This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

50% success

Eland

25% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Still a great starting point"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"This was the third time we had started our Namibian trip here, and the experience was as good as ever.

Bettina is a charming an attentive host, and the lodge is a great place to relax for a day or two after a long journey.

There are no formal activities, but the hide and ability to do bush walks is good." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T.
London

"Beautiful estate"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"The estate is very beautiful, red earth, striking vegetation, outdoor sculptures, lots of birds.

The rooms are unusual and fun, but could do with an update, particularly the bathroom. The food was good, we found the portions a bit large.

There are great walks around the estate, we wish we stayed longer to explore them." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Beautiful spot, met Bettini, nice woman. Great staff.
lots of walking trails, small animals & birds.

We saw Kudu at many places, they are not on your sightings lists. Also saw mongoose, baboons, Black Back Jackels, Steenbok, Springbok, and a plethora of birds.

We drove to Windhoek for another day there, back to bookstore, repair tire, ate Portuguese food, that was good." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2018
"Perfect place to finish the trip. Couldn't be better" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Linda & Paul
UK

"Highly recommended stay on arrival in Namibi "

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"A very good lodge to start our trip.

We very much appreciated that two family members of the owners met us at sundown for a drink and fascinating conversation." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Linda & Paul
UK

"Top class accommodation"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"This was an excellent place to end our trip. The accommodation and food were top class and it was a very relaxing place before our long journey home the next day.

We wished that we could have spent another night here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T
Holland Park

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"Lovely design, good place to chill for a night." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"It was lovely to return to this lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"This was our third visit to the lodge. It is just over a hour's drive from the airport.

The area surrounding the lodge offers plenty of opportunities for walking in the bush. The walks are clearly marked and the map that we were given was accurate. We didn't see any game on our walks but there were lots of birds. There was also plenty of evidence of wildlife - scat, tracks, porcupine quills, mole rat excavations etc.

It is such a lovely place to stay - interesting buildings, characterful interiors, helpful staff, great food - an oasis of tranquility.

We stayed for two nights but wish we had booked for three." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"A wonderful finale in Namibia. Would have been great to have another night here too.

Lovely hostess, food, rooms, walks…. Also the drive across was very interesting and on a pretty good road too. It did take about 6 ½ hours but we enjoyed it and didn’t feel exhausted on arrival.

We were surprised to be the only guests that night. Very easy hour drive to the airport and efficient handover of the car. A pleasant wait in the Wilderness Safari Lounge altho the plane ended up leaving quite a bit later. It did seem a bit shambolic in the departure Lounge." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2017
"Loved this place, so peaceful and relaxing. Best food of all the places we stayed.
It is noticeable that the owner is not about during the day - needs to get a proactive manager" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 69
90%
69 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
25
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (195 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


91% (48 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (46 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (4 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa