This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr A, B & B from San Diego

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

5-Jul-2016 to 4-Aug-2016

Namibia and 2 other countries between 15 Jul 2016 and 4 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Have nothing to add beyond writing that Maruska was tremendous to work with. Well done!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only suggestion would be to have people drive out the east gate of Etosha (which we did) and south through Otavi on the way to Mundulea Reserve, rather than you suggested departure through the south date of Etosha. Although more gravel road, you see more game."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2016
"It is a more than adequate stopover hotel within walking distance from the airport."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2016
"Our main desire here was to see African wild dogs (Lycaon pictus). We were not disappointed. One day when hunted with them and the next we saw their den and the pups being fed. Our guide was knowledgable.

The only concern was driving safety. While chasing the dogs it became a bit of Mr. Toad's wild ride, especially for those in the last seats. We were violently bounced around. We still were glad to have gone on the chase, but we suggest that if at possible passengers move forward in the vehicle and wear seatbelts.

The staff was wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. Loved the proximity of the animals to camp, even if the vervets were a bit pesky.

Here we sought out and followed lions on the hunt. Although unsuccessful, very interesting to watch.

Great views of cheetah and her adult cubs. Very nice walk learning plants, tracks, and scat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"Nice way stop accommodation.

Nice ambiance, food, and staff. One of our group had issues with the hot water in the shower."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"The expression "style over substance" applies here.

Nice rooms, but we first had no water in the shower. They fixed this in the evening, but there was no hot water until they fixed it just before we checked out the next morning. The safe did not work.

The staff often seemed bored with their jobs."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"The staff and guide were wonderful.

It was a long haul (130km roundtrip) to see black rhinos the first day, but still worth it.

The next day was shorter drive, but still saw rhinos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Bored staff, perfunctory service. This was third "outside" eating experience for us, and we did not really wish to do this yet.

It served no purpose, plus the large crowd of people stood around waiting for buses to the dinner spot.

We asked and were able to walk there and back."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"Everything was excellent here – guide, staff, food, location, and travel to the coast.

Took short walk with guide, which was nice.

Perhaps our or at least my favorite camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"Bored staff sometimes even surly. Accommodation worn but fine.

The experience driving out the east gate of Etosha was better than expected with decent number of mammals at the waterholes.

Got to see three black rhinos together at the camp watering hole."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"This is a totally different experience than the other posher camps.

The accommodations were rougher but still quite nice. This is all walking, so may not be for everyone. We loved it.

We did a 10km and the 6km walk the first day. One does not see many animals on the walks - the blinds are best for this - but Bruno uses the Socratic method to great advantage asking us to elucidate some particular scat, track, or signs of sone event. The only suggestion would be to take a five to ten minute sit down break every hour or so. Bruno suggested the camp might close in the future, so go while you can.

Although laundry services were indicated in the materials provided us, this was not the case."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"Comments were given earlier for our first stay.

All was the same, except we all had hot water."
Excellent

Tanzania 2014

Tanzania between 29 Jul 2014 and 12 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. Have not written much about the parks. While we are glad we visited Ngorongoro and lake Manyara (one person visited these over 30 years ago and they were much different) we would not not return to either. Tarangire, North Serengeti, and Ruaha were all great in their own ways and very much worth the visit, if we were to return we would explore different parts of the very large, diverse, and less trammeled Ruaha. Even with any minor complaints we would do it all again just as it occurred. We have a short slide show (with small camera) should you want a copy. Although we know people were trying to please and we saw the good side, everyone we met was very friendly and clearly took pride in what their country and people had to offer. NB: With a few exceptions, when you asked, you could get quite good, strong coffee rather than the instant coffee often served. Interesting for a major coffee-producing nation. We would consider Expert Africa for any future Africa travel, perhaps Namibia.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Not much to say here. It was really Ellie who walked us through the process. Well done Ellie."

Onsea House

Onsea House

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"Calvin gave us a wonderful walk around the hill on which Onsea is located, including agricultural aspects and local people. Food ranged from good to excellent, with service always excellent. Had a very later dinner awaiting us when we arrived. Had a very nice chat with one of the owners, Axel. Definitely a great place to recoup from air travel in preparation for a safari. The one and only issue about cost on this trip occurred at Onsea House. One of our vouchers read full board and the the other read half board. We had to pay $65 (US) for a lunch for all three of us. So, was this supposed to be included or not?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"Jackie and Justin were genuine, accommodating, instructive. Our guide Kevin was excellent and accommodated the biological background of two of three of us in attempting to show us everything possible. Marvelous experience. He sensed our sense of humor, which made our time together great. The one comment is a flat tire experience. In and of itself it was no problem. One of us is a very experienced field scientist so chipped in to help. It became evident that the rim of the tire would not fit the (new) hub of the wheel (by about 2mm). Kevin realized that the two front tires could be swapped out so all was well in the end with a two hour delay. This showed Kevin's keen ability to improvise but it also showed the need to check all equipment before departing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"One of us thought the place a bit "posh" for this safari, but he was out-voted by the wonderful tour of the coffee farm and two wonderful massages received by the two women in the group. The staff did fail to wake two of us up the first morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira Mara - Ndutu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"Our hostess Anna was wonderful. Late one afternoon we had a torrential downpour lasting about 30 minutes as we returned to camp. Anna and her staff were very solicitous for the comfort and well being of the guests. She could not have done better. A bit of humor was the repeated efforts to keep our shower buckets ready for us even when we did not need them. Our guide Mesenga was great. Of our three guides his English was perhaps not as good, but this only provided more opportunity to converse. Nevertheless, his knowledge and patience with us was superb. We did establish, while waiting for the wildebeest to cross the Mara River, that the correct name for a gathering of many Land Cruisers/Range Rovers is a"clutch" as in a pride of lions or herd of wlildebeest."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"This was our last stay on our safari and although we saw much elsewhere, in some ways this was perhaps the best. This is the one place we did take a walk with armed rangers. Nothing spectacular on the walk but a great chance to see tracks, scat, and plants up close at a leisurely pace. Both this walk and the drives were all with Geoffroy, who was excellent. As with the other guides he rose to the occasion in showing pushy biologists far more than we might have otherwise hoped for. Had morning walk with the guide trainer Simon. Loved the walk and conversations with him, in which he clearly loved playing up his knowledge and wisdom of the bush. The two women who seemed to run the camp, Yvonne and Delray, were very attentive. It was a pleasure to meet and converse with the owner Chris Fox who gave us a very informative description of the trials, tribulations, and political realities of operating a place such as Mwagusi."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

0 night Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"The hotel was marvelous. Absolutely great. The problem was trying to drive from the airport to the middle of town (one hour or so), 2.5 hour stay at the hotel, and then an hour plus back to the airport. The drive back to the airport was a bit harried as we were not sure we would make it in time. In the end it was no problem but the return driver was very timid and certainly did not assuage our concerns. If at all possible find a place, even if much less lavish, nearer the airport."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team