This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge


20°34’15.1"S 14°22’10.2"E

Reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twyfelfontein C'try Lod..
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

60% success

Giraffe

25% success

Oryx

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
B&A
Warwickshire

"Between a rock and a hard place"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"Great location and, despite others' comments, enjoyable food. But the whole experience was spoilt for us by the lack of ventilation in the room. There WAS a fan but it was high in the roof and turned at about 60 rpm - once per second. Useless.

The rock carvings were well worth all the effort, although our guide was having a "bad hair day" and was very sulky. A French couple asked to see some other carvings but were ignored. The other attractions were d-I-y: organ pipes, burnt mountain and my favourite, the big hole in the ground named (I believe) wondergat. Some other tourists had got there first and we were able to find the way down by following the sound of their conversations (!!)

Back at the camp we enjoyed the swimming pool with natural waterfall/shower and ended up at the upstairs bar where we discovered a very good menu of snacks with a good selection of sensibly-priced wines.

After another good breakfast and the assembling of lunchtime bacon sandwiches we hit the road for Etosha via Xhorixas, where two of the camp's staff lived and who begged a lift. One was actually a guide who could have led us to some elephants had we the inclination.

Stopped at Outje for groceries. Numerous intrusive police checks were worrying. Petrol/Deisel was tricky with some places wanting only cash and some with no toilets. The OK bazaar was the best place we could find for supplies." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Brentford

"Desert elephants & rock art at Twyfelfontein "

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"A wonderful spot and we enjoyed the safari very much - managed to see some desert elephants, and zebra & enjoyed our sundowner watching a stunning sunset over the hills. We also enjoyed seeing the Organ Pipes, and our guided walk to view the impressive rock art. A very informative visitor centre too.

Lovely comfortable chalets with private patios and great views across the desert.

However, the restaurant is a shambles and lacks any management whatsoever - we had to lay our own tables for all the breakfasts and dinners that we had there. Also the buffet food was often not replenished until asked...There were piles of dirty plates and cutlery left at various points around the restaurant, there just didn't appear to be enough staff - the few that were available spent all their time taking drinks orders and bringing them from the bar. And the lighting was so poor at dinner that it was almost impossible to identify what we were eating...." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A very unwelcoming lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"This place could have been lovely; the building were interesting and our bedrooms were gorgeous, but boiling.

It was a place that lacked generosity. Nothing was included and it felt really unfriendly. We asked for ice but apparently it was too hot for ice. The staff seemed miserable and some of the other guests, rude.

i would not recommend it and would never stay there again.

The food was absolutely disgusting." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Mrs W
Ontario

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms M
Ontario

"Twfelfontein"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"A great location. We enjoyed the star info and the various tours.

The only stressor was having the tours fill up and not everyone in our party getting a chance to participate. Front desk folks were not very helpful in that regard." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Sydney

"Pretty lodge in need of refurbishment"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"Stayed in one of the older, non refurbished rooms. In need on upgrade - having said this, the developments on other rooms (in the early stages) looked promising.

Food plentiful but quality very mixed. E.g. Omelettes at breakfast very good but vegetables at dinner overlooked.

Staff not super friendly and did not make as much of an effort as at other hotels. The exception was Leonardo who welcomed us and took us on the safari game drive. Sunset game drive quite expensive but was a good way to see the desert wilderness. Took a while to find the desert adapted elephants but was a fantastic experience!! Sundowner snacks and drinks were great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
W Midlands

"On the doorstep to see rock art"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"This lodge is ideally situated for seeing some San Bushmen rock engravings and for Sundowner Safaris in search for desert adapted elephants.

The scoring is rated only as Good because at the time of our visit there was an ongoing refurbishment of some of the chalets around us so it felt as though we were in the middle of a building site.

The food was adequate to good but rather lack lustre compared to other places at which we stayed." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms AA
NZ

"Less personal but comfortable accommodation."

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"The rooms at the Lodge were being renovated which detracted slightly but service was good if less personal. The buffet food was average but the setting superb.

The safari to see the desert elephants was excellent but did involve a very long drive back to the Lodge in the dark. Having said that seeing the elephants was definitely worthwhile and the search up the dry river and back past the local village fascinating. We note the elephants now share the new community water supply and no longer have to dig for their water.

All in all happy with the accommodation and activities." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Another pleasant lodge and interesting place to stay but on a larger scale than some of the more intimate Lodges." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss H
Bayswater

"Comfortable and basic"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"We opted to stay at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge instead of Doro Nawas as it would save us almost £100 each over two nights. It took quite some time to get there after we turned off the main road, which was a bit soul destroying after such a long journey on gravel roads. The road is covered in hard ridges which in a 2WD felt like we were going over thousands of tiny speed bumps, you feel every single one and spend every minute stressing that you're about to burst a tyre.

The lodge is in a lovely setting with it's own bushmen engravings and the staff all speak in a click dialect, which is amazing to listen to. The manager who welcomed us was very friendly and enthusiastic as was our guide that took us to see the bushmen engravings and desert adapted elephants.

The rooms are very basic but clean and we had to put a chair against the door at night to stop it blowing in the wind. The staff were fine if not a little less friendly than some of the other places we had been. On our last night, they all sang a few tribal songs for us, and even one in click, which was a highlight. The chef was very friendly and the food was good - we ate ostrich, crocodile, oryx, beef, salmon and kudu all in one evening!

The excursions made this a good place to stay however the trucks they use could do with replacing - they are old army trucks that although have a lot of character are extremely old and unreliable as one of them wouldn't start the morning we were to go see the bushmen engravings. They do have a fuel stop nearby though so we picked up a different one and when we needed fuel upon departure, the fuel guys were very helpful.

The bushmen engravings were amazing to see and the guide that took us was informative however some tourists ahead of us decided it was a good idea to touch the engravings, which we think should be discouraged by the guides (which it wasn't), if they want to preserve them for generations to come. The desert adapted elephants were quite easy to find and we were the only ones on the trip, which was nice.

The pool at the lodge was great but too cold and there were sun loungers which we made full use of!

The temperature drops at night here more severely than anywhere else we went so definitely worth ensuring plenty of warm clothes are with you at dinner and during the morning and evening excursions.

A classic case of 'you get what you pay for' but ideal for those on a budget." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 54
83%
54 reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
22
9
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (464 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (151 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (121 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (113 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (8 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


96% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa