This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Hampshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

33

Excursions taken

0

Best holiday destination in the world

Namibia and 1 other country between 6 Jun 2017 and 26 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have done a fair bit of travelling and do not often return to the same place as there is still so much more to see. However, Namibia is an exception, this being our third trip.
It has everything, beautiful scenery, wildlife, friendly people. The roads are quiet and tourism is still relatively low key. It also feels so much safer than some other African countries.
With Expert Africa our trip was well organised and everything went seamlessly. We would use this company again."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"despite its smart colonial aspect it was very friendly, informal and relaxing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2017
"this feels like a lodge miles from anywhere despite its close proximity to Windhoek. An ideal place if you wish to avoid staying in a city environment"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Waterberg Guest Farm

"Waterberg Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2017
"a real gem often overlooked on the way to the Waterberg plateau. Good fun chatting and joking with the other guests and the owners around the communal dining table. walking trail involves a stiff climb but good views at the top."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2017
"The best waterhole we have come across in this area. Sit back and relax with a drink and wait for the game to come to you. Also excellent hide right by the waterhole gives a different perspective. Don't miss out on the sundowner game drive with a good chance of seeing lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2017
"Excellent as always. Magical spot and good walking trail amongst the boulders and great sundowner viewpoint."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2017
"Fantastic lodge amongst photogenic boulders. Room spacious, very helpful and friendly staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2017
"Great location with plenty of walking. Rock art on site. Very friendly nd helpful staff.
Slightly disappointed with the meal - set menu/price which wasn't cheap, most other places we stayed at least gave you a choice of two meals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz paradise"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Faultless as usual. Staff so friendly and helpful. Off road adventure was great fun. The only place off the beaten track that provides an a la carte menu which meant an oryx free night!
Various well marked walking trails."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2017
"Loved this place, so peaceful and relaxing. Best food of all the places we stayed.
It is noticeable that the owner is not about during the day - needs to get a proactive manager"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Fabulous Namibia

Namibia and 1 other country between 20 Sep 2013 and 12 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent second trip to Namibia where we explored north of Windhoek, covering Etosha and Damaraland. Our previous visit was south of Windhoek to Kalahari, Fish River Canyon and Sossusvlei. Both were equally fabulous for scenery and animals.

It was brilliant seeing the wildlife at the waterholes in Etosha from our car and also at the waterholes in the various lodges we stayed in. The service everywhere in Namibia was excellent and very friendly.

No wonder Namibia has featured strongly for a number of years in the world's top ten countries to visit by readers of the Wanderlust travel magazine.

The garden route in South Africa, following Namibia, was a little tame and too touristy in comparison although it was great seeing whales in the bay at Hermanus. The food and wine in S.A. is extremely good and cheap in comparison to the UK.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

My husband thinks I should be paid for completing this feedback! It was a bit time consuming due to the number of lodges we stayed in over a three week period - it becomes a job to remember them all clearly.

Having said that the trip was brilliantly organised by Gwynneth and we will be contacting her again for our next trip in a couple of years time."

Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Peaceful and relaxing"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

Friendly and helpful service. Lovely decking area for sundowners overlooking a water hole."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Great BBQ at Mushara Lodge"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: This lodge was easily accessible. There was the odd step between areas but the paths were wide and even.

Lovely evening under the stars with mountains of good food at the BBQ.
Friendly, helpful service and very relaxing.

Some insect spray in the room would be useful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Excellent waterhole at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

The three main camps in Etosha are more basic than the private lodges but we expected that. Rooms at Halali were clean and well equipped and despite the number of rooms it was quiet in the evenings. The waterhole is set away from the accommodation so was quiet and we saw elephants, giraffe, zebra and various antelope each evening.

A coffee table in the room by the armchairs would have been useful, there being plenty of space for this."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Big and busy Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge was easily accessible.

The biggest camp was busy with traffic, campers and people walking to and from the waterhole past our room. The patio area was not at all private. The waterhole is close to the rooms so distracting noise but the animals seemed to take no notice. We saw some lions at night but as the whole waterhole is not well lit these were indistinct."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag is a little gem"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

Saw elephants right next to our room which was very exciting. The surrounding area excellent for walks.

