This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita

Reviews of Villa Margherita

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Margherita and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms R
Surrey

"Good, bad and ugly at Villa Margherita"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"During our stay at Swakopmund we experienced highs and lows of our trip within one day. As for Villa Margherita, it provided comfortable lodging (well up to expectations for those seeking only a good night's sleep and a leisurely breakfast), but we experienced shortcomings in hospitality in other respects.

Villa Margherita is an old colonial house converted into a hotel with some charm, about 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We were allocated the “King” room - an enormous, generally well-equipped suite, which comprised a spacious en-suite double bedroom (though rather dimly lit), a second double bedroom and an adjoining lounge. Neither of the latter two rooms were needed or used by us, but we appreciated the gesture. There were other bedrooms within the main house, but we gained the impression that most fellow guests were using the more compact, modern rooms available in a recently built detached wing in the pleasant back garden. The hotel had been well modernized, providing, for example, free internet access to its guests, but, curiously, as described below, only rudimentary telephone facilities.

The hotel supervisor was welcoming. She turned out to be good with routine affairs, but either unimaginative or over-constrained by process when it came to matters of initiative. We gained our first inkling of this when we discussed our need to depart early on our first morning, in order to reach a kayaking rendezvous at Walvis Bay by 7.30am. She gave us to understand that it was impossible for us to take breakfast before 7am – even if this involved only cereal or other non-cooked food. We were not even offered a cold take-out. In the event, we took a chance, went down to the breakfast room at 6.45am and found a serving maid able to provide us with bread-rolls and a hot drink, which we bolted down before setting off at 7am.

We had a delightful day, kayaking among seals and dolphins in the morning, followed by an excursion to Sandwich Harbour in the afternoon. On our way back to the hotel from Walvis Bay, we stopped to take a look at Bird Island (a large artificial platform for collecting guano from resident pelicans, flamingo, seagulls and other birds.) This necessitated leaving the car unattended at a lonely parking area just above the beach, some 100m off the main road to Swakopmund. Our guard was down and we committed the cardinal sin of leaving our rucksack in the passenger compartment of the locked car. On return within 10 minutes, we found a rear window smashed and our belongings stolen. (We later learned that this location was notorious for such crime - with perpetrators hiding in the nearby dunes to await their opportunity).

Back at the hotel, minus ready cash and stolen cellphone, we needed phone facilities to report the car damage to the car-hire firm and to stop our stolen credit/debit cards. Our room had no telephone and we asked if we could use the hotel equipment to report our problems. The supervisor took us to a phone in the dining room, where we had to carry out the calls in the hearing of some dozen hotel-guests eating their dinner (an experience perhaps as irritating or uncomfortable for them as it was for us). She went off, but soon returned to hover over us with a long face and a silent wringing of hands – concerned, as it turned out, that we were making unexpected calls to the UK card companies, which she would have to account for. We reassured her, on completing our conversations, that we would pay for the calls, whereupon she left beaming. Subsequently, we were charged N$225, at N$15 per minute – the latter justifiable, perhaps, if the hotel had invested in a convenient phone system for its guests, but substantially over-priced when compared to the overseas call rates and relative privacy of public call-boxes just down the street.

Our experience of dining at the hotel was limited, though our second breakfast was fine. For our first evening we found that one had to choose from the dinner menu several hours in advance, in order (we were told) that fresh ingredients could be purchased. On this basis, Anni had an unremarkable vegetarian meal. I was still dealing with the mussels from Sossusvlei (discussed elsewhere), so ordered nothing and ate little. For our second evening, reluctant to engage with the choose-in-advance system and, in any case, tired with our experience of the dining room and its phone, we crossed the road to eat tasty, very reasonably priced food at a nearby Mexican restaurant, named Three Namigos." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms G
Ireland

"villa margherita - an oasis of tranquility"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2012
"exceptionally warm welcome by beautifully friendly people. incredibly helpful and catered to all of our needs and desires (booking restaurants, early breakfast, laundry etc).

would highly recommend if travelling to swapomund.

Whilst here, we arranged a Walvis Bay Pelican Point kayaking excursion for these travellers. They commented:

kayaking with jeanne is a must.

a most magical experience which was a definite highlight of our holiday. Jeanne is an amazing, passionate, welcoming and enthusiastic host. highly, highly, highly recommend" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr R &Mrs D
Yorkshire

"Convenient"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2011
"The room was ok but there was no welcome basket of fruit nor any the next day either. Couldn't open the rather dirty blinds so had to have the light on all the time.

Felt it was a bit of a let down compared with what they sat about themselves." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"relaxing hotel"

4 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2011
"A relaxing and comfortable place to stay to recover from our flight. Very friendly atmosphere. All staff extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

Enjoyed private balcony overlooking garden.

Massage very good and helped recovery from flight.

Although tea/coffee provided on request at any time, it would have been nice to have had those facilities in the room. An excellent place to stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Portugal

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2011
"We wish had chosen somewhere else, The location was so noisy as it is on cross roads. The room was unbearably hot, with no means of cooling it down, even some windows were stuck!! We asked for an electric fan to try to circulate the air, but the reply was no. The breakfast was very frugal.

The laundry service was quick, so quick everything came back as dirty as it was given in, and ironed but still very damp. It was rewashed without charge to us.

I would not recommend this guest house to any one. Unfortunately we did to some guests at Kipwe (taking Expert Africa advice to us) and they complained about the noise and unbearable stuffy room as well." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Poor
Mr R & Mrs E
UK

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2010
"Beautiful guest house. great room. Some problems with the food. We expressed our concerns to the owner.

We went to the Tug restaurant which was a brilliant experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Stockport

"Smart and stylish Villa Margherita"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Very smart room. We had the Queen room and it was super stylish. The whole building has a lovely character.
Nice courtyard area.

Food was pretty good as a meat-eater, but poor for the veggie. He had to have pasta both nights and the second night was really bland - soggy gnocchi in white sauce (it should have been gorgonzola, but they either forgot to add it or ran out.

Staff were very nice.

First internet for guests on our trip that we were aware of." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr G & family
USA

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"We loved Villa Margherita. Once again our expectations were quite low as we hadn't heard much about the place (we had wanted to stay at a couple of other properties but they were booked).

VM is relatively new and doesn't yet have the reviews that other places enjoy but it definitely will!! The location is terrific, just a couple of blocks away from downtown swakopmund where all the shopping, restaurants and services are located. The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and the in-room lap tops with web access are a godsend after a week in the wilderness.

The staff are very friendly and the owners are always available and extremely helpful. I would love to go back to swakop and would definitely stay here regardless of availability of any other hotels. Bravo to Elliot and Claudine!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr B x 2
Kaiseraugust

"Awesome dune ride...ask for Hermann"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"Villa Margherita---Good location to area amenities. Owners mingle with the guests during breakfast. On-street parking was initally a concern, but in the end not an issue. Internet service was appreciated. Great kitchen and ambiance in the dining area. Muti was especially accomodating.

The outside vendor (Mula/Mula (sp?) ) for activites was very cool. The boat ride in the morning was very cold and heavy jacket, gloves and hat were all appreciated. The bay was fogged-in most of the day, especially in the morning, but this was the luck of the draw. The boat dropped us off on shore for a Land Rover ride in the dunes (guide was Hermann and he was most excellent !) Once a few kilometers from shore the weather improved dramatically.

The lunch set-up in the dunes was probably the best overall lunch experience of the entire 2 1/2 week trip. Fresh oysters, game, pasta and champagne.....awesome!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
Cirencester

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2010
"This was more like a small boutique hotel than a guesthouse, and the food was better than the local seafood restaurant we tried (The Tug).

The Italian flair for interior design and attention to detail made it quite a contrast to other places we stayed. Lovely breakfasts.

The Sandwich Harbour Tour was real highlight. The guide was absolutely fantastice, very knowledgable, relaxed and friendly." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 58
88%
58 reviews of Villa Margherita by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
18
5
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa