This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr A from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2010 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 20 Nov 2010 and 4 Dec 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Just one dissatisfaction - not all of our car transport turned up on time, and indeed the first one did not turn up at all.

One major recommendation - go in November! It is supposedly low season, but we saw a huge amount and had a fantastic time, with the greatly added benefit of having the vehicles and often camp to ourselves in the vast majority of places.

We have never been on an organised tour holiday, so I was apprehensive that we would be herded around like pack animals and miss out on the unique experience you get when you travel individually. This was not the case. I was very happy with Expert Africa and would certainly use you again if we booked another luxury trip."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Chobe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2010
"Huge, luxurious room with a bottom of chilled wine to welcome us.

Good food.

Horribly busy and too large a lodge for our taste."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2010
"Luxurious, tranquil, friendly.

The air conditioning was broken in our first room, our second was next to the generators, so we were put in a third. Unfortunate, but they were exceedingly accommodating in ensuring we had a room we were happy with."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Somalisa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2010
"It would have been good to know that this was a 2 hour drive from the park entrance!

Remote, undisturbed, extremely friendly, rustic, Dardley was a wonderful guide, superb food, easy going, accommodating.

Not an abundance of 'big' wildlife but suite our needs perfectly - tons of spottings of new and interesting things for both our guide and us, including yellow tailed kites catching mating frogs and 5 leopard tortoises trying to mate with one another!

We were the only people here for 4 nights - magical! I just felt sad that hundreds of people thought Chobe was the place to be, when they were so obviously missing out on this wonderful place."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2010
"Cats, cats and more cats! In fact, that is pretty much all we saw, which was a wonderful contrast to our other camps. Every day people at the camp had new and exciting stories of things they had seen.

Fantastic boat trips but the contrast with being able to go by jeep across the plains, due to it being dry season, made it for us.

Luxurious rooms, with great views. Extremely friendly staff. More of a 'tyring to please the punters' place than some of the other camps, but if that's why you've come to Botswana, then that's no bad thing!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2010
"Wow, what rooms and views!

This was our kind of place, you really had to earn your game viewing. Superb guides and wonderfully peaceful and friendly.

Again, we were the only people, a great bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team