This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Brigadoon
Brigadoon
Brigadoon
Brigadoon

Reviews of Brigadoon

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Brigadoon and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Northants

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"An extremely stylish place. The room was beautifully furnished and decorated, a lovely place to return to after a hard day on the dunes / waves ! The breakfast was nicely presented and quite comprehensive. Margaret, the manager, is a national treasure. She deserves a platinum award for hospitality, kindness and efficiency. She did everything she could to make our stay here run smoothly. She is wonderful. XXXXXXXXX

However hard she tried with her natural warmth and keenness to help, Margaret could not make the outside temperature any warmer in the morning, when eating breakfast outside was just a bit chilly ! Brrrrr !
Brigadoon is quite conveniently placed for shops restaurants and seaside.

The one thing we emphatically loathed at Brigadoon was the toilet. It was positioned behind the fridge in the living area, sharing the same air as the living room, with a waist high partition behind the fridge, no door! The shower was similarly 'open plan' but we could manage that one, no problem. An open plan toilet is a different matter ! There are many good features at Brigadoon, but this single feature is enough to make it unsatisfactory accommodation for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Ms P & Mr D
UK

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"We arrived to find that it had just undergone a revamp and was absolutely stunning. Debbie was very friendly and helpful and booked us in for dinner at an Il Napolitana. It is very security concious and to get into the B&B you have to unlock a gate and lock it once through. The rooms have their own locks and all have individual alarms which are very easy to use. The manager was very accomodating and informed us that we had to rush breakfast in the morning (which came early just for us) in order to get to our kayaking acitivty. She was very much on the ball and a great hostess.

It is very close to the centre of town, in a quiet road opposite the beach. The only negative is that the room inlcudes the bathroom which is fine except that the toilet is only cut off by a small wall, so if you're standing up in the room you can see the other person on the toilet! Being english we didn't really like this. It has been refurbished beautifully and is a very relaxing place to stay in the town. We would definitely return." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Family P
Belgium

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"The self-catering flat was great - wonderful views over the sea and nice to be able to cook for ourselves and do some washing. Also conveniently near the shops. Although we had been told breakfast was included, it is not normally, but the manageress accepted our voucher and we had a good buffet breakfast in the main B&B every morning.

Although the lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast staff were also friendly, some of the other reception staff were rather more "abrupt" and made us feel like we were a bit of a bother rather than paying guests.

The living desert tour here was great - enoyed by us as much as the children. My son still talks about the rolling, dancing, kung-fu spider!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Brigadoon review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"Wonderful views from the spacious and comfortable flat overlooking the beach. A very good breakfast arrived on trays from the main house.

Margaret was an attentive hostess, finding us a table at the Lighthouse when we were unable to get a booking at the Tug.

Swakop is busy aand lots of people eat out so booking ahead is well advised." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The S Family
Darwin

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2008
"Very very friendly people. Even baby sat a sick child that had started to vomit just before Turnstone tours loaded us up and what's more the child in question had a fantastic day.

Very proactively going out of there way to organise anything you needed.

Great to have this pit stop with washing machine in kitchen and be able to do a bit of cooking for yourself with groceries from major grocery store just around the corner.

Day trip to desert coast south of Swakopmund: Great to be able to ask lots of questions about living in Namibia and they were excellent at tailoring a trip to our group.

Kayaking to Pelican Point: Lovely enthusiastic guide. We did not take our kids but it would have been fantastic for all our kids ages 4,6,8." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Group of 4
Oxford

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2008
"Odd smell in the rooms?" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
The Sparrows
London

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"Lots of space in the apartment, a good view of the beach and clean with decent facilities like a much-welcomed washing machine." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Hall

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2008
"Swawkopmund was cold and bleak when we arrived and the room felt cold, good value for a B&B with a helpful proprietor.

The kayak trip at Walvis Bay was fantastic and I am so glad we booked this in advance, it was in many ways one of the highlights of the trip.

Morning kayaking excursion - The kayak trip at Walvis Bay was fantastic and I am so glad we booked this in advance, it was in many ways one of the highlights of the trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Accra family
UK

"Our children's favourite place!"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2008
"This was one of our highlights of the holiday, the staff were incredibly helpful, especially Margaret in booking our Living Desert Tour, lending us sand boards and giving us directions on where & how to use them, as well as recommendations (tried and liked) for restaurants! She was also really helpful when we were trying to find a Nissan garage to replace our lost hub-cap (unsuccessfully)!

It was wonderful to have the independence of a self-contained appartment. The voucher sent to us to confirm our booking stated we were on a B&B basis - but it was self-catering. This was fine. It just would have been nice to know before we arrived. The kids loved the apartment and the freedom to roam around the rooms playing or watching DSTV. It was also nice not to have to get up for breakfast for an allotted time. It was very clean, well decorated and well equipped. The opportunity to do our washing and to dry it was great! The location was close enough to the beach and town centre to walk in a few minutes, but in a residential area and so quiet. We think our kids liked this accommodation the most." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr S
Syre

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"We had read a rather unflattering review of Brigadoon, but we found it fine. The rooms were perfectly adequate, very clean if not luxurious.

The breakfast was good, served outside the room in the small garden, which was a very pleasant green space after the desert.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was nice and central and we would certainly stay there again." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 21
80%
21 reviews of Brigadoon by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
4
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (224 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa