This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from Ontario

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

3

Fantastic trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 27 Jul 2016 and 14 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thanks to Maruska for handling so many details and planning out a memorable experience for us. Maruska thought of absolutely everything and was so responsive to our questions. In all cases she got back to us within hours of receiving an email. I would not hesitate to have her plan future trips.

I have already recommended Expert Africa to friends.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Not really. Everything was amazing! Only place I would skip is Halali and spend more time at Ungomo, which I think Maruska tried for but wasn't able to get for us.

I would have preferred to be told exactly what to tip and to prepare envelopes in advance. the tipping protocols were somewhat overwhelming.
Here's an example: the literature told us to tip at b and b places at the end of the trip, using the tip box. But when someone carried our bags, it was clear that they expected a tip. this left us awkwardly fumbling for change and trying to figure out local currency on the spot.

Don't know how to fix this."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2016
"Service was great.

Staff put hot water bottles in our beds and started a new fire in our fireplace every night.

Whilst at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge this traveller joined two gorilla treks. Here's what she said about it:
The guides and trackers were very informative and helpful. They really knew how to protect the gorillas from too much stimulation, while giving us maximum access. An amazing experience!

My only confusion was around tipping. We were informed in advance of what an appropriate tip would be for trackers, guides etc. But when we got up on the mountain, there were more trackers than we anticipated. it was hard to figure out who everyone was and what their role was. This led to some awkwardness around tipping. I would have preferred to have Expert Africa handle the tipping on our behalf."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla tracking"

28 Jul 2016 • Morning excursion

The guides and trackers were very informative and helpful. They really knew how to protect the gorillas from too much stimulation, while giving us maximum access. An amazing experience!

My only confusion was around tipping. We were informed in advance of what an appropriate tip would be for trackers, guides etc. But when we got up on the mountain, there were more trackers than we anticipated. it was hard to figure out who everyone was and what their role was. This led to some awkwardness around tipping. I would have preferred to have Expert Africa handle the tipping on our behalf.
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"Is this the hotel in Kigali - the Quiet Haven. My comments are for that hotel."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"kalahari"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2016
"Love this place! Pure luxury. We wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived after dark and only had that one night.

Staff in the restaurant were amazing and the food was delicious!"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"Loved the horseback riding!

Willie was great - very supportive of novice riders."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"Sam was helpful, especially in giving us a bit of history of the area. His garden is beautiful!

We were not crazy about the dinner, but breakfast was wonderful!

Whilst in Swakopmund this traveller did a sea kayaking excursion, here's what she said about it:
Jeanne was an absolutely spectacular guide! She even sent us videos of our kayaking experience that evening. It is clear that she loves the seals and she knows so much about them. Her stories were engrossing and very informative. This excursion was one of the highlights of our whole trip!

She also tried sandboarding:
So much fun!

And a day trip into the coastal desert and Sandwich Harbour:
Our guide was very experienced and new so much of the history and nature in the region. He was a masterful driver, careening around and over the dunes! We loved this tour!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"kayaking"

3 Aug 2016 • Morning excursion

Jeanne was an absolutely spectacular guide! She even sent us videos of our kayaking experience that evening. It is clear that she loves the seals and she knows so much about them. Her stories were engrossing and very informative. This excursion was one of the highlights of our whole trip!
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Berger was wonderful!"

4 Aug 2016 • All-day excursion

Our guide was very experienced and new so much of the history and nature in the region. He was a masterful driver, careening around and over the dunes! We loved this tour!
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twfelfontein"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"A great location. We enjoyed the star info and the various tours.

The only stressor was having the tours fill up and not everyone in our party getting a chance to participate. Front desk folks were not very helpful in that regard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Fantastic Waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"we saw so many animals at this site.

A really huge highlight of our trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"halili"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"This location was disappointing.

We saw no animals at all at the waterhole, even after coming out very early in the morning and staying late at night.

Staff were quite curt and not very helpful around meals."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Ongumu"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"This place was pure luxury! Great service in the restaurant and amazing food. the rooms were opulent! I would come back here and stay for a week.

The tour guides were so wonderful. Armstrong extended our tour well past his quitting time in an attempt to find us some animals.

I wish we had arrived here earlier and taken their tours into Etosha instead of driving around on our own,"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"The ladies who work there were very hardworking and diligent.

The manager shared too many of his opinions about immigrants and politics in my opinion. He actually said that not all of Hitlers ideas were wrong! I found his comments quite startling.

We also feel we were charged too much for the five minute drive to and from the airport."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Abbey Manor

"Abbey Manor"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"this was a beautiful place to stay - a gracious old home from the colonial era. The management were superb! Kind and helpful in every situation.

They even supported us in solving some difficulties we were having about our flights. We loved this place and the people who work there!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team