This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S from Syre

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2007 trip

Namibia between 11 Nov 2007 and 28 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Namibia exceeded our expectations. It really was wonderful, and we highly recommend it.

The scenery was ever-changing, raw and magnificent, just awesome."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"We only spent one night here, but could easily have done two. Comfortable and friendly with good food. The chalets on the dune ridge looked quite dramatic against that amazing burnt orange sand. Lovely bath with a view, though perhaps a bit pointless given the prominent notices to conserve water!

The highlights for us were the very busy meerkat gang, which we spent a long time following, and the four cheetahs that Bagatelle home, particularly the young female that we got really close to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"Blends in so well with its surroundings that we didn't see it until we were quite close. It's possible to sleep on the roof of your room here, but we didn't as the space was very small and we weren't sure how good our ladder navigating skills would be in the middle of the night!

Very comfortable and everyone was friendly and helpful. The food here was excellent.

Although the lodge has its own access to the Park we weren't at the dunes for sunrise, so if this is important to you, perhaps it would be better to stay nearer the gates at Sesriem."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"We had read a rather unflattering review of Brigadoon, but we found it fine. The rooms were perfectly adequate, very clean if not luxurious.

The breakfast was good, served outside the room in the small garden, which was a very pleasant green space after the desert.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was nice and central and we would certainly stay there again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Another place that blended well into its rocky surroundings. Everyone here was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were lovely. We pushed our bed out onto the deck to sleep under the stars, which was quite magical.

The food here wasn't great. Breakfast was ok, but dinner really wasn't. Pork chops were very leathery, and the lamb curry was made with scrag neck of lamb, which should be cooked long and slow until it falls off the bone. There was no way of separating that meat from the bones - it was far too tough. Maybe they are trying to cut costs by using cheaper, and in this case, inappropriate cuts of meat? We were late back from an activity so we wondered if the meal might have suffered from sitting around too long, but speaking to other guests, they also found the food left a lot to be desired. It was a bit surprising and a little disappointing considering the excellent food at Kulala Desert Lodge, also a Wilderness Safaris property. We did comment on the food on their feedback form.

Otherwise it was very good here and we coulld have spent longer. We were thrilled to see desert-adapted elephants on our activity."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Palmwag Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"This was wonderful.The camp was in a fantastic location looking out at the mountains.

Tents were comfortable with flush loos and a bucket shower - a bit dribbly, but fine. Food here was excellent, and meals around a communal table, and drinks around the camp fire made it a sociable and entertaining place. Again, everyone was friendly and helpful. We only stayed for 2 nights and would have liked longer.

One of us wanted to go rhino tracking and one of us didn't! However, we both really enjoyed it. Our safety and the welfare of the rhino and her calf were well taken care of.

We highly recommend Palmwag Rhino Camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Eagle Tented Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Eagle Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"This was great:- spectacular location, luxurious tent with its own splash pool, good food.

The only drawback was the distance from Etosha - almost an hour away from the gate, so if visting the park is a priority, stay nearer or at one of the camps inside Etosha.

However, highly recommended as a good place to stay in its own right."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2007
"The food here was excellent.

Everything else also very good, except that the rooms were very, very brown. This made them rather depressing, and we wouldn't have wanted to spend much time in them."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2007
"We thought it was fantastic. A wonderful place, great accomodation, excellent food.

Very good at explaining the ethos of the Africat Foundation.

Would love to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team