This lodge was a pleasant surprise after being described as one of the oldest, we would have been happy to spend longer than the one night there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Pure luxury at Mowani"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: There are a few steps to access the dining room which might have been awkward but the staff were more than happy to lend a hand. The path up the hill for sundowner was well paved with the odd step.

Despite being more expensive and luxurious than other lodges we stayed in, it remained relaxing and very friendly.
Loved the outside shower next to our room (actually a large luxury tent) and we left the curtains open at night so we could wake to the fantastic view. The room, patio and of course the outside shower were completely private.

Great sundowner a few yards away on the top of a hill giving lovely views and photographic opportunities.

I can't praise this place enough - worth the money - and we are definitely going back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Mysterious Cape Cross"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

After walk along the beach, which was completely deserted, I turned round to look at the lodge through the coming mist, making it look very eerie (but in a good way!)

Lovely to wake to the noise of the crashing waves.

The seal sanctuary is worth a visit but take a peg for your nose."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Heavenly Rostock Ritz"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: This lodge specifically caters for the disabled with ramps and two designated rooms for the disabled.

My husband describes this lodge as paradise on earth and for once I wouldn't disagree with him.
Following a swim in the pool, I spent a lazy afternoon in a hammock looking at the fabulous view.

The rescued meerkats that live here were fun to watch with their almost human mannerisms.
Great to dine in a restaurant where you have a good choice of dishes after several days of set menus consisting of grilled springbok, kudu, etc.

Good to see owner of lodge mixing with the guests and pleasant to have the staff come and chat to you in the evening after dinner.

The lodge is ideally placed for breaking up a trip between Sossusvlei and the coast but please stay longer than the one night. This lodge is definitely on the list for our next visit.

Our only suggestion for improvement would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Peace and quiet near to Windhoek and airport"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: There were a number of steps both to reception/dining room and our cabin which made it a little awkward unless we asked for help.

We only stayed one night on our way to the airport early next morning but this lodge is worth a longer stay.

Very welcoming and friendly staff who were on hand to help us when we left at 5.30am.

Good room with private patio and views of the Khomas hills."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Breakfast feast at Ocean Eleven"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: Good access to all areas.

Large well equipped rooms and a nice touch on arriving back after a night out was the heater turned on and the curtains drawn.

Wonderful breakfast that kept us going all day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hideaway Guesthouse

Hideaway Guesthouse

"Hideaway is small but perfect"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas easily accessible.

Stephen and Jackie were very welcoming and put a lot of effort into providing your every need, even washing your car for you in the morning. We were invited to join them for drinks before going out for the evening which was a nice touch. They are also proud of their locally sourced gourmet breakfast and with good reason.

Despite the fact this English couple only emigrated a couple of years ago, they have done a lot of research and are a fount of local knowledge. Beware, Stephen is a good organiser (ex-army) and asks for your next destination so he can draw up a scenic route for you.

It was a shame the weather was awful and we were only staying one night - we would definitely recommend this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach House

"Laid back Southern Cross"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons view: Good access with the odd step to your room/dining room.

Johanna? was very welcoming and is an asset to this B&B. We didn't see anything of the owners.

This is a place to relax, it is so laid back as to be almost horizontal. Breakfast is served 8.30 to 10 literally, because even if you arrive at 8.30 you probably wont get it until 10! The breakfast menu is also more limited than some places.

The rooms are smaller than most places we have stayed but there was a sitting/dining room for the guests sole use. Lovely to lie in bed and hear the crashing waves on the beach which is a few yards away across some boardwalks. Nice grounds with lots of Old World charm to sit in and look at the sea."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Old fashioned Rosenhof"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: Despite our agent informing all the places we were staying of disability, this place obviously did not read their notes. We had to negotiate some awkward steps to the room despite us noticing later that a few other rooms did not have steps and appeared not to be occupied. There were also awkward steps to the dining/swimming pool area, however, they did offer to serve us breakfast on our patio.

The style of this place is in the name - country house - but even so the room seemed a little dowdy although the bathroom was modern.

Good welcome and excellent breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschoek review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons view: Good level access to room and dining room.

On arriving we were rather bombarded with information about the facilities and room - the basics would have been enough - we can always ask if we have a problem. The location on the main street, whilst close to shops and restaurants, meant a fair bit of noise if you were sitting on your patio. Parking space is a little tight.

