This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel

Reviews of Hansa Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hansa Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L
Leicestershire

"Wondefull"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Had a great stay here everything at the hotel was top notch in particular the restaurant was superb." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Fancy hotel, but skip the dinner"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"Very nice European style hotel, quite fancy. We ate at their upscale restaurant, and were quite disappointed. Meat was overdone, very salty, and had a heavy, not very tasty sauce. The 50's are calling, they want their restaurant back. Breakfast, however, was excellent. There were several major service failures as well. It was nearly impossible to get ice to the room - we'd call, they'd agree, then it never showed up. An overeager bellman put a suitcase that didn't belong to us in our truck. It's a fine place to stay, but I'll bet you could do better at the same price." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms H
Texas

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2014
"I spent two nights here. It is a beautiful hotel, very well-kept and reminded me of a different, more leisurely era. I had a ground-floor room that faced onto the garden, which is quite charming. My room was spacious, with an outdoor porch, and indoor sitting area, and very comfortable bedroom and a large bathroom with bath. I especially liked the small magnifying mirror attached to the main mirror over the basins and countertop. Perfect for doing one's make-up.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel had an office containing a computer that guests could use.

The breakfast was plentiful and tasty but I found the service in the dining-room indifferent, both at breakfast and on the one night I had dinner there. I had to wait quite long for service; at dinner they forgot my dessert, and at breakfast I had to ask for coffee twice and also for the cooked portion of my breakfast to be prepared. Perhaps I was spoiled after my previous experiences, or perhaps it is just that hotels are more impersonal by definition. I felt much more anonymous there.

The location is great; one can walk all over town and down to the beach from the hotel quite easily in a short time. It also felt very safe, given that it is still a city center." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family O
USA

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"Great location in the center of town. Elegant (without being stuffy) hotel with pro staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
USA

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"All together, our stay in Swakopmund was very enjoyable. The Hotel and the employees were excellent. The city was fun and easy to explore and to shop.

Perez took us to two very good restaurants specially The Wreck. We all had a good time." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Classic hotel with excellent service"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"Although this hotel was not our first choice (we had to change accommodation in the week before leaving because of a misunderstanding with Wilderness Safaris) it turned out to be a good alternative of EA. A historic hotel with a very helpful staff and a friendly manager. Excellent location in Swakopmund.

Rooms are clean with good beds (two connected rooms make a family room), style is a bit dated. Good parking and laundry service, they even cleaned our car. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choice, we didn't had dinner over there.

We did the Mola Mola boat trip, which was good value. We had a speedboat catamaran (the Flipper) so you are close to the water and really have the feeling to be out on the sea. Good and attentive guide, we saw fur seals, dolphins, pelicans and other seabirds. Nice lunch, but only for those who weren't seasick...
A trip to remember!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
UAE

"Hansa Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2011
"A historic hotel in a great location. The service throughout the hotel was friendly and efficient.

The food and service in the dining room was impecable and quite formal. The opportunity for informal evening dining was only available through room service." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Suffolk

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"Reliable as ever and just the ticket to sort yourself out before a flight. Good laundry service, handy postion to walk around town and by the sea and the same extensive spread at breakfast as always.

As individual travellers we were outnumbered by groups who can rather take over the public spaces and dominate reception so check in was somewhat chaotic but service overall remains generally good.

Some upgrading of our usual choice of room was noticeable and th whole place remained well kept and comfortable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"Great location - faded glory hotel. Very competent and efficient hotel with onsite parking.

We ate at the hotel and it was a fabulous meal." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Hansa Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Typical 4 star hotel with all amenities and staff were very friendly and helpful

Ed: Whilst here, we organised two day-trips for these travellers. They commented about the trip to Sandwich Harbour:

"This was so good,and Ernest our guide excellant. Weather intervened again here and he rang early morning to say cause of the really bad winds we could not go till lunch time. He picked us up plus 2 others and we had a wonderful trip along the coast, his knowledge of everything was good. We had a good lunch did some bird watching and walking and some riding up and down on the dunes in the landrover, digging for water , watching jackels. And because we had missed the morning he continued on until it was dark and then looked for Brown Hyenas, cause we had mentioned we would like to see them, we didn't, but none the less he really put himself out

Again you could promote this more."

... and about the Harbour Cruise:

"Again the bad weather prevented us going out for very long, this time it was the fog in Walvis Bay.
It was perhaps very touristy but none the less we saw the Benguela Dolphin but did not stay all that long at the seal colony cause of weather"" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
88%
16 reviews of Hansa Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa