This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from W Midlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

An awesome adventure

Namibia and 2 other countries between 21 May 2016 and 11 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Top notch!

Everything was well organised and well planned - a very thorough and professional service by Expert Africa.

Our special thanks must go to Maruska for her individual attention. We will highly recommend this service to our friends."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Welcoming starting point for our trip"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2016
"I would like to say that the stay was very good because there were some excellent points about the accommodation (e.g. the friendly welcome and breakfast) but our room had a couple of defects.

We had to ask the proprietor to attend to a continually flushing toilet and TV that did not work"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

"An oasis in the desert lean, modern, fun"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2016
"Clean, modern, functional units designed to fit in with the desert environment and situated within easy access to Sossouvlei.

There was some confusion over the evening meals. Our itinerary stated the we were on a B&B basis so accordingly we had bought food before our arrival at the camp. We were then told that we were booked in for dinner at nearby Sossouvlei Lodge which on the second evening we had to forgo. The food at the lodge was excellent.

These guests enjoyed a Balloon flight over the Namib Desert. Here's what they said about it:
Awesome!

A very professional outfit. We felt completely safe in their hands. A wonderful way to see the desert landscape.

The champagne breakfast was very tasty with plenty of variety.

Would highly recommend this activity to others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Good coastal location"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2016
"Well located in a beautiful garden setting near to the centre of town. Friendly proprietor who readily organised activities for us.

While the breakfasts were adequate we felt the choices were restricted. However, as this is only a small establishment one perhaps can not expect the variety offered by a larger concern.

Our garden room was very comfortable with all facilities provided."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Up, up and away"

24 May 2016 • Morning excursion

Awesome!

A very professional outfit. We felt completely safe in their hands. A wonderful way to see the desert landscape.

The champagne breakfast was very tasty with plenty of variety.

Would highly recommend this activity to others.
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"On the doorstep to see rock art"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"This lodge is ideally situated for seeing some San Bushmen rock engravings and for Sundowner Safaris in search for desert adapted elephants.

The scoring is rated only as Good because at the time of our visit there was an ongoing refurbishment of some of the chalets around us so it felt as though we were in the middle of a building site.

The food was adequate to good but rather lack lustre compared to other places at which we stayed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Super safari setting."

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2016
"This is ideally situated just outside the Estosha National Park - a wonderful place to see a wide range of wildlife in situ.

Modern, well planned chalets with excellent facilities.

Wonderful food with a wide choice game on offer - a meat eater's heaven!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"We received a very friendly welcome on our arrival (even from the resident warthogs and hornbills).

One of our group celebrated his birthday while we were there. A choir made up of the employees at the camp sang a Namibian equivalent of "Happy Birthday".

Excellent food, beautifully presented but no choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Amusing and convenient stopover."

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Quirky, thematic cottages. Clean and comfortable. Perfectly acceptable for a one night's stay to break up a long journey.

The food was tasty but no choice.

As we had to make a very early start the next morning we requested breakfast packs. These too proved to be as quirky as the accommodation, comprising of sweets, savoury snacks and more sweets - and a small sandwich!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Super, secluded setting."

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"This is a wonderfully secluded lodge in the heart of the Okavango Panhandle (a proper Okavango experience but without the high expense of flying into the delta).

We were given a warm, friendly welcome by everyone. The facilities and service were 'top notch' - apart from a slight problem with the tepid showers.

The manager and guides were very knowledgeable but very accessible. Our stay lacked for nothing.

We would highly recommend this to others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ngepi Camp

"A disappointing stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"Although we had an unfortunate experience with water from an overflow pouring through the roof onto the bed we would still have to say that this was the worst accommodation we had the whole trip.

We had difficulty in getting help because of poor lighting / signage and no one at reception - the outpouring started just as we were going to bed!

Eventually a security guard and later the night manager arrived. We were then hurriedly moved to another tree house further away. Although we received an apology at the time from the manager there was no follow up the next morning. We felt as though they had just gone through the motions.

Our rating is poor because the food and service were not up to standard."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"A real feel for the safari"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"The raised tented accommodation was of an environmentally friendly design, surrounded by free roaming animals which gave it a real safari feel.

Accommodation, food and facilities were excellent - although some of our party experienced logging on to the Wi-Fi.

The manager was friendly and knowledgeable without being intrusive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Sophisticated safari"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Personally we found the overfamiliar manner of the manager to be off putting. Not everyone appreciates this approach.

However, the accommodation, organisation, food and facilities were exceptional; our every need was catered for, right down to the provision of hot water bottles on our early morning game drive.

It was extremely exciting when towards the end of one game drive, we were fortunate to see a pack of wild dogs hunting giraffe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"Ilala Lodge is very well situated in Victoria Falls - a perfect place for some R&R after a long safari trip.

It has the feel of good colonial style of accommodation.

The food, activities, rooms and facilities were all excellent. The service was good but we felt the initial reception was rather hurried. We were given no time to sit and enjoy our welcoming drink before checking in forms were thrust upon us and we were then whisked off to the room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team