This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M & Mr S from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Namibia between 9 Oct 2018 and 1 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"overall it was fantastic, thank you Maruska for designing the perfect trip. We loved every day!

All was fantastic. No significant problems or issues, loved the country, would love to return. Mostly met Germans & Dutch; only met two American couples, Americans are really missing out!

Roads were not too bad and very little traffic.
I was surprised and saddened (or probably just ignorant) to see the racism and poverty that still exists in our world."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Easily reached from airport, excellent service, lovely accommodations.

Took early morning game drive, great introduction to wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Staff was pleasant at Hilltop.

Visited a fantastic small local bookstore near Hilltop, great discussion with wonderful owner, Anya.

Visited Independence Memorial Museum in Windhoek, good introduction to history of Namibian independence."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"We took a night game drive as well as morning drive. Both were great. Saw cheetah as well as leopard.

We were delightfully surprised with a bottle of champagne at dinner, to celebrate our 20th anniversary.
Thank you Maruska for forwarding that information to Okonjima.

We did not have time to go to the cat education center."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"long drive from Okonjima to Onguma.

We arrived late in afternoon, and left early for Etosha in morning.

Next time I would prefer to stay in park Namatumi if it was available."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2018
"Accommodations and food were not remarkable.

However, the park is great.
We enjoyed driving to the various outlooks and waterholes during the day and simply walking to the waterhole at the Halali camp itself."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"Camp facility better than Halali, room was near the waterhole, where we spent time late into the night and early in the morning. We were never disappointed with the diverse and numerous wildlife.

We drove far to the west and enjoyed the outback as well as large Etosha pan.
We enjoyed the large selection of bird types and habitats.

not sure I know if the antelopes were the roan or sable??"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

"Vreugde Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"Lovely cattle farm with interesting long time welcoming family.
They regaled us with singing and champagne in celebration of our anniversary, another sweet surprise.

Took sun downer trip around farm with one of sons, informative.
No large wildlife, lots of birds, warthogs, dikdik and possibly a duiker

Left early for very long drive to Khowarib. With sightseeing stops, the drive took nine hours.

Excellent food!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

"Khowarib Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"The lodge at Khowarib was trying hard to be good.

Took visit trip to Himba village, for cultural exchange. Well worth the excursion. Not sure how this could have been improved, it was a bit awkward, the women seemed to just be enduring the exchange. The children were adorable. Not sure what their collective future will be. There were no men in the village.

Fascinating part of Namibia, I would have liked to spend more time a bit further north & west, next time!. Even though the development is more rudimentary. I read a great book, An Arid Eden by Garth Owen-Smith about the history of this area, highly recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"Greeted warmly by staff song. Another palatial lodge, great service and lovely room. They also recognized our anniversary with a bottle of wine, and sweet handwritten card. We slept on outside porch for both nights. We took all sundowner drives and morning game drives.

We drove ourselves to Twyfelfontain, another wonderful experience. Met wonderful man, guide Martin. We drove with him to Khorixas in the evening to complete some of our personal chores ($ exchange, fuel, etc), we met his parents and extended family for a welcomed cultural exchange."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"Back to city... interesting museum and walked around town and beach.

Great Indian restaurant in town, able to walk to it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"Another long driving day from Swakopmund to Kulala, eight hours, including stops and lunch. Arrived in time for a sun downer drive. Interesting area. Lovely rooms, one night we slept outside in raised roof area.

Another bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary...we have definitely been spoiled!

Took game drive to Sossusvlei and hiked to top of Big Daddy dune, well worth the effort. Incredible scenery down into Deadvlei. Took another sun downer drive, this one to Sesriem Canyon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Took walks and one game drive with young man, Jonathon, who worked there but was actually raised on a nearby local farm. Great information about farming/ranching in Namibia.
Hiked the Quivertree Gorge Trail, over 5KM, also went horseback riding.

Food was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Beautiful spot, met Bettini, nice woman. Great staff.
lots of walking trails, small animals & birds.

We saw Kudu at many places, they are not on your sightings lists. Also saw mongoose, baboons, Black Back Jackels, Steenbok, Springbok, and a plethora of birds.

We drove to Windhoek for another day there, back to bookstore, repair tire, ate Portuguese food, that was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team