This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family O from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 12 Aug 2013 and 28 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first time traveling in this part of the world and the first time we spent so much time planning in advance. It paid off - the trip was successful and the travelers happy.

As a family of three with an eight year old child, we valued the planning process and the considerations brought to our attention by Maruska. She helped us through a number of itineraries, patiently making suggestions/changes as our knowledge of the area expanded. Maruska's input was always thorough, professional and thoughtful.

The travel went off as planned and we are happy with the choices made thanks to Maruska's shepherding. I would absolutely use Expert Africa again and have already recommended it to others."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


The Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA

"Easy layover spot"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2013
"Our time here was very short. We were to be met at the airport by Safari Club and brought to the property but there was no representative waiting and we and another party were only picked up after a couple of phone calls to Safari Club.

Once we arrived, the staff were very nice and apologetic and gave us a bottle of wine with dinner for our troubles. The room was big and comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Lokuthula Lodges

"Condo-style accommodation in Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"This is a great property for self-catering families or groups since the accommodation has a fully furnished kitchen and good sized living room with patio. The second bedroom is a loft with two twins.

Breakfast is in the Safari Inn Lodge, a 4 minute walk from our unit (which was closer than most). Lokothula guests have use of the lodge except for the pool. Lokuthula has it's own small pool - used by our 8-year old daughter and, I suspect, the cause of stomach issues the next day.

The property is not close to town or the falls but there is an hourly free shuttle that will take you there.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Dining at the Safari Inn was quite good, with a nice elevated view of the watering hole and good African singers."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Excellent lodge and safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"This is a wonderful Lodge with expert staff, comfortable rooms and excellent safari/guides. We were booked on the two-day package including morning drive safaris and afternoon river safaris. Don't miss the river safaris in particular.

The guides, John and Innocent, told great stories, we're very knowledgeable and maneuvered the vehicles/boats expertly to allow for great views/photos. Lodge staff were consistently attentive and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ngepi Camp

"Ngepi Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2013
"Fun place to spend a day while traversing the Caprivi strip. We stayed in a "tree house" which is an open-air, raised hut built around a tree. Nice view of the river - we watched the sun rise over the river from our beds in the morning. We weren't here long enough to participate in any activities but Ngepi Camp had a good list of them.

I would not recommend the 4 kilometer driveway in a 2-wheel drive vehicle. We made it in ours but it was edgy."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Minen Hotel

"Minen Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"Good layover stop in Tsumeb. Room had little atmosphere but was large and clean. Our daughter liked the small playground on the grounds.

We discovered later that we were double charged for a dinner that was paid that night and also charged to our room and paid at check out. Still waiting to see if the double charge can be resolved..."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"We were in a 2-bed chalet - spacious and nice with patio and BBQ. Camp is large and spread out.

By far the largest swimming pool we encountered on our trip.

Good viewing area of waterhole in this camp - jackals, fox, hyena and rhino spotted in the one hour we went at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"Very much of a safari experience down to the armed escort taking us from our tent to dinner after sundown.

Personal, friendly and attentive staff across the board. Great viewing of rhinos and lions in this reserve including nightly visits by the rhinos to the waterhole.

Safari guides will take you to Etosha but it makes for a significantly longer drive. Excellent food and lively meals. Luxury tents."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"Great location in the center of town. Elegant (without being stuffy) hotel with pro staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"We stayed in the Desert Camp but took our meals at the Lodge. As part of a wedding group, we enjoyed the extensive buffets in a variety of locations. The lodge does an excellent job of feeding it's guests well in beautiful settings!

Desert camp is about 4k away from the lodge on rough washboard road."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"We enjoyed a very comfortable stay for our short time in Windhoek. Stylish, comfortable room.

Excellent food at the guesthouse and next door at sister restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team