This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
J&J
Plockton

"Delightful place to start our Namibian Trip"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Pool was welcome, if a bit chilly. The walks are a pleasant way to spend some time, although we didn't see very much. We had better luck after dark, from the hide, where we saw a pair of steenbok visiting the waterhole.

Bettina is a charming host, and was happy to chat and talk about the farm. Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Short night at Eningu"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Very nice duplex chalet units set in the open plain on the edge of the Kalahari.The chalets are of an attractive adobe style and are very comfortable and well equipped.The pool area is showing some wear and could use a little maintenance.

The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially in making sure we were picked up on time early next morning for our transfer to the airport.They provided us with a phone if we needed to contact the operator in case of a delay.

Overall service was excellent and food at dinner was of a high standard" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2019
"We only stayed one night but were very glad we did. Delightful hostess Bettina. Attractive quirky design. Nice pool.

Lots of marked hiking trails - if you want you can also cross over into the neighbouring farm. Interesting hide for night time animal viewing.

Vegetarian food was a bit disappointing but think for some reason there had been a mix up and they were not expecting a vegetarian so probably not typical." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Still a great starting point"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"This was the third time we had started our Namibian trip here, and the experience was as good as ever.

Bettina is a charming an attentive host, and the lodge is a great place to relax for a day or two after a long journey.

There are no formal activities, but the hide and ability to do bush walks is good." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T.
London

"Beautiful estate"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"The estate is very beautiful, red earth, striking vegetation, outdoor sculptures, lots of birds.

The rooms are unusual and fun, but could do with an update, particularly the bathroom. The food was good, we found the portions a bit large.

There are great walks around the estate, we wish we stayed longer to explore them." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Beautiful spot, met Bettini, nice woman. Great staff.
lots of walking trails, small animals & birds.

We saw Kudu at many places, they are not on your sightings lists. Also saw mongoose, baboons, Black Back Jackels, Steenbok, Springbok, and a plethora of birds.

We drove to Windhoek for another day there, back to bookstore, repair tire, ate Portuguese food, that was good." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2018
"Perfect place to finish the trip. Couldn't be better" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Linda & Paul
UK

"Top class accommodation"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"This was an excellent place to end our trip. The accommodation and food were top class and it was a very relaxing place before our long journey home the next day.

We wished that we could have spent another night here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Linda & Paul
UK

"Highly recommended stay on arrival in Namibi "

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"A very good lodge to start our trip.

We very much appreciated that two family members of the owners met us at sundown for a drink and fascinating conversation." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms T
Holland Park

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"Lovely design, good place to chill for a night." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 62
90%
62 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
21
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa