This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Kensington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

Exceptional trip

Namibia between 26 Dec 2015 and 16 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a truly amazing 3 week trip through Namibia. We were really happy to have chosen a self drive and felt perfectly safe and in control at all times. The views and vastness are indescribable and the places we stayed at were amazing and different each time. Our highlights were Hoanib in the Skeleton Coast, Fish River Lodge and watching the sun rise over Sossusvlei.

The weather in January was perfectly fine and we only had rain 1-2 at night. However as the rains had come, the animals in Etosha were less visible. Driving was also fairly straightforward.

Overall, very well organized by Tracy and we definitely hope to go back again!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"Good start of our trip"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2015
"We stayed here for one night at start of trip. Good accommodation and reasonable food"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Wonderful horse back ride"

1 night Arrived 28 Dec 2015
"We had a nice stay at Bagatelle and particularly enjoyed the horseback ride with sundowner through beautiful scenery.

Food, in buffet style, was good, but they quickly ran out of most the buffet options. Also, some of the staff seemed a bit disinterested."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Exceptional views over Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2015
"We truly enjoyed our stay at Fish River Canyon Lodge. Fantastic drive up to the lodge which is set in a spectacular location overlooking the canyon (with magnificent views from the room as well as the pool and sitting area).

Excellent throughout, we particularly enjoyed the full day drive in the Canyon, which included a swim in a natural rock pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Unique Nature stay"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2015
"We enjoyed our stay in the remote Eagle Nest cottages. You have a true sense of solitude and are surrounded by vast landscapes, dotted with herds of oryx and wild horses. Cook your own dinner on the braai is a really nice addition"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Relaxing stay"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"We enjoyed our stay at Little Kulala but overall felt a bit disappointed with the value for money and compared to some of the other (Wilderness) camps it lacked a bit of personality. Also, our guide was fairly disinterested and seemed to do the bare minimum.

Overall, still a wonderful setting with exceptional rooms (rooftop outside bed for stargazing, plunge pool, ...) and we had a great time, just expected that little bit extra"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Nice play to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2016
"Nice place with friendly staff and private parking. A good place from which to explore Swakopmund (right in center) and surrounding areas.

We also enjoyed relaxing in their garden."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Nice excursion, not much kayaking"

5 Jan 2016 • Morning excursion

The trip is a great way to get up close with the seal colonies in Walvis bay and potentially even see some dolphins. However the actual amount of kayaking is limited and you don't see much else.
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Great staff created lovely atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2016
"We had a wonderful time at Damaraland camp. The staff goes out of its way to make your stay enjoyable.

We particularly enjoyed the morning breakfast in the mountains as well as the Boma dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Out of this world experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2016
"Really an amazing location to stay and visit. Great rooms and communal areas, combined with friendly staff and opportunity to see animals in a very different desert setting.

The trip to the coast is particularly impressive"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Disappointing experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"We had really high hopes for this place but overall were quite disappointed. The camp is dated but more importantly the staff was totally uninterested. (with 1-2 notable exceptions) Also the game viewing felt more like rushing towards sighting that others had radioed in and we often were with +3 cars watching the same animals.

We did enjoy seeing rhinos up close on foot and the waterhole in front of the lodge is really nice and attracts a lot of animals."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Beautiful and stylish stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2016
"Really beautiful location with very nicely done rooms and communal areas just next to Etosha. Overall, very good and friendly service and we enjoyed having a drink in the pool.

One small note: They do attract a lot of bugs at night (contrary to any other place we stayed at) making it less comfortable to sit outside"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Unique stay in middle of Erongo mountains"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2016
"We were very positively surprised by Erongo Wilderness Lodge and were happy we decided to stay two nights here.

Very nice facilities with excellent breakfast and overall felt very personal and homey. The walks in the nature are also very nice and give a great view over the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team