This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Brigadoon
Brigadoon
Brigadoon
Brigadoon

Reviews of Brigadoon

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Brigadoon and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"Back to city... interesting museum and walked around town and beach.

Great Indian restaurant in town, able to walk to it. " See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
UK

"Brigadoon review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Lovely place for a night in Swakopmund.

Breakfast was delicious and a served in a really nice and unique way." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2017
"Brigadoon very well located. Great breakfast served by lovely staff.

The new manager at reception was very willing and keen but not very well informed. Found a good Walking tour in English in the morning which was interesting.

Walvis Bay flamingos and a brisk walk in the afternoon - needed!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs T
London

"A nice B & B with friendly staff"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"Brigadoon itself is a good B & B which gives you a little escape from the town. We would have preferred a door to the bathroom however.

It was Swakopmund which we didn't like. It was such a contrast to the idyllic desert experience. The weather was misty and cold (people were wearing ski jackets) and the architecture underwhelming.

We did have 2 excursions booked but we didn't feel like we wanted to hang around this town whilst we were waiting to go on these excursions, so having booked 3 nights we only stayed 1 night. We would have liked to have been given more advice about Swakopmund itself to manage our expectations.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A slightly tired place"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"I chose Brigadoon having not liked the look of Sam's Giardino which was recommended to me.
This was a mistake! The rooms were depressing and run down although the beds were comfortable.

The staff, however, were helpful and kind.

Kayaking with seals
A fantastic morning. Jeanne drove us to the kayaking point and was fun and really informative; pointing things out all the way there.

We arrived and everything was provided. It was amazing. We all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Jeanne provided sandwiches and coffee afterwards which were most welcome.

True to her word she send some great photos and 2 videos afterwards." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Brigadoon - convenient B&B in Swapokmund"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"Because Brigadoon is a B&B this felt rather impersonal compared to our other holiday accommodation but this is probably the nature of the accommodation in Swapokmund.

The rooms and at the side and rear of the main house, behind a secured gate and surrounding a nice garden. There seemed an emphasis on security with a guard present in the evening for the parking area. Unfortunately a couple had their rear windscreen smashed even though the guard was present and this was rather unsettling.

We have a family member who is gluten intolerant and had contacted Brigadoon about this in advance but no gluten free bread was provided.

The en suite bathrooms are 'open plan' i.e. there is no door between bedroom and bathroom which was a bit strange.

It would have been useful to have known in advance that July/August is peak season in Swapokmund and evening meals/activities need to be reserved well in advance. We were lucky to manage to get on to a trip kayaking with seals at Warvis Bay at short notice and would highly recommend this to other visitors." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Good location, good rooms, helpful staff"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"A good base in Swakopmund as the centre was within walking distance, which was handy for restaurants at night. The rooms were very nice for a guesthouse although we really didn't like the open plan toilet.

The idea of breakfast on our little terrace would have been quite nice if the weather wasn't decidedly cold on the two mornings we were there - it felt more like an endurance test than anything else although the quality was very good.

Staff were helpful when it came to finding an adapter for the hairdryer they provided and also providing us with an early breakfast on one morning as we had to be in Walvis Bay for the kayaking at 7.45am." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr D
Suffolk

"A convenient B&B in a central location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"This is a small B&B within walking distance of the centre of Swakopmund. The rooms are quite good but we did not like the open plan shower and WC arrangement and the safe would benefit from being upgraded to a digital locking one. Although the breakfast was good we do have reservations about eating outside when there is a coastal fog and it is very cold and wet. It would be nice to be given the option of eating indoors.

The local restaurants are within easy access for evening meals. We went to the Lighthouse as it was the nearest and thought it served very good value meals- booking advisable.

This is a quite good, safe place to stay if you wish to visit Sandwich Harbour or do the Welwitschia Drive- both to be recommended." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"Recently very nicely modernised,yet it still retains the cottage feel. The neat self-contained cottages are behind a locked gate.

I love staying here as it's so easy to walk to the shops and restaurant at night.

The breakfast is also updated and warm food is now offered as a choice." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2009
"well located and they did try hard to make our stay pleasant.clearly less expensive than other locations.they have refitted the rooms and that is going on at present with no disruption tour stay. They have they w.c. open plan in the bedroom with only 5 foot wardrobe seperating it for privacy.found this disconcerting." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 21
80%
21 reviews of Brigadoon by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
4
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa