This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge

Reviews of Chobe Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2011
"this was unlike all the other resorts we stayed as it is large luxury hotel.however none the worse for that. very comfortable. great river and land safaris. saw some of the best animals and birds of the trip" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Lisbon,

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"Wonderful hotel and beautiful rooms. Unfortunately, they are having problems with mice in the beautiful rustic roof. I got droppings in my face on the second night while in bed and had to change room to a downstairs one (concrete ceiling). They were comprehensive and did the change in the middle of the night. I loved the upper rooms, with that great ceiling, but they should advice everybody to use the mosquito net, or even prepare it to every guest.

I am so glad we booked the afternoon game drive on the day of the arrival. The elephants at Chobe come to drink in the evening. So, for future guests, I would suggest you to include this game drive also.

The location is nice, not inside the national park, but it is much cheaper than to stay inside. The activities are good (game drives and boat trips) but they are scheduled and there is no flexiility in choosing the times of the activities, which sometimes could possibly suit teh guests better (Game drives run from 6 am to 9m and 10am-13pm). The boat trip in the evening is in a big boat that is a bit to big to my taste, taking lts of turists." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"Chobe Safari Lodge as a whole was great - but it was unfortunate that our room was 'old' and needed a face lift. The room size was ample with 2 seperate sleeping areas but just felt it let the hotel down.

The buffet breakfast and dinner was superb - it was our first foray into game meat but there was also a great choice of other foods as well. The cocktail bar is a great place to watch the amazing African sunsets - albeit be careful of the cheeky monkeys !!

We went on the safari drive and sunset cruise (included in the package) and had a great experience seeing all the elephants and hippo's. Our morning game driver was excellent (be prepared as it can get VERY cold ... !!!) He was friendly and knowledgable as also were our sunset cruise staff. Unfortunately it was a full cruise so they ran out of snacks etc quite early !

I paid for the internet but found that the connection did not work - I was not refunded my money .. !

The location of Chobe Safari Lodge was perfect for us as we were able to walk to the local supermarket and stock up on reserves needed for our trip." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Chobe Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2011
"Good points: Great location on the river. Luxurious rooms (more than we needed to be honest). Great bird life and game on the river. Great 'private' river trip for game viewing.

Not so good: We found this more of a hotel than a game lodge. Land rovers for game viewing are large (11 people) and it became a bit of a scrum if a lion was spotted with lots of vehicles there (this was not allowed in the other two camps we stayed in). We were led to believe that laundry and drinks were included but they were not, not even water. In the other camps, they were.

A very large buffet was on offer for meals but the quality of the food was not as good as the two smaller camps we stayed in and the meat was invariably tough. Staff varied from friendly and helpful to sometimes a bit surly. River trip OK but lots of passengers appeared to be there for a boat rtrip with booze rather than game viewing." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
6
Whangarei

"Great location and game viewing"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2011
"A large resort situated right on the banks of the Chobe river. Safe walking distance to Kasane shops etc. Nice pool and communal areas, shaded by large trees. Good restaurant with extensive buffet catering to all tastes. Good food, good staff, good service.

An extended family of banded mongoose (s? mongeese?) kept us entertained outside our rooms. The highlights were the morning game drive where we saw a pride of female lions and cubs, also buffalo, impala etc, and the afternoon / evening boat cruise where we were entertained by elephants and giraffe coming down to the river-bank to drink, also crocs, hippo etc.

Fantastic viewing all round. Would certainly return." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Leics

"Chobe Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2011
"I really enjoyed my stay at Chobe Lodge. I had a three day inclusive package that included 5 activities which gave opportunities to try different things, all of which were well organised and gave great results.

The one to one attention was particularly good, whether on a great fishing trip for tiger fish (caught two but missed several more, had a hoot motoring down stream and weaving in between the flooded trees to find the best spots), or the individual boat hire that resulted in some excellent game spotting along the river front, with lots of background info explained by the knowledgeable guide, to the walk through the Namibian village and explanations of village life and culture.

As a solo traveller these trips were very good, and were arranged to suit my schedule. The two other activities were the early morning game drive and sunset boat cruise, which gave opportunities to meet and socialise with other travellers, as well as see lots more game.

In terms of accommodation, I had a very large, comfortable, air conditioned room with a terrace looking out over the river and the food buffet at both breakfast and dinner was excellent, with a vast range of dishes that differed each night and featured local produce - it did feel a little strange photographing the impala and Koodoo during the day, then eating them at night, but it all added to the experience!

The staff were also very helpful in finding my luggage which had failed to make my connection at Johannesberg and arrived two days late.

Overall a great introduction to Chobe and Botswana" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr A
London

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2010
"Huge, luxurious room with a bottom of chilled wine to welcome us.

Good food.

Horribly busy and too large a lodge for our taste." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-17 of 17
85%
17 reviews of Chobe Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
5
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa