This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr N & Mrs J from Wilts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

1

Janet and Norman's 2013 trip

Namibia between 4 Sep 2013 and 25 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed our trip very much. We would have preferred not to have gone to Halali, but to have had an additional day inn Swakopmund, as we did not have an opportunity to explore the town. Personally, we preferred the smaller lodges, i.e. up to 20 people. We enjoyed meeting the Namibian staff and finding our more about their country.

Our trip has inspired us to make a further visit to Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were told that credit cards would not be accepted throughout the country, but in fact they were. This needs to be amended in your information. Also, we would have liked a detailed breakdown of the individual costs in the quotation.

We will certainly recommend Expert Africa to our friends, and will be using you again."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"First night in Africa"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"This was an excellent introduction to our trip to Namibia.

The staff were very welcoming, and our stay, although brief was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Although our initial impressions were good, we felt that the facilities here were not comprehensive. The rooms were fairly spartan, and the food was not impressive.

However, the staff were outstanding."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"Eagles Nest was one of the highlights of our stay. The rooms were extremely well equipped, and we loved the isolation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"An interesting stopover on our way to Sossusvlei.

Hannelore was happy to share her local knowledge with us, and we learned a lot. We had a good walk to the copper mine accompanied by Tassou!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Despite first impressions, we found Sossusvlei Lodge to be fairly average in its facilities. The rooms were very dark, with few facilities. However, the proximity to the Park and the tour were good.

We were appalled at the amount of waste of food from the buffet.

Little things need more attention i.e. If you wanted to sit on the patio anytime during the day there were plenty of chairs/tables but no parasols. The only shady areas were at the bar and they were few."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"An excellent stay.

Thomas and his wife, and their staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome.

We would recommend Hoodia unreservedly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"Despite a welcome on our arrival, the service thereafter was adequate. The rooms, although large, were lacking in facilities.

We cannot really comment on the food, as we only had breakfast.

Whilst here, we organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

This was an excellent trip, and we learned a lot. To be recommended! Our guide was Ernst and he was exceptionally good - articulate, faultless driving around the dunes, overall knowledge of the environment and road building on the shoreline."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tours to Walvis Bay"

14 Sep 2013 • All-day excursion

This was an excellent trip, and we learned a lot. To be recommended! Our guide was Ernst and he was exceptionally good - articulate, faultless driving around the dunes, overall knowledge of the environment and road building on the shoreline.
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"A good stopping off point on our way to Etendeka, and close to the Rock Carvings. The food was excellent. Room - average."
Average
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"A very interesting couple of days! Dennis was an excellent guide, and was very concerned to share his knowledge.

The food was excellent, and the exchange of views over dinner, in a small group, was stimulating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"We had not read good reviews of Okaukuejo, and so were pleasantly surprised. The waterhole was close to our room, and well worth the several visits we made.

It was easy to visit waterholes in the Park, and we enjoyed the swimming pool and restaurant.

The staff were very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Not a good experience - this was overpriced both in the shop and the restaurant. The waterhole was good, but a long way from the camp.

There were several large groups present in the camp during our stay, which affected the service we received."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Although the camp itself is in a beautiful location, it is isolated, and if you have already visited Etosha, which we had, it is difficult to think of further activities.

However, the staff were excellent, as was the food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Another highlight of our stay. We enjoyed the emphasis on conservation, and admired the dedication of the staff.

The rooms were excellent and the trips really informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team