This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Amersham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2019 trip

Namibia between 15 Sep 2019 and 1 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Arrival - Wilderness Safaris, Rachel, met us and provided us with plenty of information as well as accompanying us through the car hire process up to actual collection of the car.

Navigation - The directions and maps provided worked well. However we found that trying to use mobile phone navigation apps was a waste of time as they didn’t work well and used a lot of data

Fuel - In the areas we visited fuel was readily available. Also all the fuel stations had excellent toilet facilities, most charged N$2 for their use.

Supermarkets - There were good, well stocked supermarkets in all the main towns we drove through and we were able to buy sandwiches and snacks from them.

Credit cards - we never encountered any problems using credit cards whether at camps, fuel stations, restaurants or shops."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"It was excellent.

It was easy to find as shown on the map. We had a lovely meal at the Olive Tree restaurant, 5 minutes walk away.

It was convenient starting point for our drive north the following day."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Tented Camp

"Malansrus Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"This is a lovely camp, very welcoming with excellent staff. Drinks were included on the Full board basis.

The two excursions available were good, our guide, Peter was excellent. The only drawback was that it was a long drive to see the desert elephants.

The food was good except for the chicken served on the first night which was severely undercooked so we didn't eat it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

"Mountain Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"We felt that a better route to here was via Outjo rather than the gravelled road to Kamanjab even though this was further.

Again an excellent lodge but our chalet was very, very hot. Our laundry was done efficiently and at no extra charge.

Both the game drives we went on were fine. We could have gone on an additional drive on the afternoon we arrived but we decided to relax after our journey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"The check in procedure was straightforward. An N$500 deposit in cash for the key was taken and returned to us with no fuss when we returned the key as we left. There was no inventory provided and no checks were made. There was no power when we arrived, the maintenance man arrived promptly and it was identified as a problem with the fridge, this was swiftly replaced by a brand new one and then everything was fine.

The chalet itself was basic compared with our previous accommodation, however it was all very clean and more than adequate. The buffet style food was fine with a reasonable choice but not a ‘fine dining’ experience. We didn’t find anywhere in Etosha to buy sandwiches or anything else for a lunchtime snack.

The NWR map of Etosha including illustrations of birds and wildlife was recommended to us and was very useful. It was not actually on display in the Okaukuejo tourist shop when we arrived but was available from under the counter.

The numbers of animals we saw on our drives within Etosha exceeded our expectations and we didn’t feel the need to go on any camp provided drives.
Do allow plenty of time to get back to the camp at sunset, we only just made it!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"Bigger than some of the other places we stayed and somewhat less welcoming, although the staff were all very friendly. Felix, our guide took us on a really good drive in the morning tracking a leopard which we finally found. The afternoon drive to see the work of the Africat Foundation was interesting but less exciting in that the cheetahs there are now in captivity and provided with food rather than in the wild.

Our standard room was very good with a nice view across the bush and very well equipped. We don’t see the benefit of a View room.

We went on one of the three walks which was well signposted and a good opportunity to see some animals on foot rather than from a vehicle."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Another warm welcome. The Adam and Eve suite we had was well equipped, the breakfast was excellent. Well located and an easy walk into the town centre for meals in the evening. We ate at the Tug restaurant (booking recommended) and Kucki’s German pub both of which were good and value for money.

We booked a Living Dunes Experience with Charly’s Tours. This was well organised, very interesting and they picked us up from the VM. The only slight drawback was that we were the only English speakers among a party of 20 Germans.

The German bakery just down the road from the VM does lovely cakes and sandwiches for a picnic lunch."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Glamping Camp

"Desert Hills Glamping Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"This is about 6kms from the road and at one part very steep. We had to shout to get somebody out to greet us, but after that everyone was very friendly, especially Laura and Santos the stars of front of house. Andreas the chef provided us with some of the best food we had on the trip.

We tried to book their trip to Sossusvlei only to be told that their vehicle was broken down. We weren’t happy about this and eventually they arranged for us and another couple staying there to go on a trip from another camp. When the vehicle arrived one of the only seats available was in the back corner next to a window that had been boarded up and hence with no view. This severely restricted the view of all three back row occupants. The seat belt on the corner seat was also broken. The cost advertised for this trip on their website is N$1460 per person but we were charged N$1800, subsequently reduced by N$250 after we complained about the transport inadequacies. It still seemed expensive compared with the other trips we did. Namibia Tracks and Trails should be informed of these shortcomings as we still feel slightly hard done by over this. The trip itself and the guide were fine, although we chose to drop out of the hike to the top of the dune. You need to be fit and sprightly to do this.

The roads around Sesriem particularly from Solitaire were amongst the worst we encountered anywhere.

Solitaire is about the only place to stop between Swakopmund and Sesriem. It is like an oasis where you can get fuel, refreshments (famous for their apple pie) and supplies as well as having a very good puncture repair facility"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"This was disappointing compared with the other accommodation we had stayed at. There was no benefit in being out of town and on the way to the airport as our flight was not until 3.00pm.

With hindsight we would have preferred to stay somewhere in Windhoek close to some restaurants and from where we could have done a walk round the city in the morning. Hilltop Guesthouse or similar would have been ideal.

The food at RC was nothing special."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team