This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family P from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Self-drive Namibia

Namibia between 6 Aug 2009 and 27 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is certainly an interesting and beautiful country to visit. Highlights were driving through the dramatic desert scenery, climbing the dunes, seeing the seals at Cape Cross, watching a rhino family drink at Okaukuejo's waterhole, seeing crocodiles on the Angolan bank of the Okavango river, and the relaxed and friendly atmosphere at Ghaub guest farm. Having travelled fairly widely in Africa, the thing that perhaps surprised us most was how few people there are in Namibia (2.2/km2) - even the towns seemed empty!

It was interesting that none of the lodges (except Ghaub) offered child portions for their meals, even for very young children, which unfortunately resulted in food being wasted.

Cash was easier to find than expected with ATMs in even the smallest towns and at many petrol stations, which was good as food and supplies seemed generally quite expensive.

Expert Africa certainly organised the trip well - Tracy was always happy to answer queries, replied rapidly to my emails, and kept us posted with any changes. We had originally asked for self-catering as much as possible and I realise that in many places this is not possible, but where we were quoted only bed and breakfast we sort of assumed there would be facilities for catering for ourselves which was not always the case - this was perhaps our fault for not clarifying this before leaving. Otherwise, the voucher system worked well and everything was booked as expected (except for the family room at Haus Sonneneck). The route was clearly marked and lodges were easy to find."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Anib Lodge was a good start to our trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable although there was not much noise insulation between rooms and you could clearly hear what was going on in the room next door. The large pool was lovely (if a little cold!).

Although our request for a birthday cake for our son (who had his 9th birthday on the day we stayed here) did not seem to have been passed on to the lodge, the staff still managed to provide a large cake with candles after the meal accompanied by "Happy Birthday" sung in English and several local languages, which was great.

Two small critiques (and these apply to most of the places we stayed) are first that no-one explained what was available in terms of activities - it was up to us to find out, and second that when we asked for some information about the local area, the reception staff were unable to help - perhaps a bit more local knowledge (outside of the immediate lodge area) would be of use."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2009
"Here we had a great welcome and detailed introduction and explanation of facilities and activities from the interim manager, but by the next day she was no longer around and there didn't seem to be anyone to replace her.

The rooms were lovely and our two kulalas were attached by a short verandah which was nice. However, there was a lot of noise from the generator until quite late and from cars arriving late and leaving early. There was also some bad smelling water in front of our lodge, perhaps from a leaking drain? The pool area was nice.

Rather than pay the very high price for an organised trip, we drove ourselves to Sossussvlei, which was really not far and was much cheaper as we just had to pay the park entrance fee. It also gave us the option to spend as long or as little time at the dunes as we wanted. The canyon is easily missed with the excitement of seeing Dune 45, but was really worth the walk."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"The self-catering flat was great - wonderful views over the sea and nice to be able to cook for ourselves and do some washing. Also conveniently near the shops. Although we had been told breakfast was included, it is not normally, but the manageress accepted our voucher and we had a good buffet breakfast in the main B&B every morning.

Although the lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast staff were also friendly, some of the other reception staff were rather more "abrupt" and made us feel like we were a bit of a bother rather than paying guests.

The living desert tour here was great - enoyed by us as much as the children. My son still talks about the rolling, dancing, kung-fu spider!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

"Brandberg Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"This was an interesting stop over on our way to Twyfelfontein. Although we had understood we were self-catering here, we had been reserved normal rooms and the self-catering rooms were full. But the owners offered us the use of their BBQ so that we could cook for ourselves if we wanted.

The rooms themselves were large and clean and each had a fridge which was useful. The staff were very friendly and the owner, Basil, kindly allowed us to use his PC to check our emails. Again, no information was offered about possible excursions, which could have been of interest.

The walk to the White Lady rock painting along a dry river bed was really worth the effort with great scenery and a helpful guide."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2009
"Nice welcome here from Agnes and large rooms with good views - hot water bottles were a nice touch. Nice to see solar panels being used to heat water for showers and fun to have option of showering outside!

Food was good, but a bit rushed. Swimming pool would have benefitted from some lighting in the evening. The staff sang after supper but, unfortunately, we had not been told this would be happening and had already gone to our rooms.

There were not enough torches to go round so it was good we had brought our own."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"We were in two nice sized double rooms next to each other, each with a fridge and a small lounge area. There was a communal BBQ area so we were able to cook for ourselves although had to be careful not to share the meal with the resident jackals!

The floodlit waterhole is just amazing and there seemed to be something to see at almost any time of the day or night. We were lucky to see a family of rhinos coming down to drink on our second evening. We didn't do any of the organized trips, preferring to drive ourselves around.

The pool area was nice although busy and quite noisy. There was a useful snack bar selling burgers and chips, but opening hours were limited and it frequently ran out of supplies!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"This was conveniently located just outside the east gate of Etosha. When we saw our "room" we couldn't believe it! We had a whole house with two separate bedrooms, three bathrooms and an enormous lounge all to ourselves!

The staff here were all very friendly and welcoming, although meal service was rather slow and the English Christmas carols accompanying supper were a little out of place!.

We enjoyed the pool and it was nice to have warthogs and kudu wandering round the garden."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Were a bit worried by the very rushed "hello, here's your room" welcome at Hakusembe, but this was a place that really grew on us.

The room was quite cramped for four (hence the average rating), but had all we needed. The restaurant was small and cosy and the food was good - it was nice to be able to serve our own vegetables.

The veiws along the river and across into Angola are amazing and the sunset river cruise with Eddy, with multiple sightings of crocodiles, was just wonderful. Eddy also kindly arranged for us to a visit a local school at our request, which was really interesting, and we also visited a local camp which had been set up to accommodate people who lost their homes in floods earlier this year.

We were also pleasantly surprised to find that our (very) dirty car had been washed for us!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"The position of this lodge cannot be faulted. We had a group of 14 hippos in the river just in front of our lodge, and Mahango National park and the Botswanan border were very close.

The food here was OK, but not great, except for the eland lasagne which was very good and especially appreciated by the children. The staff seemed less friendly here than at many of the other lodges. We saw very little on the sunset cruise which was unfortunate, especially as we'd seen such a lot at Hakusembe, but that's not the lodge's fault - the wildlife doesn't follow the boating schedule!

However, there were a large number of boats out at the same time and one wonders if the traffic does scare off some animals. Unfortunately, I was ill during the cruise and for the day after and Horst, the owner, was very nice about it. We spent a relaxed day driving round Mahango and a very interesting day in Botswana.

Interestingly, although they are so close, the staff at Ndhovu didn't seem to know what papers we would need to cross the border with a hire car, which would have been helpful. Fortunately everything was in order and we had no border problems. On hindsight, three days here was perhaps a little long for us, but as I was ill for one of the three days it all worked out fine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"What a wonderful place!"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Somewhat unexpectedly, Ghaub was one of the highlights of our trip to Namibia. The welcome here was so genuine (it was the only place where the initial "hello" was not immediately followed by a request to see our voucher!) and friendly and this continued throughout our short stay.

Mika and Gerry really made us feel we were welcome guests. Meals were good and good value and adapted to give smaller portions for the children. An impromptu concert by the staff and another guest was enjoyed by all. The rooms were easily large enough for four beds and the views were amazing with lots of room for the children to run around. The pool was large and again had lovely views, and the chance to see so many kudu at the small waterhole was another bonus.

The farm tour in the morning was great and very good value for money - relaxed and not hurried, the guide was friendly and kept us entertained with stories of farm life, snakes, etc. Although we didn't see many animals the scenery, rock engravings, cemetery more than made up for this. We loved this place and were sorry that we had only one night here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2009
"Having heard bad things about Waterberg Camp during our trip, we were not sure what to expect, but were very pleasantly surprised. We were given two bungalows next to each other and kept company by our own group of 4 dik-diks. It was nice to be able to BBQ on our private terrace.

Although baboons are apparently a problem in some parts of the park we didn't even see one during our stay. The rock mountain towering above the camp is impressive, but as we were only here one night we didn't have time to explore much. The swimming pool was large and clean.

One small thing that should perhaps be clarified to new visitors is that although it says on the paper you receive on arrival that breakfast is until 9.30am, you do in fact need to get there by 8.30 to place your order and even then we were told off for being late!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"Although we had been promised a family room here, this was already taken and we were given two separate rooms. But Gisela was very apologetic and the rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was a good buffet and the swimming pool was enjoyed by the boys. We were kindly allowed to stay beyond the usual 10am check-out to sort out our suitcases ready for our flight home that evening.

This place had a relaxed and kindly feel and was a good place to spend our last night, although in hindsight, it would perhaps have been nice to be a bit more centrally situated in Windhoek so that we could have walked round a little more without having to take the car."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team