This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Linda & Paul from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

An extremely well organised itinerary

Namibia between 22 Apr 2018 and 4 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Nothing was too much trouble for Sabina in researching and planning this itinerary for a party of 10 photographers. All the arrangements worked very smoothly throughout the trip.

The whole African Experience was greatly enhanced by the quality of the locations where we stayed and the stunning lodges and camps.

Thank you so much - your efforts and knowledge have been greatly appreciated."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Top class lodge in every respect"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"An excellent lodge to begin our two week photographic trip. Wonderful location and the evening BBQ dinner was wonderful.

A pity we were there for only one night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"A mediocre stay"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2018
"Some reported that rooms were not as clean or well equipped as other locations. The food service was slow.

It is accepted that good accommodation in a town like Keetmanshoop may be more difficult to source."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Wonderful location and facilities"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"A very efficiently run and friendly hotel and the meals were excellent.

The location was wonderful with sea views from the bedroom windows along with the continuous sound of the waves below the window.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Memorable location"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"The location of this lodge is truly memorable and the rooms were wonderful too.

One member of the party who has stayed here before commented that the lodge was not of the same highest standard as it used to be.

Additionally, our guide during our stay was not very informative and did not take us to particularly good photographic locations."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Very characterful and wonderful lodges"

4 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Excellent and very characterful lodges and friendly and helpful staff too.

On arrival we learnt that we only had 5 rooms for the first night and not the 7 that were booked. This was apparently due to a plumbing problem. This meant that 4 members booked into single rooms had to share2 rooms for the first night. The manager was very apologetic indeed and handled the situation well. I agreed a compensation package with her and the 4 people concerned received a refund.

The guide was excellent although he did drive rather too quickly into Deadvlei causing one party member to suffer a back injury. This meant that he could not walk the final section into the salt pan where the dead trees are located. This was a great shame as it was one of the photographic highlights of the trip."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Very characterful and wonderful lodges"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2018
"See comments on previous page"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Top class accommodation"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"This was an excellent place to end our trip. The accommodation and food were top class and it was a very relaxing place before our long journey home the next day.

We wished that we could have spent another night here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

An outstanding and very well organised trip

Namibia between 21 Apr 2018 and 20 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"All the arrangements made by Expert Africa went very smoothly and without a single hitch. Most of the accommodation and the friendliness of the service proved to be of a very high standard indeed (most notably Bagatelle Kalahari, Nest Hotel, Wolwedans, Ongava and Mushara lodges). The only locations where the standard was less than satisfactory were Central Lodge and particularly Olive Grove in Klein Windhoek.

The maps and guide books provided prior to the trip were invaluable and very comprehensive.

Although not organised through you, the flights with South African Airlines proved to be very comfortable indeed with plenty of leg room."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Highly recommended stay on arrival in Namibi "

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"A very good lodge to start our trip.

We very much appreciated that two family members of the owners met us at sundown for a drink and fascinating conversation."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Amazing place to stay"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2018
"An amazing location, really friendly and helpful staff and beautiful food.

Met the owners of the ranch who were so enthusiastic and welcoming towards us.

Taken to see the local family of meerkats - a highlight of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Sub standard room and service"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2018
"Did not expect top accommodation in the town of Keetmanshoop and maybe this is the best place to stay in the town. However, we were put in a sub-standard and tired looking room next to the restaurant as all the other rooms had been filled by a coach party.

Service in the restaurant was also poor and lacked organisation, staff were not coping with the pressure of dealing with a large party and arguing amongst themselves.
Although the manager was walking around he did not appear to be doing anything to resolve the problems."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Top hotel in great location"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2018
"An extremely well run hotel with very helpful staff - location and food excellent.

The sea view and sound of the waves right underneath our window were memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"A very special place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"Location of the Dune Camp, its accommodation and meals were truly memorable. An expensive place to stay for 3 nights but well worth it!

A special mention needs to be made of Ringo, a trainee, who took such good care of us during all of our meals here. His standard of service and personality added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay.

Additionally, we had a great guide, Jason, who could not do enough for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Exceptionally friendly staff and great room"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2018
"Lovely spacious room and exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. We were very well looked after even though they also had to take care of several large groups of guests.

The food was adequate but this is an aspect that they could seek to improve, otherwise we would have given it an excellent rating."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great room but poor service - disappointing"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2018
"Very contemporary and spacious room. However, our stay was badly let down by the attitude of the unwelcoming staff. They need to realise that providing an excellent and stylish room is not enough. It was a very unfriendly stay and much needed customer service training needs to be introduced here!

Despite this we booked for dinner here on our last night, as the Elegant Guest House did not provide dinners and it was nearby. However, on arrival we discovered that they had not reserved a place for us and we were abruptly told that dinners were exclusive to those staying at the Olive Grove."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Top class lodge in every respect"

1 night Arrived 15 May 2018
"A memorable location to stay and the outdoor dining experience here is very special.

Received an extremely warm, enthusiastic and professional welcome from Bradley (the manager).

Within an hour of our arrival we were viewing a family of white rhino just a few metres away!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Probably the best place I have ever stayed at"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2018
"An outstanding lodge in every respect. Wonderful room, excellent meals and two wonderful locations to enjoy the dining experience.

The BBQ on our second night was one that I will certainly not forget!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Suitable for getting to the airport"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2018
"Received a good and helpful reception on arrival. Room was rather tired and small but it was OK for our last night. Not providing dinners was a drawback. Convenient for getting to the airport."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team