This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge

Reviews of Chobe Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs R.
Mount Vernon

"Great Riverboat game viewing at Chobe Safaris"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2018
"The lodge is lovely. The Game viewing from the boat is fantastic. Seen 13 lions on our Game drive into Chose National Park. Overall things were great.

When we arrived the rooms were not ready, the staff was unsure as to what we were doing had to get everything arranged. And getting our departure information took talking to 4 people and finally one staff member called and got the information. Most of the staff were friendly. We enjoyed our stay there.

The river boat game viewing was great!!" See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms V & Mr C
Belgium

"Camping between baboons and warthogs"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"We stayed at the campsite of Chobe Safari Lodge, which is situated a 5min walk from the main buildings. Our camping spot was rather small and bathroom facilities were far and not that clean.

The main building has a beautiful pool. We joined a few activities. The morning game drive was disappointing compared to previous experiences in Etosha. The afternoon rivercruise was great, we saw a lot of game.

In the evening we did a second cruise which served dinner. The food was good." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms H
Washington

"Fun place!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2016
"Such a great lcation to stay. The safaris were amazing! The river cruises were very informative.

Keep your patio doors locked as the baboons like to visit!

The staff surprised me with a lovely birthday card and bottle of amarula." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dr K & Mr M
Australia

"Big-scale safari tourism"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2015
"Staying at Chobe was somewhat of a shock to the system after several weeks of more modest, intimate accommodation!

The setting is very pleasant - with the restaurant, bar, deck and pool facing onto the river. Other than that, it feels mostly like a large chain hotel.

The sunset river cruise was a real highlight of the trip - well paced, knowledgeable but modest guiding, and spectacular scenery. On the other hand, our safari tour was less memorable, as the guide seemed interested in only a few particular animals, and was unwilling to adapt the tour towards the interests of the guests.

Kasane was also a pleasant town to wander." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DW
N London

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2015
"Chobe Safari Lodge turned out to be better than we had expected bearing in mind it catered for a wider range of clientele and greater numbers than the other lodges we had selected.

Our 3 hour sunset boat trip on the Chobe River was excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs
Beccles

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2015
"We loved it here. Lovely large room, bath and shower.View over the river.

Food buffet style , huge choice of everything. The afternoon boat ride excellent. The guide showed us lots of animals. We were keen on the birds, which he knew and we saw lots along the river. The game drive was fine, well organised - no lions but fantastic views of painted dogs. Would stay here again. Food and drinks were good value for money." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"We used this Lodge as an easy-to-get-to first base for an extended trip. We were prepared for being at a large lodge where there would be quite a number of people at meal times etc. but this was no problem as the facilities were spaced out well.

Staff were very attentive to our needs and particularly on our arrival when, due to a delay on our flight, we had missed a game drive and they organised a separate vehicle and driver for us.

Food was typical of a mass catering operation although one evening buffet was outstanding in the choices and quality offered - sadly the next night was not so good." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Family K
London

"Chobe - lived up to the hype"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"We stayed here two nights had a game drive and a boat trip. This was the largest place we stayed in during our fortnight trip around the delta, and whilst lacking first name personal service provided excellent guiding on the trips, and good service in and around the lodging.

The lodge is in a nice location with great views over the river, and grounds that attract small animals and abundant birds.

The game drive was excellent - we saw an abundance of animals (including lions and a leopard cub), numerous birds and had quite detailed explanations of everything we saw from the guide. It was cold (6am in the winter), but blankets were provided. The park was busy (exactly what it says in the guide books - at one stage there were 10 vehicles chasing a lion), but once we elected to drive to a quieter area we had a great time.

The boat trip was somthing of a highlight given the numerous elephants (including families crossing the river, cleaning the grass before eating), water buffalo, impala, hippo, giraffe, crocs, eagles, etc... Again the river was busy but there was plenty of time and space to stop and watch the animals. The guide was excellent.

The rooms here are excellent - lots of space inside the room, plenty of furniture, a large safe, decent sinks/shower area and separate toilet cubicle. Also a small deck although without much of a view given that trees line the river bank.

The food is a mass produced buffet and has the potential to be busy if you arrive just after a coach party. Nonetheless, there was a wide choice of dishes, some of which were cooked on demand. The staff here were most helpful - when asked about nut ingredients the chef was summoned and gave us a detailed explanation of everything on offer that day.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family A
New Zealand

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"The family room could accomodate 2 children and 2 adults but not our 3 children. We would have preferred to stay all in one unit but were told this wasn't possible. The 2 rooms we were given were a reasonable distance apart which we didn't think was ideal and a matress could easily have fitted in the family unit.

We loved the swimming pool and the food" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E & fam
NL

"Chobe Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"Very nice lodge, with many possible activities. The boat safari and game drive were both amazing. Seldom seen so many different animals, and so many animals at the same time. Amazing.

Great place from which to take a day trip to the Victoria falls." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
85%
17 reviews of Chobe Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
5
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa