This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The S Family from Darwin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

My Sep 2008 trip

Namibia between 5 Sep 2008 and 23 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Exceeded our expectations mostly because the scenery was truely breath taking and very varied.

We were unable to take any cultural tours as kids were not allowed on the options we were interested in and I did feel that our overall content lacked more indigenous cultural content and we were left with questions without a venue to ask them."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

"Kalahari Sands Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"This is a hotel in Africa trying to be a big posh all serves european or american hotel which sort of worked the bits that didn't gave you some interesting insight into trying to operate such a concept in Africa.

We slept well and had quick reasonable room service.

Only negative is that they had alot of staff around obviously with wage structures that required them to almost beg for tips."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"Friendly staff obviously treated well. Owners not there but stand in staff good.

Dogs a bit out of control and one in particular was defineatly not safe for small children but they were very up front about this issue."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"This place was a bit stiff in contrast to Zebra which made it a bit uncomfortable to have the kids there. Again staff did not seem to be paid such that they required tips to suppliment wages.

Toddlers would be hard work in this venue due to high verandahs with minimal railings.

Scenery was stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2008
"Very very friendly people. Even baby sat a sick child that had started to vomit just before Turnstone tours loaded us up and what's more the child in question had a fantastic day.

Very proactively going out of there way to organise anything you needed.

Great to have this pit stop with washing machine in kitchen and be able to do a bit of cooking for yourself with groceries from major grocery store just around the corner.

Day trip to desert coast south of Swakopmund: Great to be able to ask lots of questions about living in Namibia and they were excellent at tailoring a trip to our group.

Kayaking to Pelican Point: Lovely enthusiastic guide. We did not take our kids but it would have been fantastic for all our kids ages 4,6,8."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

13 Sep 2008 • All-day excursion

Great to be able to ask lots of questions about living in Namibia and they were excellent at tailoring a trip to our group.
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

14 Sep 2008 • Morning excursion

Lovely enthusiastic guide. We did not take our kids but it would have been fantastic for all our kids ages 4,6,8.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"Fantastic rooms like Kulala

The begging by the children at the turn off to Doro !Nowas was quite off putting. This is a very dead end existance for these kids and vistors should be encouraged to think about the practice of giving to these young boys. I did not find an oppurtunity or the right person to mention or discuss this with when there but it is a very important issue."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Etosha Safari Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2008
"This is a good spot that satisfies all the needs of accommodation with not many frills but we found that our group was very happy there having a few drinks by the pool and in the cooky bar.

I think that it was relaxed enough and set out so that it was not ackward to have kids there. Our stay was just over one short afternoon and one night gone in the morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"The expensive accommodation over looking the night lit water hole was very special. Though we got very liitle sleep because we had to keep sitting up to see how many rhino were there.

I am not sure were to put this but the etosha park ranges are military or police trained, have no tourist industry training and considering that they are there to keep you safe are very heavy handed, inconsistant and threatening. Thier job could be easily done by a handful of signs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Kitchens in the vip houses were very badly equiped."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

own arrangements

"review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"lkj;lkjl;k"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team