Excellent breakfast, so much to choose from and I can't say no even when I'm full."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Quiet formal Vineyard Hotel"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons view: Good level access to all inside areas and valet parking was a bonus.

Quiet location very close to Kirstenbosch and if the weather had been better I'm sure there are good views of Table Mountain.
Wonderful garden alongside the river although due to it's very nature it is not accessible to the disabled, apart from the patio area.

At dinner the starter whilst very nice was not what I ordered. The waiter said he would query it with the kitchen but we never got any feedback.

This place is too big and a little formal for us after having spent three weeks at lodges and B&B's."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

A top destination

Namibia between 4 Jun 2009 and 20 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing experience which went all too quickly (except Swakopmund) and we will definitely return and explore the north. All the people we met were so friendly and helpful. We went south for the photography which was fantastic and we couldn't top clicking the shutter - so we have hundreds of momentos.

The top experiences for us were the Kalahari desert Sundowner Drive from Anib and the desert horses near Klein Aus Vista. The walking for me was excellent, especially from Canon Roadhouse and Rostock Ritz and I felt perfectly safe on my own.

Well done Gwynneth for helping to chose the accommodation and making it as easy as possible for John to access."

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2009
"Overall the best place we stayed at. Everyone very friendly & welcoming and the numerous dogs added to the homely feel. The sundowner drive good value for money, informative and at a relaxed pace.

The only possible criticism would be a bit of pressure to buy alcohol in the evenings but it was done in the most friendly & inoffensive manner - just need to be careful not to overstep the mark."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2009
"The only let down was the room. I appreciate they gave us the room nearest to the facilities because of John's disability, however, the room was dated, too many beds crammed in and a strong smell of airfreshener was possibly to disguise the smell of cigarettes.

The refridgeration unit backed on to the room and was very noisy during the night. We didn't get to see the newer rooms but certainly from the outside they looked far superior and were just as easily accessible and if we were staying longer I would have asked to move rooms."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2009
"Another fabulous place and excellent walking in the immediate vicinity. Again everyone friendly and welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2009
"The original rooms we stayed in were lovely as was the patio area. Only drawback for someone with disabilities was the stone stairway to the rooms had no handrail.

In this respect the chalets were more accessible (I appreciate these were more expensive) as the stairs to the reception/dining room had handrails."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2009
"Had trouble deciding between good and excellent as the rooms although clean were a little dated. However, Hannelore's excellent, and to us, slightly offbeat food and informative chats made the rooms of little consequence.

I would have loved to stay longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2009
"The rooms were a bit tricky to access due to the uneven stony paths that were quite narrow and the steep steps upto the verandah. However, the tent and amazing views in such a peaceful location meant you did not want to go out. Again we were made to feel most welcome and able to relax.

The evening nature drive with N'gway (sorry for the spelling) was very infomative and he assisted John in and out of the vehicle in a very helpful and friendly manner.

The tour was expensive (compared to Anib Lodge which was a third of the price) although perhaps that is fairly standard in the Sesreim area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2009
"Wished we had stayed here longer - we had a long day in the sand dunes and didn't arrive here until after sunset. This was a big disappointment as we could see from the colour of the sky it was someting to be witnessed.

The igloo was the best room we stayed in and the restaurant and waiters were excellent. Fantastic walking but unfortunately I only had time for one the next morning before breakfast.

In hindsight we would have swopped Swakopmund for three days here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2009
"Swakopmund was overcast and windy when we arrived and after the excellent places we had stayed at until now was a big downer.

Sam's hotel was plastered with For Sale signs and he was away for a few days. The place had no atmosphere and it felt like the restaurant staff were going through the motions of service but with no enjoyment - I expect morale was low due to uncertainty over the sale.

It was a big disappointment as we had been looking forward to what the brochures inferred would be a quirky and fun experience."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2009
"An excellent place to either start or end a holiday. The owner directed us to Joe's Bar for our evening meal which was good fun.

The long tables which you share with other English speaking people was a great idea (providing you are of a sociable nature) and later you could sit close to the huge fire in the middle of the circle of tables and reflect on your holiday experiences."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team