This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita

Reviews of Villa Margherita

Wildlife sightings and reviews

64 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Margherita and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 64
Duration
Arrival date
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"Fantastically friendly staff who were very helpful. The rooms (King & Queen) were huge and very comfortable. The best though was the location being very central with a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. 10minute walk to the beachfront and then you could walk or run along the promenade or if going north, go all the way to a great shopping centre 4-5km away (the last few 100 metres is on sand though).

Would stay here again.

Whilst here, we organised a pelican Point kayaking trip for these travellers. They commented:

Exceeded our expectations

Just do it. On our drive to the seal colony we learnt about the local salt industry and the history of Walvis Bay.

We saw greater and lesser flamingoes, jackals and thousands of seals. The seals swam around us, jumped onto our kayaks to hitch a lift and we tickled their tummies. What a privilege. Jeanne was fantastic. She took photos and videos of our experience which she emailed to us later in the day and provided sandwiches and drinks after kayaking." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M
Canmore

"Villa Margherita review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Seattle

"A lovely stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2017
"We had a great, two night stay at Villa Margherita in Swakopmund. Located within walking distance of so many shops and restaurants, Villa Margherita was a comfortable, cozy launching pad for our time there. We were lucky enough to stay in the Romeo & Juliet room during our honeymoon, which was a nice room overlooking the center courtyard on the property.

The staff at Villa Margherita were very helpful with providing dinner recommendations. Muti in particular was a pleasure to work with as she assisted us in contacting one of our previous lodges about a lost item. Though we were initially unsuccessful, Muti went above and beyond expectations, tracking down the lodge and treating the issue as if it were her own.

When we notified the staff that we'd be leaving too early for breakfast on our first morning, they set us up with food to take with us on our trip down to Walvis Bay early in the morning. The sandwiches were excellent and truly appreciated. The next morning, we dined on their breakfast, which was standard for our time in Namibia, but that standard was above average.

Villa Margherita is a great place to rest your head while exploring Swakopmund and the surrounding area!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2017
"We loved Villa Margherita!

The service staff were vert warm and welcoming and we felt right at home. The courtyard area is beautiful and lush. The Adam&Eve room that we stayed in was huge! We would have liked to have more than 1 pillow per person though.

It is a nice, safe area to walk to town from and is very close to several good restaurants and bars." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Art Deco in Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"Very spacious and well appointed room in an interesting art-decoish building. There is a lovely small enclosed garden in which to relax and watch the birds nest-building and drinking at the bottles provided.

Whilst we did not eat dinner here as there are so many good eating places to explore in Swakopmund, the breakfasts were excellent. The location is perfect - quiet, but a very short walk from all the town's attractions. There was no secure parking available so we parked in an on-street parking bay directly alongside the guesthouse and we left nothing in the vehicle overnight for complete peace of mind.

Staff very friendly and helpful, if at times a little over-enthusiastic in trying to sell the massages available." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Excellent guesthouse in centre of Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"A very friendly place. Large rooms, the whole house was comfortable and beautifully presented & with a lovely garden. A pleasant change after the desert. Delicious breakfast.

The activities offered seemed rather expensive so we made our own arrangements with a local travel agency - collected from the guesthouse for a boat trip from Walvis Bay, which was brilliant!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Netherlands

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"Villa Margherita is a sfeerfully with style furnished house.

My accomodation (called Nelson) was not in de main building but in an annex in the beautiful garden (lots of birds). Being a big tastefully furnished sleepingroom with an ensuite bathroom (with a bath and a seperate shower) and a what oldfashioned furnished sittingroom. Everything very clean. The sittingroom has a connecting door with an other part of the annex. The drawback: sometimes I could hear them literally.

The staff is nice and helpfull.

The food was excellent!!! And during diner they played wonderfull jazzy music.
It is a pity that they use only one menu, every day the same (vish or beef/ perfect quality). After two days I want something else. Of course I can go out for dinner.

I had a good time in Villa Margherita." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms E
Abidjan

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My room in the villa was lovely but the connecting door (to another room) should be insulated better against sound.

The garden was lovely, the service very personable, great breakfast in a lovely salon and the wine list was very special. It is a pity to offer only cold salads for lunch as it does not promote eating in for dinner.

The massage studio was so well-placed and Don (I hope I got his name right) was extraordinary. His services should be mandatory to all guests." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Nice play to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2016
"Nice place with friendly staff and private parking. A good place from which to explore Swakopmund (right in center) and surrounding areas.

We also enjoyed relaxing in their garden." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
I&C
UK

"Villa Margherita review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"Excellent friendly service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 64
88%
64 reviews of Villa Margherita by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
20
6
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (280 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


89% (70 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (65 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (55 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (33 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


80% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


89% (18 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Guesthouse’s three self-catering apartments, each in its own unique location, work well for families or groups of travellers seeking space & privacy within a comfortable, contemporary setting.


96% (9 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (9 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


94% (7 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Pearls Beach Pods

Pearls Beach Pods

With a beachfront location, superb sea views and easy access to the amenities of Swakopmund, The Pearls Beach Pods combine privacy with a high standard of luxury.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa