This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Dulwich

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

My August 2016 trip

Namibia between 2 Aug 2016 and 16 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart from the middle 4 days, what made our holiday memorable was the quality and variety of the hotels you chose for us and the people we met there. We left each place absolutely sure it couldn't be matched but every time, it was. Our 2 boys were welcomed by everyone and treated as adults. They will never forget it.

Each of the 4 lodges we liked were totally unique and SO special.

If we did it again, we would probably do a flight or two to cut down the length of time we spent in the car. The boys found the length of the journeys a bit onerous. If it wasn't for the seals we would miss out Swakopmund. We would also miss out Dune 7 where we went quadbiking and sand-boarding too. A tourist trap, if ever there was one.

All in all it was an incredible holiday and I can't wait to return to Africa. When I do, I will definitely use Expert Africa. Liz Chapman was absolutely wonderful. I will also recommend them to anyone planning a trip."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


River Crossing

River Crossing

"A good first stop"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"River Crossing was in the perfect position for a first night's stay. Near the airport but it felt rural.

The rooms were lovely as were the staff.

A good but not particularly memorable place."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"A magical place"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"The nicest hotel I've ever been to. I loved everything about it.
The staff were delightful and the service felt personal. We were greeted back from every trip with cold flannels and home made lemonade.
The quad biking was a highlight, as were the dunes and Paul the astronomer.
Frans was exceptional. Peter, our guide was also lovely.
I really didn't want to leave.

Hot air ballooning
Rob was wonderful and gave us a fantastic morning.

The views were spectacular but I was a little disappointed not to be nearer to the dunes.

The breakfast afterwards was out of this world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"A place in a million"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"A place like nowhere else on earth; perched on top of the sand dunes.
We slept under canvas but it was definitely 5 star. My boys preferred it to Sossuvlei.
We found hot water bottles in our bed at night and were woken by stunning sunrises that we could see from our 4 poster bed.
Selma was great and our guide David absolutely fantastic. All the staff were great and there was a very special atmosphere.
The pool area was lovely too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"A lovely trip"

6 Aug 2016 • Morning excursion

Rob was wonderful and gave us a fantastic morning.

The views were spectacular but I was a little disappointed not to be nearer to the dunes.

The breakfast afterwards was out of this world.

Good
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"A slightly tired place"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"I chose Brigadoon having not liked the look of Sam's Giardino which was recommended to me.
This was a mistake! The rooms were depressing and run down although the beds were comfortable.

The staff, however, were helpful and kind.

Kayaking with seals
A fantastic morning. Jeanne drove us to the kayaking point and was fun and really informative; pointing things out all the way there.

We arrived and everything was provided. It was amazing. We all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Jeanne provided sandwiches and coffee afterwards which were most welcome.

True to her word she send some great photos and 2 videos afterwards."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Jeanne was fabulous!"

9 Aug 2016 • Morning excursion

A fantastic morning. Jeanne drove us to the kayaking point and was fun and really informative; pointing things out all the way there.

We arrived and everything was provided. It was amazing. We all thoroughly enjoyed it.

Jeanne provided sandwiches and coffee afterwards which were most welcome.

True to her word she send some great photos and 2 videos afterwards.
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"A very unwelcoming lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"This place could have been lovely; the building were interesting and our bedrooms were gorgeous, but boiling.

It was a place that lacked generosity. Nothing was included and it felt really unfriendly. We asked for ice but apparently it was too hot for ice. The staff seemed miserable and some of the other guests, rude.

i would not recommend it and would never stay there again.

The food was absolutely disgusting."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"A great safari at Ongava"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"We loved Ongava. Our guide, Tsuma was lovely. We were really lucky to see a pride of lions about 6 feet away from us and also some Rhino.

We preferred the safaris at Ongava rather than in Etosha; we felt closer to the animals and were allowed to drive off road.

The service was fantastic and all the staff friendly. We loved Sidney!

The waterhole by the pool was incredible. A really special place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Another wonderful place!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"We adored Okonjima. The boys especially enjoyed it. We got really close to the animals and were especially thrilled to see leopards close up.

The boys' highlight were the wild dogs. We enjoyed being able to walk near the cheetahs.

Our guide was Daniel who was gorgeous. We also liked Jason and Angel

Our rooms were stunning and to have a day room was unexpected and very special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team