This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

1

My Oct 2019 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 7 Oct 2019 and 26 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. Everything we asked for. This is the third journey that Maruska has arranged for us. We can’t fault her work or the company.

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Expert Africa to anyone."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"None"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"No"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Poor provision and quality of vegetarian food. Consistently undercooked vegetables.

Slow service."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Unhelpful surly reception staff. Poor choice of food. Accommodation dirty. Broken patio door lock. Bathroom tap fell off. All reported but nobody seemed to care."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Terrible
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Rooms need to be brought up to date. Reception and seating areas are excellent. Air conditioning should be considered at this level of lodge. Staff excellent. Very helpful."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our guide Bons was superb. Very nice helpful staff. Management was superb. Nice touches like hot water bottles when the temperature dropped.

Trying really hard."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"Rosie (guide) and Ruben (manager) were superb and went beyond expectations. Situation is just wonderful and there appears to be consistent good sightings, up close, of the desert elephants.

Food for vegetarians was very poor. Unimaginative and badly served."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Very welcoming and helpful. Immaculately clean. Superb breakfast.

Central location in walking distance of everything."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"We felt that we shouldn’t have been advised to spend two nights here. Very limited in things to do. Nice location to explore initially. Chef was excellent and provided good vegetarian food. Manageress not in evidence and did not appear to be interested in her clients. Rooms were poor, lacking in toiletries etc. Cold and dusty due to open floorboards. No suitable lounge area or feeling that you could linger after meals"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"Very nice welcoming people. Excellent vegetarian food. Very clean."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Expert Africa feedback

Namibia between 7 Oct 2010 and 27 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole we were delighted with our trip. It was well organised and Maruska gave us good advice.

Some of the accommodation was below par but mostly it was of excellent quality. We were so pleased that she advised on a larger car, the X-Trail, and that made the travelling pleasant. We felt that 3 nights at Khowarib was a mistake and you could do the half-day Himba visit on the day you leave so we paid for an extra night at Doro Nowas instead.

This was a special retirement trip and it did not disappoint.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Only to take note of the points we raised regarding some of the lodges."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"Within walking distance of town centre. Once you are inside the gates you feel that you are in a good quality lodge.

Staff were helpful when we arrived early from our flight."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"A wonderful experience.

Staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Although this was relatively expensive there were no hidden extras and it was good value with the included activities. We were glad we started our trip here because it set the standard for game viewing.

Catering was excellent and there was a good atmosphere when sharing the table with other guests at dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"The location was superb with every balcony overlooking the waterhole which was frequently visited by animals.

It was a bit awkward having to wait for a member of staff to escort us the 70 metres to the dining room after dark (health & safety).

The food was poor and the chef needs to take some training in preparing meals for vegetarians."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"This has the feel of a state-run camp compared to the up-market lodges but the rooms were clean and the staff were helpful.

The camp has its own waterhole where you can sit at any time and see what appears. The night game drive was poor and expensive compare with self-drive experiences in the park during the day.

I particularly want to commend the catering staff for adapting to our vegetarian requirements. very friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"This lodge was an interesting and enjoyable experience.

Fabulous location although half of the rooms were tucked away at the back, without a view and not facing the area where the animals appeared.

Service was exceptional and the food and (included) wine were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

"Khowarib Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"This is a fairly new lodge which at first sight looks very impressive but they need to iron out a couple of problems.

It was the only location where we were troubled by mosquitoes and the open air bathrooms had no protection. There seemed to be a high turnover of local staff and there seemed to be too many managers who liked to stand drinking at the bar.

The owner seemed to have vast experience and skill in running safari trips and we had the most wonderful day driving down the Hoanib river bed. The trip to the Himba village was a little disappointing with no sign of normal village life and the impression was of a place to sell trinkets.

We left here a day early.

Elephant tracking - Hoanib Riverbed: This was a superb day out. 2 of us with a knowledgeable driver and Landcruiser.

He was unstinting with his time and information and was able to find the elephants although they had moved around quite a bit. Nice lunch as well.

Himba excursion: We felt that this was all a bit false and it might be being overdone now. No sign of village life but plenty of trinkets for sale. The guide had a good knowledge of the culture."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2010
"This excellent lodge has a superb location.

The rooms are vast and the highlight is being able to wheel your double bed out and sleep under the stars.

Service was very good and they made a real effort to provide interesting vegetarian food for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"This is an goodt place to stay while in town. It is quiet and secure but within walking distance of the centre.

Sam is an attentive host who is enthusiastic about the quality he provides. Cuisine is superb but if you eat two nights running you may repeat some courses on the menu.

He could not be more helpful with information and even supplemented his superb breakfast with the offer of a sandwich for our journey.

Sea kayaking on Walvis Bay Lagoon: Jeanne was not around but the young man who stood in for her did a great job. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and provided a safe but interesting experience.

There is plenty of opportunity to get close to the seals and pelicans although it gets a bit crowded when the motor launches come in."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Point Kayaking"

21 Oct 2010 • Morning excursion

Jeanne was not around but the young man who stood in for her did a great job. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and provided a safe but interesting experience.

There is plenty of opportunity to get close to the seals and pelicans although it gets a bit crowded when the motor launches come in.
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"This lodge did not match up to others on our trip.

It has a good location and private access to the park but you still end up at the dunes at the same time as everyone else. The option of sleeping on the roof was not realistic. A small area above the bathroom with access from outside on a sort of ladder with no handrail. This in full view of the guest area.

Some of the food was so badly cooked it was inedible and no effort was made to correct this. Staff were not exactly attentive and there appeared to be some scam going on with the house wine. No-one, including the manager, was able to give a clear answer to the question of whether wine was included with the meal which it is in this chain of lodges. The wine (boxed) was served from the carafe and when we checked out we were given an unitemized bill. On asking for details the house wine was on the bill. When challenged the member of staff immediately crossed it out as if expecting to.

Morning excursion to Sossusvlei dunes: I expected to be there earlier in the morning having a private entrance. We had to wait for other guests and for the tyre pressures to be checked and I didn't feel we got the best photo opportunities. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and he did a good job."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"This is the best lodge ever. Everything about it is fantastic.

The luxurious rooms are well spaced out with superb views and you feel totally relaxed. Included activities give a comprehensive experience of what the park has to offer.

The service could not be better, food is prepared within view - just marvellous."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"We stayed in the 'garden court' rooms which should have been for drivers or guides rather than guests and the accommodation was poor.

Staff were very helpful and made sure we saw the meerkats and cheetahs.

Catering was excellent and the chef made a real effort to cater for our vegetarian requirements."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team