This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr M from Rickmansworth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Jul 2015 trip to Namibia

Namibia between 23 Jul 2015 and 8 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We feel like our holiday in Namibia was really long and that is because we did so many different things in very different areas. And everywhere we went there was another highlight!

The standard of accommodation, the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guides and lodge/camp staff was all fantastic. We had 2 older teenagers this us and there were no complaints about the lack of wifi as they were too enthralled.

What we all noticed was how peaceful it was. No planes, very few cars, not many people. Great scenery, lots of amazing animals and lots and lots of stars!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Perfect stopover at Kalahari Red Dunes"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2015
"This was just a stopover for us but the rooms, setting and meal were all good.

As a stopover location it is excellent as it is a 5 minute drive from the B1 just north of Mariental."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Highly recommend Tok Tokkie Trails!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2015
"A fantastic experience walking through the NamibRand Reserve in the company of our excellent guide Sebastian and camping under the stars. We learned so much about the environment and wildlife and the scenery is spectacular.

The 2 camps we stayed in were in beautiful locations and the team did extremely well serving up tasty food, setting up our camp beds and even providing hot water bottles. Going to bed under the stars and waking up to see the sunrise (with cups of tea in bed provided) was fantastic.

If you go in July/August prepare for it to be very cold at night - the Tok Tokkie leaflet can be a bit misleading as to what you need to bring. Take lots of warm layers, down jackets are ideal, hats and gloves.

Lastly we have a family member who is gluten intolerant and despite the challenging catering conditions she was given gluten free bread, cakes and meals whenever food was provided.

If you like getting close to nature and walking don't miss this trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala - top notch base for Sossuvlei"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2015
"Little Kulala is a smart, modern resort. We arrived having just completed a 3 day walk, camping out under the stars so felt a little scruffy but were soon put at our ease.

Little Kulala is all-inclusive which we didn't realise beforehand so all meals, drinks and activities are included. We were assigned a guide and we agreed an itinerary for our 2 night stay. Of course this included visiting Sossusvlei, Deadvlei and climbing one of the Dunes but also included a nature drive and quad biking near the lodge (not on the dunes!). Little Kulala is lucky to have private access to Sossusvlei so do not be put off by how far it is from the main gate.

The level of service is excellent and the food is healthy and delicious. A highly recommended place to stay and be well looked after."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon - convenient B&B in Swapokmund"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"Because Brigadoon is a B&B this felt rather impersonal compared to our other holiday accommodation but this is probably the nature of the accommodation in Swapokmund.

The rooms and at the side and rear of the main house, behind a secured gate and surrounding a nice garden. There seemed an emphasis on security with a guard present in the evening for the parking area. Unfortunately a couple had their rear windscreen smashed even though the guard was present and this was rather unsettling.

We have a family member who is gluten intolerant and had contacted Brigadoon about this in advance but no gluten free bread was provided.

The en suite bathrooms are 'open plan' i.e. there is no door between bedroom and bathroom which was a bit strange.

It would have been useful to have known in advance that July/August is peak season in Swapokmund and evening meals/activities need to be reserved well in advance. We were lucky to manage to get on to a trip kayaking with seals at Warvis Bay at short notice and would highly recommend this to other visitors."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Desert elephant tracking at Twyfelontein"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2015
"This is a large lodge with functional rooms serving buffet breakfasts and evening meals. It is in a good location for the nearby Unesco rock engravings and we highly recommend visiting. Organ Pipes and Burnt Mountain are also nearby although we found these disappointing.

What made this for us was the trip to track desert elephants. I use the word 'track' loosely as actually our driver seemed to stop and ask the locals which way to go! However we found the elephants so who is to judge. And the elephants were magnificent. They were quite some way from the lodge but the scenery here is fantastic and provided a beautiful place for a sundowner on the way back."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Fantastic getaway at Etendeka Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2015
"Damaraland is enchanting and Etendeka has a great atmosphere - we highly recommend this to those who are happy to put luxury to one side to experience this beautiful place.

The 4WD drive in from Palmweg is stunning and is a game drive in itself. The double tents have stunning views, spotless outside toilet and the famous drop bucket showers. Everyone eats together and so this was good chance to meet other travellers, some of whom we bumped into later at other locations. Our teenagers were pleased to meet other kids of a similar age.

The owner Dennis and our guide Bonny made us feel were in a special place. Dennis has a telescope and encouraged us all to look and understand the Southern Sky. Over dinner Dennis was happy to share his views on the Namibian environment and to discuss related political issues.

We highly recommend visiting Etendeka Mountain Camp and we wished we had more time to walk in this area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Stay at Okaukuejo for the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Having stayed both here and on the Eastern side of Etosha, in retrospect we preferred the landscape of Etosha more on the East. However Okaukuejo has a fantastic watering hole within the camp (surrounded by a wall) where you can just sit and watch the animals come and go. This is particularly amazing at night and it seems no 2 nights are the same. On our first night we watched a herd of elephants there and on the second night there were several rhino.

It is also very convenient to stay inside the park. This saves a 10k drive in and out of the gate each day with a variable amount of queueing.

The camp shop sells a good guide to all the animals and birds you are likely to see in Etosha and includes a good map. It is a shame this isn't offered to you when you buy your permit as we only found it by accident and other people didn't know about it.

The camp shops don't sell much in the way of food. You can get some snacks and frozen meat but you can't buy the ingredients for an entire lunch or dinner.

The buffet lunch/ dinners are pretty repetitive and cafeteria standard. But it is all about the waterhole!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost - luxury tented lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"Mushara Outpost consists of a stunning main lodge with double luxury tents in the grounds. To be honest you can hardly describe these as tents at all. They are fantastic hugh ensuite bedrooms that just happen to have canvas walls. They each have an indoor and outdoor shower, minibar, veranda...It is very quiet and relaxing here. They do not take young children.

Dinner is superb and eaten communally. Pre dinner drinks are taken around an outdoor fire.

Mushara is a few kilometers from the Von Lindequist Gate and then 10km on to Namatoni camp. There are are several good watering holes near to Namatoni. We saw lots of animals here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Amazing Africat at Okinjima"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"There is one big reason to visit Okonjima: Africat.

At Plains Camp no activities are included. However there are many things you don't want to miss such as leopard tracking, cheetah tracking, visiting the Africat Centre and possible a night drive. On the grounds that we were unlikely to ever visit again we did all of this and this added a substantial amount to our bill but it was worth it. Children aged 16 and under are charged at a reduced rate. The trips are amazing and should not be missed. Our guide was excellent and highly informative. The landscape is stunning.

Plains Camp is has a highly modern main building, food is served amongst wood burning stoves and is delicious although not it is not always made clear what you are being served. The staff are all extremely friendly and good fun. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team