This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita

Reviews of Villa Margherita

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Margherita and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K
Netherlands

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"Villa Margherita is a sfeerfully with style furnished house.

My accomodation (called Nelson) was not in de main building but in an annex in the beautiful garden (lots of birds). Being a big tastefully furnished sleepingroom with an ensuite bathroom (with a bath and a seperate shower) and a what oldfashioned furnished sittingroom. Everything very clean. The sittingroom has a connecting door with an other part of the annex. The drawback: sometimes I could hear them literally.

The staff is nice and helpfull.

The food was excellent!!! And during diner they played wonderfull jazzy music.
It is a pity that they use only one menu, every day the same (vish or beef/ perfect quality). After two days I want something else. Of course I can go out for dinner.

I had a good time in Villa Margherita." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms E
Abidjan

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My room in the villa was lovely but the connecting door (to another room) should be insulated better against sound.

The garden was lovely, the service very personable, great breakfast in a lovely salon and the wine list was very special. It is a pity to offer only cold salads for lunch as it does not promote eating in for dinner.

The massage studio was so well-placed and Don (I hope I got his name right) was extraordinary. His services should be mandatory to all guests." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Nice play to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2016
"Nice place with friendly staff and private parking. A good place from which to explore Swakopmund (right in center) and surrounding areas.

We also enjoyed relaxing in their garden." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
I&C
UK

"Villa Margherita review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"Excellent friendly service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Derbyshire

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Huge Excellent room - very good breakfast.
Easy access to Swakop highlights.
Over fussy - arrival routine wasn't really what you needed after a long drive - a shower would have been more welcome.
Service a little too earnest/over the top. Hard sell of Health Spa services a bit wearing.
3 nights in Swakop probably too much on the itinerary.
Cold and damp!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Newport

"QUAINT WARM AND FRIENDLY GUEST HOUSE"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2015
"ONE OF THE BEST FILLET STEAKS I HAVE EVER HAD.

SERVICE EXCELLENT PLUS" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Lovely guesthouse in central Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2015
"Extremely friendly- really helpful and enthusiastic staff and a very comfortable room with private balcony. We didn't have dinner here but they were happy to book a table at The Tug (very good) and we were amused that the reservation was in the name of our room (Romeo and Juliet!).

Also ate at Erich's just down the road, which was also excellent.

A really fun place to stay.

Expert Africa arranged a trip to Sandwich Harbour from Swakopmund. These travellers commented:

We had high expectations as we'd done a similar trip three years ago and this was even better. Berger was helpful, informative and a good host. Highlights of the trip were:
- Driving along the narrow strip between the dunes and the ocean which disappears at high tide,
- The climb up the dunes at Sandwich Harbour and the view of the bay,
- Driving through the dunes on the way back and sliding down the roaring dunes.
- The sightings of springbok and a pair of black backed jackals.

Lunch of springbok lasagna was excellent. We loved the red colours of some of the sand (garnet granules we understand) and the feeling of emptiness.

A truly memorable experience. We loved it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"An enjoyable if quirky hotel

The visit to Sandwich Harbour was brilliant--great dunes and scenery. Kayaking with seals was outstanding" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"Despite a welcome on our arrival, the service thereafter was adequate. The rooms, although large, were lacking in facilities.

We cannot really comment on the food, as we only had breakfast.

Whilst here, we organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

This was an excellent trip, and we learned a lot. To be recommended! Our guide was Ernst and he was exceptionally good - articulate, faultless driving around the dunes, overall knowledge of the environment and road building on the shoreline." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr C & Mrs V
Avon

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"All the staff were exceptionally attentive and welcoming. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

The room/suite was very spacious and comfortable with luxury toiletries plus a TV. Laundry was returned the same day and was the best of all the laundry facilites of the whole trip.

Although there was no tea/coffee making facilities it was only a few paces to the main house and they were more than happy to provide drinks as and when asked for.

Suggestions for activities were provided. Bearing in mind we had prebooked a trip we wanted to ensure that any other activity we did would not replicate that. The staff went out of thier way to make sure this wouldn't happen and arranaged a boat trip which was excellent.

The first night we decided to eat at the Villa. As it turned out we were the only guests eating in that evening. This could have been a loney experience but the staff made it an enjoyable experience with excellent food, good wine and a pleasant atmosphere which made for a special meal. Breakfast each day was good, nicely presented and a good choice.

Being in a town made a change from the lodges and provided some shopping opportunities that weren't really available elsewhere. Gave us an opportunity to see a different aspect of Namibian life.

Whilst here, we organised a day-trip to Sandwich Harbour for these guests. They commented about this:

We enjoyed this trip immensely. Ernst the guide was exceptional as a guide and host - he made the day. We couldn't have had a better guide and he provided a very enjoyable lunch and interesting background information on Namibia as a whole. He went out of his way to ensure we saw Snadwich Bay, digging away sand so we could get through whereas some other guides decided it was too much like hard work and returned home.

We highly recommend the Turnstone tour and particularly Ernst." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 58
88%
58 reviews of Villa Margherita by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
18
5
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa