhile."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Interesting but a little too long"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"A three night stay here is unnecessary, since the worthwhile activities can be done in less time. Although the petrified forest is quite interesting, it involved a very lengthy journey covering similar terrain etc. to previous excursions and only merited a short visit.

It also meant that two out of three evenings had a "bush dinner" which was entertaining the first time but repetitious after that. Similarly, the singing/dancing routines, which the staff engaged in at every opportunity, eventually became a little excessive.

Service and facilities, like the other Wilderness camps, are of a good standard, but the rooms are a little dark."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"The smartest of the camps"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"The camp is the best equipped of those I stayed in, being the newest, and there was an excellent range of wildlife seen on the game drives. However, I was disappointed to find that an excursion to the Skeleton Coast (described as a highlight by people I spoke to) was only offered as an optional (and expensive) extra to guests not staying three nights. As a result, and since I refused, on principle, to pay the extra amount, I found myself on a final game drive which closely resembled a previous one and which meant that my overall level of satisfaction was a little below earlier expectations.

This arose because the couple I had been with chose not to go out on the final afternoon and this, in turn, triggered a sudden, (strategic?) illness in our guide, leaving me to join a newly-arrived couple, without any advance notice. This was the only time in the Wilderness camps that my status as a single traveller left me feeling slightly spare, possibly not unrelated to the fact that the (excellent and very enthusiastic) camp manager and her husband had earlier left, on their leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"V interesting visit to Himba village"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Spectacular location and welcome contrast to the desert regions. Views down the river and birdlife were a very positive aspect. The camp staff were particularly friendly and interesting to talk to.

I found the Himba village visit fascinating and a far more authentic experience than the Damara "Living Museum", especially since I was the only visitor, along with my guide, and the lingering low cloud meant that the cattle had not yet been taken to pasture."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Close contact with wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"A very different experience from the desert camps owned by Wilderness. The setting and the large numbers of birds and other wildlife make this a worthwhile camp to stay in. I particularly liked having a small waterhole outside my room, along with the attached "hide" and a supply of birdseed which enhanced the viewing experience.

Getting close to cheetahs and leopards was an excellent experience, albeit not easily brought about by the guide. This was the only camp, however, where my single traveller status felt like a slight handicap - eating alone, for example, without being asked if I would prefer to have company, as in Serra Cafema, and spending much of the last game drive (following a female leopard) unable to hear the guide or see what was happening. This was partly a result of the greater numbers of visitors, but also the different style of this camp."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team