This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs from Beccles

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic Holiday

Namibia and 2 other countries between 23 Feb 2015 and 12 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent holiday, far exceeded our expectations.

Felt safe throughout the trip. Tranfers at borders ran smoothly as did the car rental return All the staff at the lodges very professional and helpful. On reflections I think we would have rather stayed in slightly larger lodges. This is because sometimes we were the only ones there so lots of the activities were not on offer or to expensive as there was only the two of us. Food throughout was of a very high standard. Also the fact that the pound against the South African Rand is high made it a very good value holiday.!

Talking about a return visit as we headed home!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
We used our credit cards at all the lodges and camps therefore did not need to take large wads of money.. In Kasane where we filled up with petrol, before handing back the car they took any currency, rand, sterling Dollars etc and the rate of exchange was on par with banks. This was great because we then did not have to change money into pula just for the petrol."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Good for a stop over after the flight.
We did not want to go into Windhoek so this was ideal , plus easy to get to from the airport
We arrived around 2.00pm
We enjoyed the gardens.
Very nice staff. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Unfortunately air con not working in our room although we were told about it and they were trying to fix it. On reflection we should have asked for another room. Would happily use it again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2015
"Only here for one night.

Room very nice. Very clean. Fridge not really working but it was so hot I wonder if it ever gets down to temp!
Food was a buffet which suited us fine. Not great cooking but nothing to complain about.
Paid for food by credit card. Would stay here again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2015
"Stayed two nights

Room very nice,clean, large and spacious. The air con sprung a leak and we just turned it off and put a towel down to catch the water!
It seemed to fix itself later when we switched it back on.
Food was the same menu for both nights. Steak or fish. It was fine and there was plenty of it. Breakfast had a good selection and food cooked to order.Staff were very friendly.
Paid for meals and fuel by credit card."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"Lovely grounds and settings for the tents.
Very clean and convenient for Etosha Stayed two nights..
Staff very friendly and professional.
No choice for evening meal although for us it was fine. Swimming pool very nice. Grounds well kept. Attention to detail ecxelllent. Only down side there was no air con but there was a fan. The tent was very hot and the lack of air con means that we would not stay again in hot weather.
In cooler weather I don't suppose it would matter."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Mar 2015
"Really enjoyed staying here although it was only for one night. Rooms fantastic. The sundowner was well worth the money. Saw our first hippo - what a sight!
Shared the sundowner cruise with one other couple, plus two bottles of bubbly and snacks- great!
Food buffet style with a good well cooked selection.
The access road was flooded but the transfer by boat to the lodge was smooth and well organised."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2015
"Ideally situated for Mahango park. Again the access road was flooded so we had to be punted across. Leaving our car. We stayed for 3 nights in tented accommodation and were the only ones staying here.

As a guest you eat with the family Johann and Monika This was OK but it would have been better if there were more people staying. The tents were clean but basic.Plenty of hot water, and not so hot inside, maybe because they were more shaded.

There is a hippo that comes every night so you are walked back to your tent. We were not offered any trips on the river although to be fair we did not ask,.On reflection maybe we should have stayed next door at Mahango safari lodge and which was busier and were running trips on the river. Owners very friendly and informative."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Susuwe Island Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2015
"Only stayed one night. We had booked to stay at Lianshilu Lodge but as it was being refurbished we were offered Susuwe.

This is very much an up market lodge with prices for drinks reflecting this. The rooms are enormous and the attention to detail excellent. If you want solitude and privacy this is the place for you . For us it was a bit quiet and we were not offered any activities and not told about the afternoon tea, so missed out on that which was disappointing! The food was delicious but there was not enough of it!

The staff were attentive and professional."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Caprivi Houseboat Safari Lodge

"Caprivi Houseboat Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2015
"Stayed here one night. Owners very friendly. Again only ones here. Nice tented but basic accommodation. Food average. Dogs poo around the grounds! Again no activities offered. Lots of birds in the grounds which was a plus for us."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2015
"We loved it here. Lovely large room, bath and shower.View over the river.

Food buffet style , huge choice of everything. The afternoon boat ride excellent. The guide showed us lots of animals. We were keen on the birds, which he knew and we saw lots along the river. The game drive was fine, well organised - no lions but fantastic views of painted dogs. Would stay here again. Food and drinks were good value for money."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2015
"Lovely hotel and a fitting end to our holiday. We arrivied at about lunch time and after settling in had a light snack . In the afternoon we went on the sundowner which was fantastic lots of animals and birds and drinks and snacks! Our room was on the first floor with doors opening onto a terrace. from where we could see and hear the roar and see the spray of the falls.

Pool area nice and clean. Staff very attentive. Evening meal very good. Next day walked to the falls. No trouble there. Would happily stay again. It is pricey and everything is in american dollars but a lovely lovely hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team