This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Ms & Mr S
Switzerland

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2015
"This is a good place to stay before or after a long flight; otherwise there isn't much to do there.

Is it small and cozy." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"An ideal stop-over"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"The lodge is well situated and ideal as a stop-over fairly close to the airport. We were greeted with a much appreciated cool drink and later in the afternoon teas, coffees and cake were available.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but would benefit from a refresh. In the morning there was no hot water available to shower with, perhaps the solar heating system needs attention.

The hide and small waterhole were an added attraction though we weren't lucky enough to see the porcupines that often come during the evenings.

The food was very good and well presented.

Unfortunately the jacuzi wasn't working properly at the time of our visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Glad of the hot water bottle"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"The owner was in Switzerland but the staff did a very good job of feeding us - we think that perhaps there would have been a better sharing of information about the facilities had someone with a good command of English had been present." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Bettina and other staff very welcoming and friendly.

Excellent first hotel, easy to find from the airport but a real slice of Africa after 24 hours travel, it was great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"I've done this one

[ Ed: See this traveller's comments on their stay below - when they stayed here at the start of their trip. ]" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr M
W Lothian

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Such a peaceful place. Run by a lovely lady called Bettina. Just an hour from the airport.

Could not be more convenient and just the right distance to acclimatise to the Nam roads, which are actually very good." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Glasgow

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2014
"Our last night in Namibia was a little disappointing which probably reflects the fact that we arrived on a day when the owner was away and although the staff were fairly friendly there was very little information given to us on arrival and we rarely saw staff. Unusually for Namibia the staff didn't enquire whether the planned menu was suitable for our kids and unfortunately the rather bland stroganoff didn't go down well which was a shame as our kids had got used to excellent meals all the way through our trip (They mainly stuck with adult menus during our trip). Having said that the setting and rooms are beautiful and as a location for a peaceful final night in Namibia it ticks the boxes. One point worth noting is that if want to have lively night exchanging stories before returning home it might be better to stay in Windhoek" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wandsworth

"All you will need"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"We decided to stay here instead of in Windhoek on our way back, as we didn't enjoy Windhoek. Lovely place with great pool and some local walks (the maps aren't great though).

The room was nice and when the power went out, the supplied us all with candles, which made it very romantic. Food was good, service okay. It is a great place, but we had so little time there and I was ill, so didn't really enjoy all it had to offer. Still beats staying in Windhoek by a mile." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Eningu -first two nights of holiday"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2013
"Perfect location for the start or end of holiday. Very relaxing and good accommodation.

Food very good and owner and staff all helpful. Nice pool and the very good hide was a surprise bonus." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2013
"Thank you Sabina for suggesting this for our last night. Bettina is a lovely host and her place is different.

Next time we would like to begin our trip with two nights here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 62
90%
62 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
21
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa