This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr K & Mr M from Australia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

2

Southern african tour

Namibia and 2 other countries between 27 Oct 2015 and 18 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was a great introduction to Africa! The amount of preparation and information provided by Expert Africa meant that there was very little that we had to worry about, but still felt that we were in control of our own adventure.

Overall our highlights were exploring the sand dunes at Sossusvlei, our day trip out of Swakopmund to Sandwich Harbour, the wildlife at Etosha NP, the village life and waterways of the Caprivi Strip and the up close and personal experience of Camp Hwange.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were incredibly impressed with the service we got from Maruska, she put together our trip at very short notice, was always quick to respond to emails, and seemed incredibly knowledgeable when we spoke to her on the phone. We would happily recommend her and Expert Africa to anyone wanting to book a trip to Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Rivendell was a nice base in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"Rivendell was comfortable and pleasant, however we only stayed overnight"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Agama River Camp

"Agama was a great first taste of real Africa"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"Agama was well positioned from Windhoek as a practical base to explore the Sossusvlei area.

Rooms were pleasant and well-sized, the food was very nice and we especially enjoyed getting to experience local song and dance by the staff (only 1 of 2 nights when the camp was full).

The power went out for several hours while we were there but the staff did a great job of dealing with it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Friendly, helpful, and amazing breakfast!"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2015
"The owners were very friendly and helped us find our way around town, as well as helping coordinate our tours out of Swakopmund.

The guesthouse was very nice, with a great courtyard, very comfortable bed and a palatial bathroom with a luxurious tub.

The breakfast was a highlight, especially the amazing omelettes!

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers took at day trip to Sandwich Harbour. Here's what they said about it:
We couldn't have been more happy with our day out with Cai. He is enthusiastic, full of knowledge, and extremely respectful of the environment in which the tours run.

We experienced the amazing diversity of the landscape and wildlife around Sandwich Harbor, and we would really count this as a must-do.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers also took a morning sea-kayaking excursion to Pelican Point. Here's what they said about it:
We had a great day out kayaking. Pelican Point is a special place, and we had a good length of time out on the water with the seals."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A true highlight of our African adventure!"

31 Oct 2015 • All-day excursion

We couldn't have been more happy with our day out with Cai. He is enthusiastic, full of knowledge, and extremely respectful of the environment in which the tours run.

We experienced the amazing diversity of the landscape and wildlife around Sandwich Harbor, and we would really count this as a must-do.
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great day out with the seals"

1 Nov 2015 • Morning excursion

We had a great day out kayaking. Pelican Point is a special place, and we had a good length of time out on the water with the seals.
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Beautiful rooms at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"Doro Nawas was an impressive complex, but overall we felt it was trying a little hard to be something it wasn't. The room was certainly a highlight - huge, comfortable and innovative, with the rolling bed for stargazing and the outdoor shower, as well as an impressive view.

However, we found the food and service was not up to the standards that seemed to be targeted. It would have been much more enjoyable if they stopped trying to be 5-star and embraced the relaxed friendly energy that seemed to exist between the staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Relaxed and social atmosphere"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"We really enjoyed Etosha Safari Camp. The highlight was the courtyard area, where meals and drinks are served - it's a beautiful space and fantastic gathering area. It was really nice having live music there throughout the evening. The food was also very nice and plentiful, and served in a relaxed buffet style.

Although it is only a few kilometres from the entry to the park, the main water holes are then another 30-40 minute drive onward from the gate, so it would be a little far for multiple days, but still worth it as a very pleasant place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Underwhelming accomodation but great location"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2015
"Mainly a rest stop and fine for that purpose. The rooms were very odd - with space that could have been used as a kitchenette but lacking equipment, and the bathroom was quite impractical for the space available.

We were fortunate to see a rhino at the water hole, but in some ways it was nicer elsewhere in the park seeing the animals from ground level, rather than the elevated viewing platform at the camp."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Absolutely exemplary in all aspects"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2015
"Onguma was the highlight of the accomodation on our trip. The grounds and buildings are extremely pleasant and attractive, the pool is great, and the setting of the restaurant and bar above the water hole is perfect.

We are keen animal and bird-spotters, and we saw several species around that small area that we never saw in the rest of our trip!

Service was extremely polite, professional and unobtrusive. The food was tasty, well-proportioned, and vegetarians were well catered for. We were quite sad to leave Onguma after only one night!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Ngepi Camp

"Relaxed place to chill out"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2015
"Ngepi was a good place to stay for a few nights at around the two-thirds point of our trip. The feeling there was much less structured than most of the other accomodations, and we enjoyed the mornings spent by the river admiring the hippos, elephants and birds.

It was very special arriving at our room at dusk on the first night to hear hippos wallowing in the water beneath our balcony! We also enjoyed being able to self-cater, picking up supplies in nearby Divundu and making a fire in the pit beside our hut.

Mahango national park was a bit of a hidden gem! There's not a lot to it, but we saw a fantastic array of animals. We also enjoyed a guided village tour with one of the Ngepi staff.

It would be great if the mosquito nets over the beds were a little larger so we didn't keep getting tangled in them during the night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Excellent birding but limited flexibility"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2015
"We were very pleased to spend an afternoon and morning at Mazambala. The entry road is not perfectly signed, so we ended up almost getting stuck on a section of the road impassable by 2WD car. We turned back and found the parking spot where guests can be collected by boat and brought to the lodge.

Because of the isolated nature and small size of the lodge, it does feel quite restrictive on what activities can be done at what time. This was not a problem for us on our short stay, but I could imagine becoming frustrating over a few days.

Our guide, Felix, was an excellent bird-spotter, with a great deal of knowledge. He also brought us within very close proximity of elephants and hippos. The food service was excellent, and vegetarians were well catered for."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Big-scale safari tourism"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2015
"Staying at Chobe was somewhat of a shock to the system after several weeks of more modest, intimate accommodation!

The setting is very pleasant - with the restaurant, bar, deck and pool facing onto the river. Other than that, it feels mostly like a large chain hotel.

The sunset river cruise was a real highlight of the trip - well paced, knowledgeable but modest guiding, and spectacular scenery. On the other hand, our safari tour was less memorable, as the guide seemed interested in only a few particular animals, and was unwilling to adapt the tour towards the interests of the guests.

Kasane was also a pleasant town to wander."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

"Comfortable hotel, but not ideal location"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2015
"Sprayview is a comfortable option at Vic Falls, but just not within easy reach of the Falls. The pool area is very nice and the wifi reliable and fast (not essential but nice to have occasionally!).

The rooms are nice and clean, but the door locks are frustrating."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Feeling part of the safari family"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2015
"It's hard to imagine a more in-depth safari experience than Camp Hwange. For a start, it's extremely remote, and the transfer from Vic Falls alone is somewhat of an adventure.

From our first afternoon, we were taken out on varied and exciting safaris with their extremely knowledgeable team. Mostly these revolved around a couple of lion groups, but then with diversions according to what other animals (or tracks) were spotted. The wildlife viewing was exceptional - up close with a huge variety of animals including a leopard that had taken up residence not far from the camp.

Meals were very well catered, and eaten communally, giving a great opportunity to meet other guests and share stories. It's no wonder that some people come back repeatedly to Hwange."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2015
"Overall, we were somewhat disappointed with Victoria Falls Hotel. When we arrived, the check-in desk was busy with another couple, so the manager (presumably) suggested we wait at the terrace to be introduced to the hotel. We had waited about 25 minutes before feeling we should return to the lobby and find out what was happening. Distractedly, he told us he'd be there in a moment.

About 5 minutes later, he came out. However, when we said we would only be staying one night, and had plans for the evening, he quickly curtailed the conversation and returned to the lobby. We were told nothing - not a room number, nothing about breakfast or anything about the hotel. It seemed the only interest was upselling tours or other activities, and since we were unable to partake, there seemed to be no interest in making us feel welcome.

That said, the hotel is extremely impressive and a historical icon. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, and the facilities such as the swimming pool are also pretty great. However it was difficult to get past the initial impression of being made to feel unwelcome."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team