This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

23

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2011 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 21 Nov 2011 and 15 Dec 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"see my e mail to sabina"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"The Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2011
"good first night accomodation"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"lovly location.nicely set out and friendly helpful staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2011
"game seriosly affected by the recent fire.Raptors have virtually disappeared"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2011
"again game affected by recent fire"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2011
"this was great.real quality.they were very friendly and tried very hard.had a great bbq for all the guests"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2011
"they have been flooded twice in the last 3 years and it shows. but they are trying hard.the best thing was that we could have a visit to the the local village kraals and see how the real africans live"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2011
"this was a star experience of the whole trip.marvelopus river safari trips with great bird and hippo viewing. we felt close to nature as the hippos come up the bank at night outside our tent and we could heard them snuffling about.the nearby game reserve whiilst small is excellent. finally the evening meal eaten all together meant that we met some interesting people as a bonus.great recommendation"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2011
"very few visitors and we were the only guests on the 2nd night. great river safaris. the staff and owner were very friendly. it feels a very isolated spot and also very beautiful, it will be a memory for a long time'"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2011
"this was unlike all the other resorts we stayed as it is large luxury hotel.however none the worse for that. very comfortable. great river and land safaris. saw some of the best animals and birds of the trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2011
"this is class operation run on a very personal basis. superb food and service.very professional staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

OA in Cape Town

"review"

8 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2011
"see my e mail of 16th december to sabina"
Excellent

My Nov 2009 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 16 Nov 2009 and 11 Dec 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"excellent. the best organised and thought through trip we can remember anywhere in the world and we trvel alot to the far east and australasia. see me original e mail to tracy.

Further comments sent by email

In addition to their feedback above, these travellers made further comments about their trip, by email:

"We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed ourselves enormously.I wanted to tell you how impressed we have been with quality of service we have had from Expert Africa and you in particular.We travel extensively and we can honestly say that you are the best organised and professional tour operator that we have dealt with. The information and response to our questions before we left proved to be entirely accurate on the trip. It also became evident as time progressed that there was a well thought out reason for each of the stages and accomodation that had been booked.

Namibia was stunning and we also enjoyed our time in S Africa although I would avoid Plettenberg for the first 2 weeks of December as it is student rage time and there are lots of drunken and extremely loud school and college leavers there. It is difficult to select the best hotels as they were all good to excellent. However I would mention the Vineyard in Cape Town which is beautiful place and faultlessly managed with great staff.We also liked Oulap and Klippie River which I understand is up for sale.

In Namibia the best were Bullsport which was great introduction, Little Kulala and Dora Nawas both of which were stunning settings and a great experience. Okanijima,Onguma and Okaukuejo wre all excellent and we loved Etosha.

We will certainly highly recommend Expert Africa and when next we are going to Africa which I trust we will be soon we will definately be in contact. Thanks once again. I know it requires alot of effert on your behalf to provide this level of professional service"

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

no. I think you have got it right.keep it up"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2009
"difficult to find .frieldly owners.only stayed 1 night"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2009
"good intro..very comfortable.liked the rooms and they tried hard.the location was excellent.got a good idea of the vastness"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2009
"we stayed at Little Kulala.

Magnificent location.I think we will not forget our 2 nights here for a cvery long time.I would mention that activities are are very expensive.But that aside we thought it was magnificent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2009
"well located and they did try hard to make our stay pleasant.clearly less expensive than other locations.they have refitted the rooms and that is going on at present with no disruption tour stay. They have they w.c. open plan in the bedroom with only 5 foot wardrobe seperating it for privacy.found this disconcerting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2009
"amazing location.sleeping out under the stars one of the highlights of the whole trip.real sence of the isolation of the desert"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2009
"very niceroom close to waterhole with exceptional game viewing.one of the highlights of the whole trip.food self service.not bad but not great.I think they realise this is an issue and are trying hard to improve"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2009
"not many quests. they worked very hard to ensure that we felt welcome and enjoyed our visit.the food was expertl;y prepared but there was no choice for the evening meal..interestly not much sign of management and the staff seemed to cope."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2009
"really high standard throughout.nothing else to add"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2009
"superb.staff food room location.nothing else one add"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Oulap Country House review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2009
"marvellpous quirky questhouse in amazing location.we were the only guests. cooked us a great meal and as you are aware the owners are a main part of the experience.loved it"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Periwinkle Guest Lodge

"Periwinkle Guest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2009
"great position and nice hotel.our visit somewhat coloured by losing 2 nights sleep due to students next door shouting andplaying on the roof and playing very loud music most of the night..on the brighter side i can report that walk on the beach at 5a.m.an hour I am not familiar with,is pleasant on a sunny morning.apparantly this happens every year first 2 week of june in Plettenberg.it is called student rage"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Klippe Rivier Country House review"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2009
"this place is up for sale.they had 3 quests including us.the food,staff,location and qulaity of accomodation is superb.I hope who ever takes it on maintains the same standards"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team