This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita

Reviews of Villa Margherita

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Margherita and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Villa Margherita review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Very welcoming and helpful. Immaculately clean. Superb breakfast.

Central location in walking distance of everything." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
FunOnly
Calgary

"Faded Old Mansion"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"The Villa Margarita is a historic mansion that has been converted to a B & B. It is a picture of faded elegance with musty smelling carpet and worn furnishings. The location is central to the historic down town with good restaurants within walking distance.

Swakopmund appears to be a town in transition with most of the new development occurring on the south end of town on the way to Walvis Bay and closer to the beach. I suspect that it will only be a few years before the downtown of Swakopmund dies, and Villa Margarita with it, unless some major development is undertaken.

Our stay was OK for 2 nights but would not be suitable for people wishing a modern hotel with all the conveniences. There are lots of these modern places on the beach" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Amersham

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Another warm welcome. The Adam and Eve suite we had was well equipped, the breakfast was excellent. Well located and an easy walk into the town centre for meals in the evening. We ate at the Tug restaurant (booking recommended) and Kucki’s German pub both of which were good and value for money.

We booked a Living Dunes Experience with Charly’s Tours. This was well organised, very interesting and they picked us up from the VM. The only slight drawback was that we were the only English speakers among a party of 20 Germans.

The German bakery just down the road from the VM does lovely cakes and sandwiches for a picnic lunch." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Paula
Atlanta

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"I found the staff to be pleasant, and they tried hard. I had an experience at breakfast due to short staffing that was not great. However, for a middle of the road B&B, they are fine. I am assuming our experience was a fluke." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs C.
Blauzac

"An historic house, well situated"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"This was the most average of all our stays on this trip, but also the only town stay.

The house is a 1900's villa with a pleasant garden. It is a 5 min walk into town. meals were good, but this was the one place no gluten free bread was available. Cars were parked outside but there was a guard all night. Our room had a large balcony and was spacious." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7-8/10. very good B&B. House is 1903 and renovated about 15 years ago. A comfortable guest house and reasonably priced. We stayed in the Lord Nelson room, en-suite with separate sitting room. Reasonably well appointed, very good WiFi. the room had a TV! Good location only 10 mins walk to seafront. Breakfast was fine, nice staff. Bed was very firm, too hard." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2018
"Our main disappointment at Villa Margherita was the room. We were allocated a bedroom in a building at the back of the property; the first night we were on our own, the second night the other bedroom was taken and the plumbing noise from the adjacent bathroom was disturbing and not acceptable. Our room was not particularly clean but worse was that the decor was exceedingly tired. For example, there was a split in the upholstery of both armchairs and the bathroom tiling was quite cracked.

The breakfast was not a buffet so all food had to be delivered from the kitchen meaning we were served our cereals and cooked breakfast at different times. Not ideal for a relaxing meal. The quality of the food was OK.

The staff were friendly and helpful and were kind enough to give us an early breakfast on the day we went kayaking.

Our disappointment was the quality of the room which was probably compounded as Villa Margherita receives accolades in many travel guides; I even read one in Travel Namibia (I think that's the title of the magazine) while in Namibia which states it's the author's favourite place to stay in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mrs J.
Sussex

"Villa Margherita"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"A German townhouse attractively decorated in the middle of Swakupmond. We only had breakfasts but they were good.

We went to Sandwich Bay with Turnstone Tours. It was a good day out but it would have been better if they had called us to say that we should start an hour earlier because of the tides. As it was, we had a short time at the Bay and a hair-raising journey along the coast to beat the incoming tide. I have written to Turnstone about this." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Wendy
Melbourne

"Villa MarMargherita"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"We liked the fact that we were given the Romeo and Juliet room." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2018
"A perfectly adequate place. We thought the accommodation was looking a bit tired" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 58
88%
58 reviews of Villa Margherita by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
18
5
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa