This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

50% success

Eland

25% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Great place to recover from air travel"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2017
"Eningu Clayhouse has a wonderful quiet location one hour's drive from Windhoek airport that is very welcome after a long flight.

We liked the eccentric, artsy decoration of the place. Food was imaginative and tasteful. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was no problem that we arrived already at 8 am.

There were not many activities here but we enjoyed the nature trail with explanatory panels." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Welcoming Eningu"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2016
"Only an hour on a good gravel road from Windhoek Airport, this made the perfect start to our trip, as it did on our last visit to Namibia!

The welcome was friendly, the accommodation and food (provided by a long-standing accomplished chef) excellent, and the pool facilities very comfortable. There is also the added bonus of being able to go for walks in the bush, and the waterhole which provided our first porcupine sighting.

All in all, a great place to relax for a couple of days after long flights etc." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs T
London

"Great welcome and perfect start. Authentic"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Nice authentic feel. Well decorated rooms and nice dining room.

Food was good and the location very pretty. It was the perfect start to our holiday. Not too far from the airport and yet we already felt in a remote spot.

Would highly recommend anyone to stay here on their first night." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Remote but not too far from Windhoek airport"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"The Eningu Clayhouse is something a bit different as it has a Mexican look about it, reddish adobe with giant cacti. We used it mainly to finish our tour conveniently close to Windhoek International Airport (about 1 hour's drive away) but while still staying out in the bush.

We slightly regretted not having more time there as the Clayhouse is part of a large estate with a lot of wildlife in it and a water hole with a hide 50m from the cottages where the guests are accommodated - we saw kudus in particular but understood there are many other species Next time maybe!

Food was excellent and the accommodation was excellent too." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 28 Nov 2015
"Eningu lodge is in a remote location for an airport hotel. It is an hour away from the airport on a quiet gravel road where we were the only vehicle and a further 5km on a sand road to reach the lodge. This location reflected our experience of Namibia. For this reason it is probably more suited at the end of the trip rather than after a long flight.

The lodge was very quiet, in fact we were the only guests and saw the staff only on check-in, evening meal and check out.

There is a pool and a viewing platform from where we watched a Namibian sunset." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Chiswick

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2015
"This was where I stayed my last night, and it was excellent for that. A one hour drive from the airport, which now has petrol at its entrance. The sociable Swiss lady, Bettina, makes one very welcome. Good for relaxing." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2015
"Very helpful and accommodating staff. An unusual and attractive place - very peaceful and well run." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms & Mr S
Switzerland

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2015
"This is a good place to stay before or after a long flight; otherwise there isn't much to do there.

Is it small and cozy." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"An ideal stop-over"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"The lodge is well situated and ideal as a stop-over fairly close to the airport. We were greeted with a much appreciated cool drink and later in the afternoon teas, coffees and cake were available.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but would benefit from a refresh. In the morning there was no hot water available to shower with, perhaps the solar heating system needs attention.

The hide and small waterhole were an added attraction though we weren't lucky enough to see the porcupines that often come during the evenings.

The food was very good and well presented.

Unfortunately the jacuzi wasn't working properly at the time of our visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Glad of the hot water bottle"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"The owner was in Switzerland but the staff did a very good job of feeding us - we think that perhaps there would have been a better sharing of information about the facilities had someone with a good command of English had been present." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 69
90%
69 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
25
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (195 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


91% (50 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (48 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


88% (5 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa