This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Wellington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2017 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 9 Jul 2017 and 2 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia. 14 days was the absolute minimum time for the trip- would have really liked a couple of extra days to reduce a bit of driving. (Our choice I know). We found all the places in Namibia delightful/interesting to stay in- all different but great fun with their own charms. THe roads overall are not bad- many are sealed with long, straight stretches. Many of the unsealed ones were fine too but there were three really bad ones-luckily not too long.Certainly wouldn't put us off returning for another visit.

The meet and greet Wilderness Safari team at Windhoek airport were very helpful, efficient and patient, and we appreciated their little lounge to use while waiting.

We did have a truly great memorable trip with too many highlights to single any out. Felt totally safe. The people are charming and the ethos about tourism is impressive.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Cant comment on the brochure as dont think I ever saw one. Found the feedback form a bit tedious to fill in so hope it is helpful.

But we did have a really great trip and have been recommending Expert Africa to anyone interested in travel to Africa from New Zealand"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Very nice place to start. Good food and helpful staff - even did our laundry.

Helpful info on where to dine - Joe's Brew bar great fun.

Lovely breakfast. Nice grounds."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Highly recommended."

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2017
"A highlight. Lovely accommodation and food.

Cheetah tracking and sundowner drinks super.

Sorry didn’t have the energy to do the morning game drive. Thought the trip to the Africat centre was expensive but regarded it as a contribution to the work they are doing.

Very nice gift shop - sorry I didn’t buy a few more things there - but rather a slow purchasing procedure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Accommodation old, basic but adequate. No problems with inventory or payments. Dining room atmospheric but food not very good.

Drive in for 20kms on the D2512 road was shocking-corrugations. The gateman played a great joke on us when we arrived as told us we were to drive up a km, turn left and then another 80kms. Surely you mean “one eight kms” we said. No, no, 80. The he burst out laughing-as did we, with great relief! The ladies at check-in said he got most people on that.

Really enjoyed the walk up to the top of the escarpment - both for exercise and the views."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2017
"Very pleasant. Good food. Nice staff.

Did two very good game drives with the Lodge guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2017
"Great. No problems with inventory or payments. Good food.

Superb waterhole viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2017
"Another highlight. Wish we had had three nights here.

Road in awful tho. On the way from Etosha we detoured to see Finger Rock and had lunch at the Finger Rock lodge. A lovely setting and very good easy lunch. We also visited the Petrified Forest. Highly recommended- suggest you add this to the notes to travellers. We decided against the nature drive to see the elephants and instead drove ourselves to the Damara Living Museum; another place we highly recommend. Got to Twyfelfontein rock engravings but the roads were so unappealing we didn’t get to Burnt Mountain or Organ Pipes that day. The unexpected Bush dinner was superb. Staff and accommodation excellent. We did buy a lunch to take with us which was very expensive but we were glad of it on the Skeleton Coast. The surprise bush dinner under the stars was a highlight.

We drove out to the Skeleton Coast on the C39/34 and were so pleased we had. Firstly the more direct road was the worst we struck (on our way to Twyfelfontein). We met a tour bus driver there who recommended the coast road as being much better - and he was right. It was a very scenic drive out to the coast and a great drive south on the salt road. We would have been very sorry if we had missed this and the extra time was no problem. The weather was kind to us - it would be different in fog/wet conditions.

The road from Henties Bay is being upgraded and the scenery was very disappointing from here to Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2017
"Brigadoon very well located. Great breakfast served by lovely staff.

The new manager at reception was very willing and keen but not very well informed. Found a good Walking tour in English in the morning which was interesting.

Walvis Bay flamingos and a brisk walk in the afternoon - needed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2017
"Drive from Swakopmund to Desert Homestead. A long hard drive. Took more like 8 hours. Not a good road altho very scenic. Wished we had stayed somewhere en route - there looked to be some interesting/ attractive places.

Desert Homestead. Suggest that on the separate page about this place it says that it is 22 kms south of Sesriem. It seemed to be endless getting there. (Later I saw on our itinerary that it is “just over 30kms from Sesriem”). Also there are two parts to the Desert Homestead, both signposted separately from the road. We guessed - correctly - we were in the Lodge but it may help to say exactly which part is booked.

It was a lovely spot - again good food, really attractive chalets. We went with the lodge guide to Sossusvlei - a good choice. Another day here would have been very nice too - to walk around a bit or relax by their pool. The setting was very scenic - made up for it being further away from Sesriem for visiting Sossusvlei."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"A wonderful finale in Namibia. Would have been great to have another night here too.

Lovely hostess, food, rooms, walks…. Also the drive across was very interesting and on a pretty good road too. It did take about 6 ½ hours but we enjoyed it and didn’t feel exhausted on arrival.

We were surprised to be the only guests that night. Very easy hour drive to the airport and efficient handover of the car. A pleasant wait in the Wilderness Safari Lounge altho the plane ended up leaving quite a bit later. It did seem a bit shambolic in the departure Lounge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

"Sprayview Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2017
"A pleasant hotel but obviously not a Lodge. Nice breakfasts.

Good pool..warmest swim on the trip.

Impressed by the Falls."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"A lovely place on the river. Great to have the laundry done!

Again, very pleasant staff. Good food and nice to meet with other guests at meals etc.

The two river cruises another highlight, and the game drive also good.

A very good guide - Tefo. Chobe river area is amazing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Moremi Wildlife Safari

"Moremi Wildlife Safari review"

6 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2017
"It was really good to experience actually camping among the wildlife. Very impressed by the organisation of the campsites, tents, cooking arrangements etc. And the food was amazing esp given the cooking set-up.

Hadn’t appreciated that Game Drives meant quite so much driving! The bigger animals were rather elusive in Moremi. We would have liked a few more quiet stops here to observe the smaller birds, and to have a break from the rather rough terrain we drove over at times. (Our guide was a very good driver so this is not a criticism of his driving!)

Once we got to Khwai the larger animals were much more co-operative and we did spend longer just watching. It was too long a day driving across from one campsite to the next - maybe a shorter route could have been taken, although I know we needed to give the team time to move and set up camp before we got there. We did enjoy the tranquillity of the mokoro cruise."
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team