This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms T. from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Road trip of a lifetime

Namibia between 15 Oct 2018 and 2 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip that gave us something new to experience every day. The highlights were the amazing free-roaming wildlife, the stunning savanna and desert landscapes and welcoming people. We were also forced out of our comfort zone: we had 4 tyre punctures (!) and we both had very unpleasant food poisoning thankfully on different days.

We were in a hot air balloon 1000 meters above the desert at the crack of dawn and regularly sand-blasted on gravel and sandy roads. In hindsight we should have elected to stay outside of Etosha and we should have tried to arrange it so that we had smaller meals with less red meat. We worked out that we had 9 red meat meals during the period of 16 days! The food was mostly excellent, but was just too hearty a diet at 35-40 degrees.

Also thanks to Tracy's advice we managed to experience the hot air balloon ride over the desert and to discover such gems as Bullsport and Eningu lodge. Our favourite lodge was Doro Nawas for its stunning location and atmosphere, and lovely staff, closely followed by Hoodia, where we had the best food and a most relaxing stay. Okonjima was also a very special place where we saw leopards on our very first ride!

We will be revisiting our memories of this trip for a long time to come."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Good start to the journey"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Quiet room with a comfortable bed and delicious breakfast on the veranda outside our room.

Great views of Windhoek from the veranda.The only small downside was the plumbing: dribbly shower, slow-clearing drain and separate hot and cold taps. They have secure parking with a security guard present at all times, which surprised us, as we are not used to it, but was also reassuring.

The staff were great. We were also given some useful advice for shopping and parking in town."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"We loved it here. We were very excited to see leopard on our very first drive.

Our standard room was large, private and stylish with amazing views of the bush from the window. We saw a lot of animals just from our window. Food and service were excellent and the 'barn' - the reception/restaurant building is very pleasant.

We enjoyed being able to walk around the estate. It was great to support the Africat foundation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Stylish with good food"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2018
"Stylish tents with deckchairs for sitting outside. A bit small but comfortable.

I don’t like to say this, but I did miss the air-conditioning here as it was very hot overnight. Another beautiful reception/restaurant building. Excellent food, but unfortunately had food poisoning here, I don’t think it’s anything to do with their food or cleanliness which were excellent, possibly caused by ice cubes or snacks we bought elsewhere.

Everything else was excellent and the staff was pleasant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Basic"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"Basic, musty and dated, but ok. Relatively clean.

Comfortable bed with mosquito net and air-conditioning.

Better than Okaukuejo for us, but we realise that this is probably due to the luck of the draw with room allocation. We had room 57."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Basic and grubby"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"We didn't get on well with this place, we found it basic and filthy. On top of it one of us was sick here without having any of their food and drinking only bottled water (we think most likely from the dirty cups in the room).

As much as we loved Etosha and seeing the amazing wildlife, Okaukuejo accommodation was not pleasant. If I knew it would have been like this I would have opted to stay outside of Etosha in a private lodge instead.

Again I realise we might have been unlucky with room allocation, we had room 72."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Breath-taking location"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2018
"Breath-taking location, beautiful chalets, great staff. This is a very special place.

Excellent from beginning to end."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Unusual but comfortable and quiet"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"Lovely garden, great breakfast, room good, but a little dated.

Good night's sleep.

Sam and his staff were welcoming and helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"We didn't expect Bullsport to be as pleasant, relaxed and comfortable as it was. Our luxury room was great - simple, but spacious, with comfortable bed, nice bathroom and shower.

The estate itself and the surrounding countryside are beautiful and interesting. I managed to fit in a 2.5 hour horse ride in the morning of departure which I loved. Their horses are lovely and they also have a few very friendly old dogs around.

Although we personally don't like communal dining and were very tired that evening, it was not unpleasant and the food was good. We were glad we could serve ourselves so that we can have the right size portions (in our case small). Staff were pleasant.

I wish we stayed for more than one night as there are great walks in the vicinity."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Luxurious"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Beautiful setting, great private chalets, well appointed, the best food we had on the trip, very attentive service.

We loved the outdoor shower and the lounge/veranda area in the main building."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Beautiful estate"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"The estate is very beautiful, red earth, striking vegetation, outdoor sculptures, lots of birds.

The rooms are unusual and fun, but could do with an update, particularly the bathroom. The food was good, we found the portions a bit large.

There are great walks around the estate, we wish we stayed longer to explore them."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team