This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge


20°34’15.1"S 14°22’10.2"E

Reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twyfelfontein C'try Lod..
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Boghall birder
Roslin

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2018
"Brilliant location, service, food, and views." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Taunton

"Loved the view from the bar"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"Our rooms didn't have a view.

Loved the cave paintings." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Miss G
Thetford

"Great location hidden within the rocks"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Beautiful room and facilities, with excellent customer service throughout.

Wonderful evening game drive with excellent trackers who used all their knowledge and skills to locate the female elephants and a newly born baby.

Lots of other game seen along the way and beautiful sundowner overlooking the game reserve." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
J Family
Washington

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"The lodge was fine, but because it was considerably larger than most of the other lodges we stayed at, it lacked their level of personal service and quality of food.

The situation of the lodge is impressive -- it is built along a red sandstone cliff and the entrance is dramatic and features a walk by its own rock carvings and paintings. The pool was the best we experienced, mostly because it had the warmest water and had a nice man-made waterfall where the water fell along the rocks into the pool The rooms were fine, though not particularly memorable. The food was an average somewhat tired buffet.

Location was exceptional -- very close to the rock carvings and other sites. Also, the grounds had a nice 3 km nature walk, though about half way through it was overgrown and difficult to find the trail. The service was fairly indifferent.

Finally, and maybe this sums it up, we were there during a partial lunar eclipse but, incredibly, they failed to deploy their two large telescopes that were sitting behind the reception desk." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs R
Billingshurst

"Great location but rooms too hot!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is in a great location for visiting the cave engravings. Don't bother with the burnt mountain - waste of time! The views are fantastic here and they have their own cave engravings on site. A lovely bar for evening drinks at sunset and the food was very good - a carvery with multiple meat options and an extensive buffet with great service.

The main downside of this accommodation was the rooms. They were dark and a bit cramped, there was a leak from the taps in our bathroom so the floor was always wet, and there is no air conditioning so it was extremely hot and stuffy. There is also no fridge to cool down your wine but you can go over to the bar to get ice. If they renovated the rooms, this place would be great but at the moment it's a bit basic. Although we didn't use them, the lounger cushions round the pool looked very dirty.

We went on the Desert Elephant drive and unfortunately the truck broke down part way so we wasted a lot of time there (but still saw a bull elephant)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
B&A
Warwickshire

"Between a rock and a hard place"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"Great location and, despite others' comments, enjoyable food. But the whole experience was spoilt for us by the lack of ventilation in the room. There WAS a fan but it was high in the roof and turned at about 60 rpm - once per second. Useless.

The rock carvings were well worth all the effort, although our guide was having a "bad hair day" and was very sulky. A French couple asked to see some other carvings but were ignored. The other attractions were d-I-y: organ pipes, burnt mountain and my favourite, the big hole in the ground named (I believe) wondergat. Some other tourists had got there first and we were able to find the way down by following the sound of their conversations (!!)

Back at the camp we enjoyed the swimming pool with natural waterfall/shower and ended up at the upstairs bar where we discovered a very good menu of snacks with a good selection of sensibly-priced wines.

After another good breakfast and the assembling of lunchtime bacon sandwiches we hit the road for Etosha via Xhorixas, where two of the camp's staff lived and who begged a lift. One was actually a guide who could have led us to some elephants had we the inclination.

Stopped at Outje for groceries. Numerous intrusive police checks were worrying. Petrol/Deisel was tricky with some places wanting only cash and some with no toilets. The OK bazaar was the best place we could find for supplies." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Brentford

"Desert elephants & rock art at Twyfelfontein "

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"A wonderful spot and we enjoyed the safari very much - managed to see some desert elephants, and zebra & enjoyed our sundowner watching a stunning sunset over the hills. We also enjoyed seeing the Organ Pipes, and our guided walk to view the impressive rock art. A very informative visitor centre too.

Lovely comfortable chalets with private patios and great views across the desert.

However, the restaurant is a shambles and lacks any management whatsoever - we had to lay our own tables for all the breakfasts and dinners that we had there. Also the buffet food was often not replenished until asked...There were piles of dirty plates and cutlery left at various points around the restaurant, there just didn't appear to be enough staff - the few that were available spent all their time taking drinks orders and bringing them from the bar. And the lighting was so poor at dinner that it was almost impossible to identify what we were eating...." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A very unwelcoming lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"This place could have been lovely; the building were interesting and our bedrooms were gorgeous, but boiling.

It was a place that lacked generosity. Nothing was included and it felt really unfriendly. We asked for ice but apparently it was too hot for ice. The staff seemed miserable and some of the other guests, rude.

i would not recommend it and would never stay there again.

The food was absolutely disgusting." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Mrs W
Ontario

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms M
Ontario

"Twfelfontein"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"A great location. We enjoyed the star info and the various tours.

The only stressor was having the tours fill up and not everyone in our party getting a chance to participate. Front desk folks were not very helpful in that regard." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 49
82%
49 reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
21
9
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa