This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

50% success

Eland

25% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs M
Scotland

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2023
"Quirky and very relaxed lodge with very friendly owner and staff.

On our one night stay we were the only guest so got personal service Interesting waymarked trails surround the lodge with regular informative information boards and two viewing hides. Didn't go into the second hide when we saw a 4m cobra slide up into the thatch!

Great place to spend our final night before short 1 hour drive back to the airport." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Claire M
Toronto

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2023
"We arrived early afternoon and I am glad we did because this is such a restful location.

I was able to take advantage of the pool and loungers and to later sit on the roof deck for sundowners. In the morning I went for a walk and to the hide that overlooks the waterhole.

I loved the built-in beds and sitting area in our room. It was very hot the night we were there so despite the ceiling fan our room remained overly warm, making it hard to sleep.

The dining area is also lovely and the food was tasty." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Bintang
Cambridge

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2023
"An ideal place to stay for the first couple of nights. Only an hour from the airport and a great place for a relaxing start to our trip. Well signposted walks in the bush.

We also visited nearby Peperkorrel to see the sculptures by Dorte Berner. Although not particularly interested in sculpture we did find this visit both interesting and informative." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr P.
Chelmsford

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2023
"At first it felt a little empty and soulless but it grew on us" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D.Geer
Chelmsford

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2023
"perfect for a last nights stop before airport" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2023
"We were glad we decided to stay at Eningu on our final night. It is about 1 hour from the airport and the roads are good. We were lucky enough to be the only guests while we were there, which meant we had the whole place to ourselves. Staying there gave us a chance to relax for the day and have a good walk on the trails through the desert, before the long flight home.

The owner was very friendly and made several trips over to the lodge to make sure we were being looked after properly. The food was very good too." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr A
Mallorca

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 15 Dec 2022
"A lovely way to start the trip.

Straight onto gravel roads from the airport, we had a large male kudu jump in front of us just 5mins out of the airport!

Good food and a relaxing place to be." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

J&J
Plockton

"Delightful place to start our Namibian Trip"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Pool was welcome, if a bit chilly. The walks are a pleasant way to spend some time, although we didn't see very much. We had better luck after dark, from the hide, where we saw a pair of steenbok visiting the waterhole.

Bettina is a charming host, and was happy to chat and talk about the farm. Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Short night at Eningu"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Very nice duplex chalet units set in the open plain on the edge of the Kalahari.The chalets are of an attractive adobe style and are very comfortable and well equipped.The pool area is showing some wear and could use a little maintenance.

The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially in making sure we were picked up on time early next morning for our transfer to the airport.They provided us with a phone if we needed to contact the operator in case of a delay.

Overall service was excellent and food at dinner was of a high standard" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Dr N
Edinburgh

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2019
"We only stayed one night but were very glad we did. Delightful hostess Bettina. Attractive quirky design. Nice pool.

Lots of marked hiking trails - if you want you can also cross over into the neighbouring farm. Interesting hide for night time animal viewing.

Vegetarian food was a bit disappointing but think for some reason there had been a mix up and they were not expecting a vegetarian so probably not typical." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 69
90%
69 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
25
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (195 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


91% (47 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (46 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa